Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > MH-General Discussions & Problems
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 07-14-2013, 12:40 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 2
electrical plugs

I plugged into shore power while generator was running. I blew the circuit breaker on shore. Now I have no power at any of the plugs that are operated by the inverter. Any suggestions
__________________

__________________
hrthiessen is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 07-14-2013, 12:54 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
toneumanns's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 792
Quote:
Originally Posted by hrthiessen View Post
I plugged into shore power while generator was running. I blew the circuit breaker on shore. Now I have no power at any of the plugs that are operated by the inverter. Any suggestions
Reset your GFI outlets including the outlet on your inverter. Also switch all your CB's on & off a few times without power applied to insure that they have reset.
__________________

__________________
2011 Itasca Suncruiser, Jeep Grand Cherokee toad
MSgt retired USAF 1988, AA retired 2005
toneumanns is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2013, 01:04 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
BFlinn181's Avatar
 
Gulf Streamers Club
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Cincinnati
Posts: 16,217


Your Auto Transfer Switch probably protected you from doing any real damage, even though I wouldn't make a habit of it. The imbalance between ground, neutral, and hot probably tripped all your GFI's, as toneumanns suggested.
Your transfer switch should have a delay built in, to allow your generator to stabilize before connecting. The delay is also to give your A/C a chance for pressure to equalize before restarting the compressor. Without that delay, you could blow circuit breakers or do damage to the starting circuits in the A/C. You can't instantaneously switch from one 120 v source to the other. You also shouldn't start gennie or plug in shore cord with loads on the circuits. A/C, heaters, etc. should be off to prevent problems.

You'll just have to reset the clock on the microwave!
__________________

Bob & Donna
'98 Gulf Stream Sun Voyager DP being pushed by a '00 Beetle TDI
BFlinn181 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2013, 02:18 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
historyljc's Avatar
 
Tiffin Owners Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Pensacola, Florida
Posts: 5,173
Welcome to the forum. The above advice should get you through. If not, it's probably time to call someone.
__________________
Travel well, travel safe,
Jim
2006 Tiffin Phaeton - 2011 Cadillac SRX
historyljc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2013, 02:44 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
GaryKD's Avatar
 
Newmar Owners Club
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Wellington, Florida
Posts: 12,314
Without knowing the year and brand/model of coach many assumptions are being made. If the coach has a transfer switch, it should default to the generator position. Therefore connecting to shore power with the generator on would have no effect on the coach. Shore power would enter but not leave the transfer switch. We need additional information about the coach and the situation.
__________________
Gary
2005 Newmar KSDP 3910 + GMC ENVOY XUV 37K lbs Moving Down The Road
The Avatar Is Many Times Around The USA
Nobody Knows Your Coach Like Somebody Who Owns One Just Like Yours
GaryKD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2013, 02:47 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Old Scout's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 3,928
Unless your transfer box is faulty [or missing], plugging in shore power while on genset should not be a problem--genset has priority over shore power in the xfer box so it will switch immediately. If no power to your inverter by-pass circuit, fuse botton on inverter may have tripped. However, if plugging into shore power caused the breakers to trip, you need to find out why x-fer switch didnt flip.
__________________
Old Scout
2003 40' MDTS
Garden Ridge, Texas
Old Scout is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2013, 09:39 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Winnebago Owners Club
Join Date: May 2009
Location: AZ Mountains
Posts: 394
First lesson: be sure all breakers are OFF before plugging in. I have known a number of folks who purposely turn the breakers ON before plugging in. I have looked at their plugs when they were breaking camp (with their permission, of course) and the tips of both hot lines were visibly burnt from the arcing that occurs when plugging into a hot outlet. Bad practice - avoid live receptacles.
__________________
KG7DKF
nbounder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2013, 10:43 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
BFlinn181's Avatar
 
Gulf Streamers Club
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Cincinnati
Posts: 16,217
Quote:
Originally Posted by nbounder View Post
First lesson: be sure all breakers (in pedestal) are OFF before plugging in. I have known a number of folks who purposely turn the breakers ON before plugging in. I have looked at their plugs when they were breaking camp (with their permission, of course) and the tips of both hot lines were visibly burnt from the arcing that occurs when plugging into a hot outlet. Bad practice - avoid live receptacles.
I added the part in RED to make it clear, you aren't suggesting turning off all the CBs in the RV before plugging in.

On my first trip to Australia I was fascinated that ALL outlets have an on/off switch to shut off power before plugging or unplugging cords.
__________________

Bob & Donna
'98 Gulf Stream Sun Voyager DP being pushed by a '00 Beetle TDI
BFlinn181 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2013, 07:41 AM   #9
Senior Member
 
wa8yxm's Avatar
 
Damon Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 22,792
You may have a serious issue.

In your RV there is a device called a transfer switch (Full name is normally automatic transfer switch) The job of this switch is to "TRANSFER" the "loads" (read that every electrical device in the RV, or if you like the entire RV) from "Shore" power to Generator power when the generator is running, it is supposed to COMPLETLY disconnect the shore cord under these conditions.

Thus. if you plug in with the generator running it should be like plugging in an extension cord with nothing on the other end of the cord.

HOWEVER when you shut off your generator,, If you have, say Air Conditioners running.... Then there is one heck of a load when the A/C's cut out and immed cut back in, this leads to a "Stalled rotor" condition on the motor and maximum current draw which can easily exceed 50 amps for an average roof A/C.. This will do two things.

1: Trip the shore power breaker
2: Fry your auto-transfer switch (If you do it once too often)


NOTE: how completly does the Transfer switch Transfer....

Let me describe what I (And a few others) call a "Poor Man's Transfer Switch" This is common on many trailers that use portable generators by the way.

You physically UNPLUG from the park and physically TRANSFER it to the outlet on the Generator.

That is how completly the ATS is supposed to transfer as well.
__________________
Home is where I park it!
wa8yxm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2013, 10:17 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
Winnebago Owners Club
Join Date: May 2009
Location: AZ Mountains
Posts: 394
BFlinn181 - the clarification was well written. Thanx...I should have thought of it myself. but I shall use age as the excuse this time. -
__________________
KG7DKF
nbounder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2013, 07:53 AM   #11
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 2
Thanks, it was the ground fault in the bathroom.
__________________

__________________
hrthiessen is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
electrical



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:29 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.