Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > MH-General Discussions & Problems
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 03-27-2013, 05:57 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Fleetwood Owners Club
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 24
Electrical problems

We have a 2001.5 Fleetwood Discovery 37u.I have lost power to the load meter and my washer and dryer.Also my fridge won't switch over to ac power.All my recepticals and everything else on 120 work.i keep it plugged in at my home on a 30 amp plug to keep my batteries charged.I called fleetwood and they told me that because it is plugged in to 30 amps the ECU will start to shed components so today i changed it over to 50 amp service and i still have no power to those components.Anybody have this problem?
__________________

__________________
ourdiscovery is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 03-27-2013, 07:45 PM   #2
Moderator Emeritus
 
Gary RVRoamer's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Silver Springs, FL. USA
Posts: 18,078
The "load meter" is the amps display on an Intellitec EMS remote panel? Or something else? Note that the amp display works only on 30A or less - it is normally blank when on 50A service.

Have you checked the breaker for the washer/dryer? If it's ok, I would then suggest resetting the EMS by removing 12v power to it for about 30 seconds. Usually the easy way to do this is to use the house battery disconnect switch, which removes almost all 12v power from the coach. In most rigs, this also removes power from the EMS. When power comes back on, the EMS controller will re-boot itself and this often clears up flaky problems like this.
__________________

__________________
Gary Brinck
Former owner of 2004 American Tradition
Home is in the Ocala Nat'l Forest near Ocala, FL
Summers in Black Mountain, NC
Gary RVRoamer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2013, 07:57 PM   #3
Junior Member
 
Fleetwood Owners Club
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 24
It is the small readout display in the compartment above the driver seat. It shows the amps comming in and shows everything that is powered up.Just below the readout board for my tank capacities.i have no idea where the breaker is for the washer/dryer.and would that keep my frig from swithing from gas to 120power?
__________________
ourdiscovery is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2013, 07:59 PM   #4
Junior Member
 
Fleetwood Owners Club
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 24
The house battery disconnect switch is my secondary batteries right?
__________________
ourdiscovery is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2013, 03:53 AM   #5
Community Moderator
 
RV Wizard's Avatar


 
Country Coach Owners Club
Appalachian Campers
Gulf Streamers Club
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Chattanooga, Tn.
Posts: 12,062
Check all of the circuit breakers in the distribution panel and the inverter. Not sure where your panel is (changes with floor plans) but could be at the base of the bed. Also check for all GFCI receptacles that would normally provide power to the refrigerator receptacle. Good luck and let us know what you find.
__________________
Mike, RVIA & RVSA Certified Master RV Technician
Amy, Dr. Assistant - Roxie & Mei Ling, four legs each
2000 Gulf Stream Scenic Cruiser 450 hp & 1330# torque
06 Saturn Vue, 06 Chevy Z71 4x4 & 2014 Corvette Z51 M7
RV Wizard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2013, 04:29 PM   #6
Junior Member
 
Fleetwood Owners Club
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 24
the Gfi in the bedroom had tripped but it reset and the plug works fine.Could the GFI plug still be bad?
__________________
ourdiscovery is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2013, 05:59 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Tha_Rooster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Georgia
Posts: 4,516
If it stays it's probably fine. The breaker for the washer and dryer will be with other 110volt breakers.
__________________
2007 Fleetwood Revolution LE 40V
Tha_Rooster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2013, 07:39 PM   #8
Junior Member
 
Fleetwood Owners Club
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 24
Checked the breakers they are not tripped.I was told by Fleetwood the components that aren't working are all on the same circuit... Is there a relay or a reset somewhere i can 't find?
__________________
ourdiscovery is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2013, 07:49 PM   #9
Junior Member
 
autumn73's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Shanghai PRC
Posts: 22
We had a similar issue, turned out to be the EMS board had a short in it and would not send power to all the AC components. New board and a RV tech to install was about $350.00.
__________________
autumn73 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2013, 07:55 PM   #10
Junior Member
 
autumn73's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Shanghai PRC
Posts: 22
One other thing, our Magnum Inverter has two 15 amp CB's one controls all the AC plugs. That trips on occasion and I always forget about it because it is in an exterior compartment. Maybe check there as well. Good Luck!! I hate electrical stuff!!! :-)))
__________________
autumn73 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2013, 08:50 PM   #11
Junior Member
 
Fleetwood Owners Club
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 24
What compartment was it in?
__________________
ourdiscovery is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2013, 09:11 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
jdoc's Avatar
 
Texas Boomers Club
Fleetwood Owners Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Big Spring, Texas
Posts: 768
Send a message via Yahoo to jdoc
Your inverter should be located where your electric cable is. There should be 2 breakers on it. They are very easy to reset if tripped.

Jerry
__________________
Jerry and Janell
Navy by record Marine by choice
2005 Bounder 38N DP 300 CAT 2017 Jeep Wrangler
jdoc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2013, 09:19 PM   #13
Junior Member
 
Fleetwood Owners Club
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 24
Thanks ya checked those they were fine
__________________
ourdiscovery is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2013, 12:27 AM   #14
Junior Member
 
Fleetwood Owners Club
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 24
Since my fridge is on a 120 plug in the outside compartment does anyone know if i can just plug it into another receptical for 120 service untill i can get my other problem resolved?
__________________

__________________
ourdiscovery is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
electrical



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:04 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.