Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > MH-General Discussions & Problems
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-18-2008, 05:35 AM   #1
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 84
Excuse my very limited knowledge of the electical issues...but if you are at a park with only 30 amp plugs...and nobody is sharing the space next to you...is there such an adapter that allows you to plug two 30 amp plugs into one 50 amp? Like a Y-cord.

Assuming the park allows it...is this doable from an electrical stand-point?

Eusefull is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 05-18-2008, 06:05 AM   #2
Senior Member
GaryKD's Avatar
Newmar Owners Club
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Wellington, Florida
Posts: 11,772
Hi Eusefull,
Go here to see one choice to do what you want. I have this device and it works as advertised. I would make the purchase again.

2005 Newmar KSDP 3910 + GMC ENVOY XUV 37K lbs Moving Down The Road
The Avatar Is Many Times Around The USA
Nobody Knows Your Coach Like Somebody Who Owns One Just Like Yours
GaryKD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2008, 10:30 AM   #3
Senior Member
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Blairsville,GA
Posts: 257
I checked that link, and there are a few problems with those, though theoretically they would work. If both of the 30 amp receptacles are on the same phase or leg, overheating the neutral conductor in the motor home power cord is possible, (2 X 30 = 60 amps on the neutral wire) Also you do not have the full 50 amps available, as you are limited to 30 amps per leg. You do gain an additional 30 amps of power over the use of a single leg 30 amp service though, which will allow you to run more stuff. Just use it with prudence and you should be fine.
Hillbilly2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2008, 12:38 PM   #4
Senior Member
National RV Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Scottsdale, AZ
Posts: 1,378
I have the CW device described. Although it can and does work as described, it will not work on any CG source protected with GFI circuit breakers.
2003 34' Dolphin 5342, W22, UP, UPGBrake, F and R Track Bars, Rear IPD sway bar, Koni FSDs, Safe-T-Plus, Scan Gauge II.. 2004 Jeep Liberty, Blue-Ox Adventa..
M&EM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2008, 02:08 PM   #5
Moderator Emeritus
Gary RVRoamer's Avatar

Fleetwood Owners Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Silver Springs, FL. USA
Posts: 16,418
Note also that if you plug into an additional 30A outlet at an adjacent site , the campground might charge you for the additional site. Or an extra electric charge.
Gary Brinck
2004 American Tradition; 2014 Buick LaCRosse
Homebase in the Ocala Nat'l Forest near Ocala, FL
Gary RVRoamer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2008, 03:28 PM   #6
Scratch & Goose's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Livingston
Posts: 61
Here's my 2 cents..
As stated by 'hillbilly2' "overheating the neutral conductor in the motor home power cord is possible, (2 X 30 = 60 amps on the neutral wire" that can't be. The reason is on a standard 5o amp plug you have 50 amps on two LEGS, each leg is isolated from each other. If Hillbilly2 is correct the 50 amp plug would be 2x50= 100 amps on the neutral.
When you use a 30 amp adapter cord with a 50 amp plug, you are applying 30 amps across the two legs, this setup limits the useage to 30 amps total.
Your intended setup would work only limited to 30 amps per leg.
now that is clear as mudd... lol
what ever it takes.....

2006 Itasca Meridian 39K
Scratch & Goose is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2008, 03:39 PM   #7
Moderator Emeritus
RustyJC's Avatar

Texas Boomers Club
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Cypress, Texas USA
Posts: 8,851
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by Scratch & Goose:
If Hillbilly2 is correct the 50 amp plug would be 2x50= 100 amps on the neutral. </div></BLOCKQUOTE>
The 2 each hot legs in true 50 amp service are 180 degrees out of phase. This makes the neutral current subtractive, not additive. For example, if one leg were drawing 40 amps and the other 30 amps, the neutral current would be 40 - 30 = 10 amps. If both legs were drawing 50 amps, neutral current would be zero. The maximum allowable neutral current in true 50 amp service would be 50 - 0 = 50 amps, same as the hot legs. Therefore, if a 60 amp neutral current were produced on a 30 amp x 2 cheater, this would indeed be a neutral overload situation.

2016 Ram Longhorn 3500 Dually 4x4 CCLB, 385/900 Cummins, Aisin AS69RC, 4.10
2014.5 DRV Mobile Suites 38RSSA #6972
Come join us on a TEXAS BOOMERS rally!
RustyJC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2008, 06:42 PM   #8
"Formerly Diplomat Don"
Dutch Star Don's Avatar
Newmar Owners Club
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Moorpark, Ca.
Posts: 7,200
Eusefull.....This happens everytime this comes up. Several knowledgeable people will start talking voltage on this leg and voltage on that leg and it becomes an argument on whose right on what phase the power was operating. You also wil get people that tell you the campground will charge more or throw you out. That may be true, but have never seen or heard of that happening.

I have the Camping World model and have used it every year at boating park we go to. Weather hits a 100 degrees and one A/C is insufficient. By adding the "Y" I pick up enough power to run both A/C's but nothing else. It runs both A/C units until we come back to camp and then I start shutting one or the other down as we use other large draw items. I also monitor my voltage and it hasn't dropped to dangerous levels.

They're correct, it's not true 50 amp service, but it's enough to run two A/C's. If you manage your energy you'll do fine.
Don & Mary
2014 Newmar Dutch Star - All Electric - 450 ISL
2016 GMC Canyon 4WD Crew Cab
Dutch Star Don is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2008, 03:38 PM   #9
Senior Member
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Blairsville,GA
Posts: 257
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content"> If Hillbilly2 is correct the 50 amp plug would be 2x50= 100 amps on the neutral. </div></BLOCKQUOTE> The 50 amp plug is pulling from two different phases (providing it was wired correctly, if not you will have 100 amps on the neutral) as RustyJC was saying. If the campground is using only one phase to feed the pedestal, then both 30 amp cords would be on the same phase. That is the danger of it. If you know how to use a voltage tester, you should have 208-240 between the two 30 amp receptacles, if you read 0 volts between the two, but 120 volts to ground then both receptacles are on the same phase. (This is why the campground probally did not install a 50 amp in the first place.)
Hillbilly2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2008, 08:59 PM   #10
Senior Member
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 240
I use one of the boxes, so I always test the 50 amp socket fed by the 2 30 amp cords with a 120 & 240 volt test light (less than $10 at Home Depot). If I have 240 volts between the 2 hot wires and 120 between each hot wire and the return, I'm good. If there is not 240 volts between the 2 hot wires, than the 2 sources are not out of phase and the box cannot be used.

John (40' 2004 Country Coach Inspire DP)
John66 is offline   Reply With Quote

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Getting 50 amps to a 30 amp RV bjbkkb RV Systems & Appliances 5 03-15-2008 07:20 PM
Power Line One Panel Limits One Leg 50 Amp circuit to 30 Amps SteveG Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 17 03-05-2008 04:43 PM
Max amps on 50 amp circuit? eandy MH-General Discussions & Problems 12 07-25-2006 10:51 AM
Replacing 20 amp electrical land line plug with 30 amp????? Ragman MH-General Discussions & Problems 6 07-21-2006 10:28 AM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:27 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.