Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > MH-General Discussions & Problems
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 04-21-2014, 10:56 PM   #1

Exterior Caulking/Sealants

Hello all,
We recently bought a 2008 Forest River Lexington 283. It's in excellent condition however there are some maintenance items to do and one of them is to examine and repair all verticle and horizontal seams and joints that have caulking that needs to be replaced.

I'm new to owning a motorhome so I would like to get recommendations on what caulking to use and what solvents are used to clean the seams and joints before applying the new caulk. Also, are there any tools and techniques used in removing the old caulk?

Thank you for your help.

George and Susan Boyle
Burnsville, NC
gboyle is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 04-22-2014, 02:25 AM   #2
Moderator Emeritus

Country Coach Owners Club