Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > MH-General Discussions & Problems
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 07-10-2011, 09:30 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 30
F53 Ford AC trouble

I can't seem to figure out why the clutch on the AC compressor is not engaging. I have looked for a fuse but no luck. Is there a fuse link on the wire leading to the clutch ? It was operating earlier this year.
This a 1998 model Georgie Boy 35' Class A coach. Can anyone help ?
__________________

__________________
seniorgear is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 07-10-2011, 10:52 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
texnet's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Granbury, Texas
Posts: 1,364
If you are low on feon or have a bad low presssure switch then the pressure switch will not allow the clutch to engage. Look on the freon lines for a pressure switch with a plug with two wires attached to it. Pull the plug, jumper the two wires and see if the clutch engages. If it does, take it to a shop and have the A/C serviced.
__________________

__________________
Ronnie (WD5GIC) & Jan (WD5IHU)
2003 Monaco Dynasty Countess 42' w/tag, 2012 Ford Flex
http://www.ronniesphotos.com

texnet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2011, 07:30 AM   #3
Registered User
 
Fleetwood Owners Club
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Granite Falls, NC
Posts: 1,156
Blog Entries: 8
Her is what I did to mine.
I have two AC's on top of my Pace. One worked fine, the other just blew hot air. In my coach on the bedroom wall there is the ''control center'' thingie. It is a brown box with slides and selector switches that work each AC.
One .....I turned off my electircity and took my house batteries lose. I carefully removed this brown box and unplugged the wires (lable wires) from the back being careful not to let them fall in the wall cavity.
I took the thingie to the dining room table and opened a beer and took a sip
I always carry ''contact cleaner and WD40'' with me ..... (I took another sip of beer)
I took the contact cleaner and carefully sprayed it on the ''slider contacts'' with the unit facing down on the table (on a paper towell, being careful not to get any cleaner in my beer)
I did both ''sliders'' and both ''selector switches'' while I had the unit out.
Engineering note...... When you put the contact cleaner on the ''slides'' you need to wiggle the slides up and down to ''clean the contacts''. the sequence is ... SPRAY .... slide up and down,,,,, SPRAY.... slide up and down. repeat about two or three times......

Now you will notice that the ''slides are getting hard to move'' because you have taken away all the lubricant on them.
Now this is the hard part. With the unit laying face down on the paper towell and your beer out of the way, take the WD40 and LIGHTLY SPRAY the sliders. Wiggle the sliders up and down to spread the oil. (they will move easier now)
Let the oil dry till no more ''dripps'' come out of the unit. (take a big sip of beer without spilling any beer in the unit thingie)
Now take the whole mess (including your beer) back to the wall and plug in the wires correctly and re install the unit on the wall.
Turn on the power and re connect the batteries and turn on your AC unit

this fixed mine and I was going to call a fixit man. I saved myself 60 dollars for a service call.

If you use this valuable information you will owe me ten cents and you must pay me the next time you see me...... of course .....if it dont work for you....I NEVER KNEW YOU....


Thank a vet for your freedoms ....
__________________
Seajay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2011, 08:29 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
texnet's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Granbury, Texas
Posts: 1,364
Seajay, he was asking about his dash air... as the ACs on top don't have a clutch

Seniorgear, let me know if that fixed your problem and Thanks for the "Thanks" !
__________________
Ronnie (WD5GIC) & Jan (WD5IHU)
2003 Monaco Dynasty Countess 42' w/tag, 2012 Ford Flex
http://www.ronniesphotos.com

texnet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2011, 08:03 AM   #5
Registered User
 
Fleetwood Owners Club
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Granite Falls, NC
Posts: 1,156
Blog Entries: 8
OOPS.... MY bad for not reading the article completely..
anyhow, If your roof air quits try me ''Fix'' to see it that will work.

Be safe and I will see you at the National in September.....

Lets all thank a vet for our freedoms....
__________________
Seajay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2011, 08:17 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 30
Do you happen to know where the low pressure is located ? This is a F53 Ford.
__________________
seniorgear is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2011, 09:10 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
texnet's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Granbury, Texas
Posts: 1,364
The switch will be located on one of the feon lines. Just follow the wires from the compressor to the switch, or look for a switch with two wires coming off of the freon lines.
__________________

__________________
Ronnie (WD5GIC) & Jan (WD5IHU)
2003 Monaco Dynasty Countess 42' w/tag, 2012 Ford Flex
http://www.ronniesphotos.com

texnet is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
f53, ford



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2011 Ford F53 Chassis TerryDix Ford Motorhome Chassis Forum 3 01-21-2011 08:39 PM
Hurricane (Ford F53) Fuse Location kjk Ford Motorhome Chassis Forum 4 07-16-2010 02:41 PM
2009 Ford F53 Chassis - RVIA Exposition Report, Louisville, KY DriVer Ford Motorhome Chassis Forum 4 12-04-2008 09:06 PM
Ford F53 water ingestion update N8XV MH-General Discussions & Problems 1 07-25-2005 03:59 PM
Condit Ford in Newton, NJ problems Billjam Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 14 12-31-2004 01:23 PM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:36 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.