Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > MH-General Discussions & Problems
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 12-26-2009, 06:17 AM   #1

First trip report

I'm new to RV's. We rushed in buying a used Class C this past summer, used it for a weekend and I quickly learned it wasn't the right fit for our needs. Luckily we were able to recover the costs when we traded it in on our Class A.

Bought the Southwind earlier this month. Spent a week getting it ready for our trip to Florida for the holidays. Even though everything was explained when purchased, I still had to figure out a couple of things but no showstoppers.

The V-10 ran flawlessly. Didn't use any oil and adveraged 8 mpg on the trip down. Part of this was in some heavy crosswinds too. My only issue is it is in need of new shocks. I intended on getting Konis or Blistiens.

Camped and 5 different places during the trip. Easy to setup and also break down. My wife and I share the tasks and this helps a lot.

We love meeting new people. We notice how friendly everyone is. We both camped as children but never like this. We actually joke about this not being " real camping"

Anyways we absolutely love RVing. Not only is it fun to see new places, but it allows us to spend more quality time together as a family. This was a great purchase that we will get a lot of use out of. Next trip is in the spring. Won't be as far but we will take several short trips over the weekends.

Thanks to all who has helped or explained things to me. This forum is a great source of information.

Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!