Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > MH-General Discussions & Problems
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 04-12-2015, 09:11 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 5
Furnace problem in new Precept 31ul

hi,
just picked up our brand new jayco precept 2 weeks ago and having problems with the furnace on the road.
Its an Atwood AFM hydroflame furnace. It worked fine for the first week, but NOW when you turn it on it fires up for about 5 seconds and then shuts off. Any trouble shooting suggestions appreciated as it's still cold in BC.
We're taking the MH back to the dealer in a couple of weeks to fix the deficiencies but sure would like some heat for those cold mornings. Thanks
__________________

__________________
NancyandKenn is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 04-12-2015, 10:53 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
BFlinn181's Avatar
 
Gulf Streamers Club
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Cincinnati
Posts: 16,239


Have you checked in your furnace owner's manual? If you don't have one, you can download it from Atwood.

Going out in 5 seconds sounds like an issue with the thermocouple. When the furnace ignitor fires the gas, it has a sensor that will shut down the gas if no heat is detected. You need to be sure the sensor is directly in the flame and is cleanly coupled at the other end. If it's faulty, a replacement can be had at most home improvement center or furnace shop.
__________________

__________________

Bob & Donna
'98 Gulf Stream Sun Voyager DP being pushed by a '00 Beetle TDI
BFlinn181 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2015, 11:52 PM   #3
Community Administrator
 
JohnRR's Avatar


 
Fleetwood Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Marquette, Michigan "Da UP"
Posts: 16,940

Good luck with a solution.
__________________
John & Cathy R.
06 Pace Arrow 38L W24
08 14 Lincoln MKX AWD
See My RV Upgrades
JohnRR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2015, 12:22 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 178
I had the same problem with the Suburban furnace in my Vista. The furnace would start, run for a few seconds, then shut down. Apparently, the burner would not ignite, so the furnace would just shut off. The dealer first thought it was the main board, but it ended up being a switch that went bad.
__________________
dezrtracr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2015, 03:51 AM   #5
Community Moderator
 
RV Wizard's Avatar


 
Country Coach Owners Club
Appalachian Campers
Gulf Streamers Club
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Chattanooga, Tn.
Posts: 12,062
Hello and We are glad to have you join us here and we look forward to reading of your adventures and experiences. I am sure you will enjoy our website and forums. Good luck, stay safe and keep us posted.
__________________
Mike, RVIA & RVSA Certified Master RV Technician
Amy, Dr. Assistant - Roxie & Mei Ling, four legs each
2000 Gulf Stream Scenic Cruiser 450 hp & 1330# torque
06 Saturn Vue, 06 Chevy Z71 4x4 & 2014 Corvette Z51 M7
RV Wizard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2015, 05:14 PM   #6
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 5
thanks everyone for your suggestions and welcome. We've got a call into the dealer to see if we can get our unit in to be checked. Both the outside & inside access panels are sealed and we don't really want to unseal them as the unit is brand new. Hopefully we will hear back from the dealer shortly.
__________________
NancyandKenn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2015, 07:44 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
dabrooks's Avatar
 
Tiffin Owners Club
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Maryland
Posts: 1,000
It if the fan is running for 5 seconds and shutting off it sounds like it could be the sail switch. Mine was located on the inside. I took the wooden grate off that covers the furnace. Once I got to the furnace I took 4 sheet metal screws out that holds the end on the furnace on There were a couple of ducts attached to the end but everything swung out of the way. Mounted just behind the cover there is a round piece about the size of a half dollar with two wires attached. If you make up a jumper with some wire and remove the wires from the sail switch and hook them together it will bypass the sail switch and if the switch is bad the furnace will run. It is about a $10 to $15 dollar part. Mine was bad but I did not attempt to run it with the jumper any longer than needed to be sure the sail switch was the problem. It should only take you a few minutes to perform this whole procedure and only requires a screw driver or nut driver and a small piece of wire.
__________________
dabrooks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2015, 08:27 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
BFlinn181's Avatar
 
Gulf Streamers Club
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Cincinnati
Posts: 16,239
The OP said, "turn it on it fires up for about 5 seconds and then shuts off." The ignitor and gas valve wouldn't be triggered by the control board if the sail switch wasn't turned on by the air currents. I still think it's in the thermocouple shutting the gas off after no heat signal in 5 seconds.
__________________

Bob & Donna
'98 Gulf Stream Sun Voyager DP being pushed by a '00 Beetle TDI
BFlinn181 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2015, 05:57 AM   #9
Senior Member
 
dabrooks's Avatar
 
Tiffin Owners Club
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Maryland
Posts: 1,000
I certainly agree if the furnace does actually "fire up" it would not be the sail switch. He may be saying "fires up" but only the fan is running. I should have asked if the furnace was actually "firing up" or was just the blower was running.
__________________
dabrooks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2015, 07:22 AM   #10
Senior Member
Commercial Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 608
For all those suggesting the burner is not firing, the symptom in that case is the blower will run continuous. So as explained by the OP, this is not the case.

The correct sequence is thermostat calls for heat, blower starts, when up to speed as sensed by the sail switch, start the ignition process. If not up to speed, shutdown. Either your 12v battery power is not high enough or the sail switch is bad or obstructed.
__________________
shiggs68 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2015, 09:26 AM   #11
Senior Member
 
BFlinn181's Avatar
 
Gulf Streamers Club
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Cincinnati
Posts: 16,239
Since the furnace worked for a week, then started this behavior, one other suggestion to check: Did any of the heat vents in the RV get closed or blocked? An RV furnace works best when all vents are wide open. If one or two are closed or blocked, enough air flow could be restricted to prevent sail switch from allowing furnace to function.
__________________

Bob & Donna
'98 Gulf Stream Sun Voyager DP being pushed by a '00 Beetle TDI
BFlinn181 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2015, 04:17 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
Todd157k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: So.Cal.
Posts: 297
1. Are you on battery power? is the power up? If it drops below 11v, it won't fire.
2. Sufficient gas? Low pressure, it won't fire up. Make sure your valve is FULLY locked open.
3. Clear vents as mentioned above.
__________________
2013 Itasca Sunova 30A
2006 Crownline 250cr
2012 Ram Laramie Longhorn
Todd157k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2015, 07:32 PM   #13
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 5
just got back from the dealer and they had to replaced the controller board. Furnace appears to be working fine now.
__________________
NancyandKenn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2015, 07:39 PM   #14
Senior Member
 
BFlinn181's Avatar
 
Gulf Streamers Club
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Cincinnati
Posts: 16,239
Quote:
Originally Posted by NancyandKenn View Post
just got back from the dealer and they had to replaced the controller board. Furnace appears to be working fine now.
Thanks for reporting back with the solution to your problem. Glad it's fixed.
__________________

__________________

Bob & Donna
'98 Gulf Stream Sun Voyager DP being pushed by a '00 Beetle TDI
BFlinn181 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
furnace, ace



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Suburban Furnace Shuts Off Oilburner53 RV Systems & Appliances 13 10-09-2014 12:19 PM
Furnace Issues Chiefbvfd Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 9 05-20-2014 08:17 AM
Where is Best Discounted Pricing on Precept 31UL (w/lowest shipping costs) gowestwardho Class A Motorhome Discussions 1 05-07-2014 06:05 PM
Jayco Precept 31UL lilmoover Jayco Owner's Forum 0 01-19-2014 06:29 PM
Duotherm furnace problem butchlanoue Class C Motorhome Discussions 4 11-22-2013 09:07 PM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:38 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.