Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > MH-General Discussions & Problems
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
View Poll Results: Do you have a thermostat or furnace problem
furnace issues 5 55.56%
thermostat issues 4 44.44%
Voters: 9. You may not vote on this poll

Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 02-03-2010, 07:41 AM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 1
Angry Furnace problem may not be in the furnace!

I had an interesting day yesterday! Spent all morning chasing a furnace problem in my newmar mountain aire and learned some interesting things! First of all, I dont claim to be an expert but have worked on this Motorhome for the past 5 years. The problem started Sunday after the ice storm went through. I called a repairman out after I exhausted all possible blown fuse issues etc. It was not the furnace that was not working ! It turns out Newmar runs the thermostat through the A/C unit control panel on top of the Motorhome! We traced it down to the the control panel after replacing a relay on the side of the furnace and that did not fix it. (however, it did fix my arctic package). Newmar has a panel inside the a/c unit (Duotherm heat pump) that controls the a/c and the furnace. We came to this conclusion by twisting the output wires together on top and the furnace came on.
I suspected the panel at that point because I remember in the early fall we had a problem of the fan on the a/c unit shutting off before the compressor. My repair guy says it is that panel! I will wait for the ice to thaw and warmer weather to tackle that one! Right now, we wired in a temporary 2 wire mechanical thermostat to get by until then. He tells me only an authorized Duotherm outlet like camping world can order the board and I need all the numbers for that from the 5 button thermostat and the control panel under the A/C shroud.! Hope no one else has this problem and has to spend $300+ dollars to track it down like I did!
__________________

__________________
turkeychuckt is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 02-03-2010, 01:41 PM   #2
Moderator Emeritus


 
Monaco Owners Club
Excel Owners Club
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Hangin' with Sacs and the Pins
Posts: 9,413
I might suggest that your poll also include n"no problem" too!
__________________

__________________
MM
*MonacoMama with the 2 Pins & SacsTC Nearby*
*2007 Monaco Diplomat 40' SFT<>2006 Chevy VortecMax Toad<>2006 Buick Lucerne Leading the Way*
MonacoMama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2010, 01:57 PM   #3
Community Administrator
 
Route 66's Avatar


 
Newmar Owners Club
Retired Fire Service RVer's
Spartan Chassis
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Newark, DE
Posts: 25,614
This is not unique to Newmar.

Dometic makes the entire control system, ACs, and 5 button Comfort Control Center and many RV manufacturers use this system.
__________________
Adios, Dirk - '84 Real Lite Truck Camper, '86 Wilderness Cimarron TT, previously 4 years as a fulltimer in a '07 DSDP

Route 66 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2010, 04:26 PM   #4
Moderator Emeritus
 
Gary RVRoamer's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Silver Springs, FL. USA
Posts: 18,085
The Atwood Comfort Control System thermostat uses a remote (called a Zone Control module) to actually control the furnae and a/c, especially where the furnace is tied to the heat pump (auto switches to furnace if heat pump can't do the job). The unit you saw in the a/c enclosure was probably the zone control. There is also a freeze sensor in the a/c coils to help identify when the heat pump or a/c freezes up and needs to be cycled off for a few minutes to defrost.
__________________
Gary Brinck
Former owner of 2004 American Tradition
Home is in the Ocala Nat'l Forest near Ocala, FL
Summers in Black Mountain, NC
Gary RVRoamer is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dirty oil or problem with actuators? TEO Caterpillar Engine Forum 6 09-21-2009 01:44 PM
Hydro Flame furnace problem Jim.UT RV Systems & Appliances 1 08-01-2009 05:04 AM
Dometic Frig Problem dieselclacker RV Systems & Appliances 2 07-29-2009 04:12 AM
I need help with furnace JRW RV Systems & Appliances 11 04-30-2005 08:14 PM
Suburban furnace won't light in cold weather BryannasTreasureBox MH-General Discussions & Problems 9 01-22-2005 08:12 AM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:19 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.