Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > MH-General Discussions & Problems
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 03-24-2012, 09:33 AM   #29
Moderator Emeritus
 
TXiceman's Avatar


 
Vintage RV Owners Club
Texas Boomers Club
Oklahoma Boomers Club
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Full Time, TX Home Base
Posts: 17,150
Blog Entries: 21
Your voltage should not be that low. It will damage the electric motors whenrun on low voltage. On that vintage trailer, I doubt if they can run much below 107 volts.

I think you need to get it to a shop and get it checked out.

Ken
__________________

__________________
Amateur Radio Operator (KE5DFR)|Full-Time! - 2012 6.7L Ford Crew Cab Dually -2013 HitchHiker Champagne 38RLRSB - Travel with one Standard Schnauzer and one small Timneh African Gray Parrot
TXiceman is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 03-24-2012, 09:46 AM   #30
Senior Member
 
f1100turbo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 119
Quote:
Originally Posted by donandmax View Post
30 amp plug??? Iam not trying to run 2 a/c's on shore power, I know that doesnt work but as I said they should both run on the generator. And there is my problem with 2 a/c's turned on they should both run while on gen. (at least the owners manual says so)but the voltage drops below 100volts as soon as you switch the 2nd one on..So far I have tried all your suggestions and still no luck. I figure maybe 5000 watts is not enough. We are at the 5000 ft level and that may be why..Gas engines loose so much power as the altitude increases, In fact that may be the problem come to think of it..Any input on that one ? Any hoo thanks for that list of power consumption appliances.. Anybody else have a high altitude problem like this?
I know your not plugged into shore power !

how is your camper plugged in to gennie ?>
with your cable from your camper >?
what plug is it plugged into on gennie
you should have a 15 amp outlets and possibly a 30

your gennie isn't big enough
__________________

__________________
2005 chevy silverado 2500hd 6.0L
2011 palomino sabre 32 bhok-6
Ron and Amy Benhart
f1100turbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2012, 11:37 AM   #31
Senior Member
 
clyon51's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Arizona West RV Park, Yuma, Az
Posts: 4,113
As stated already, your gen should have 2 breakers on it. Most mfg wire the 20amp side to the rear AC. The 30amp side to the rest of the coach and front AC. This why your manual says you can run both with the gen.

So far, everything you've described tells me both ACs are running off the gens 30amp circuit. At least it appears that way.

I would run this test. Start the gen, start the rear AC. Then trip the 20amp breaker, it may be a 15amp. If that shuts down the rear AC, that part is wired correctly. If it doesn't shut down, you have found the problem.

For completness, you may want to run this test on the front AC using both breakers, just in case someone has really crossed things up.

If this is not your problem, I would next look to a bad transfer switch. It's possible the contacts are partially burnt not allowing a good contact.

Failing that, I would run as much carb/injecter cleaner through the gen as I could while its running for at least an hour. I doubt the 5000ft has anything to do with it. But if the gen has that adjustment, set it.

All other suggestions sound reasonable to me. Failing everything, its probably time for Pro help. Good luck and keep us posted.
__________________
John & Clare Lyon
2007 43.5' Monaco Dynasty Palace III (All Electric)
Towd: 2011 Chevy Equinox
clyon51 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2012, 01:27 PM   #32
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 514
Quote:
Originally Posted by TXiceman View Post
Your voltage should not be that low. It will damage the electric motors whenrun on low voltage. On that vintage trailer, I doubt if they can run much below 107 volts.

I think you need to get it to a shop and get it checked out.

Ken
I think so too..
Thanks
__________________
Don and Maxine McQueen
1996 Damon Intruder
F53 Chassis 33 ft
donandmax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2012, 01:31 PM   #33
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 514
Quote:
Originally Posted by clyon51 View Post
As stated already, your gen should have 2 breakers on it. Most mfg wire the 20amp side to the rear AC. The 30amp side to the rest of the coach and front AC. This why your manual says you can run both with the gen.

So far, everything you've described tells me both ACs are running off the gens 30amp circuit. At least it appears that way.

I would run this test. Start the gen, start the rear AC. Then trip the 20amp breaker, it may be a 15amp. If that shuts down the rear AC, that part is wired correctly. If it doesn't shut down, you have found the problem.

For completness, you may want to run this test on the front AC using both breakers, just in case someone has really crossed things up.

If this is not your problem, I would next look to a bad transfer switch. It's possible the contacts are partially burnt not allowing a good contact.

Failing that, I would run as much carb/injecter cleaner through the gen as I could while its running for at least an hour. I doubt the 5000ft has anything to do with it. But if the gen has that adjustment, set it.

All other suggestions sound reasonable to me. Failing everything, its probably time for Pro help. Good luck and keep us posted.
When I run the rear I can flip the 20 amp switch and the rear a/c keeps on running. Dont know what that 20 amp switch is for. It appears the 30 amp switch controls both a/c's
__________________
Don and Maxine McQueen
1996 Damon Intruder
F53 Chassis 33 ft
donandmax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2012, 01:57 PM   #34
Senior Member
 
clyon51's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Arizona West RV Park, Yuma, Az
Posts: 4,113
Quote:
Originally Posted by donandmax
When I run the rear I can flip the 20 amp switch and the rear a/c keeps on running. Dont know what that 20 amp switch is for. It appears the 30 amp switch controls both a/c's
There in lies your problem.

Generators with 5000+ watts, have 2 generating circuits. The 20amp is for the rear AC exclusively. The 30amp for everything else. For some reason, somebody has changed the way it's supposed to be wired. Could have been a screwup at the factory or a previous owner did something.

Perhaps the 20amp circuit quit working and rather than repair the gen, someone wired the rear AC to the 30 amp circuit. It's hard to say and will take someone qualified to sort it out.

Bottom line, if you want to run both ACs at the same time, you need to correct this problem.
__________________
John & Clare Lyon
2007 43.5' Monaco Dynasty Palace III (All Electric)
Towd: 2011 Chevy Equinox
clyon51 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2012, 02:21 PM   #35
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 514
Quote:
Originally Posted by clyon51 View Post
There in lies your problem.

Generators with 5000+ watts, have 2 generating circuits. The 20amp is for the rear AC exclusively. The 30amp for everything else. For some reason, somebody has changed the way it's supposed to be wired. Could have been a screwup at the factory or a previous owner did something.

Perhaps the 20amp circuit quit working and rather than repair the gen, someone wired the rear AC to the 30 amp circuit. It's hard to say and will take someone qualified to sort it out.

Bottom line, if you want to run both ACs at the same time, you need to correct this problem.
I think your right I will look into this and see what happens
Thanks
Don
__________________
Don and Maxine McQueen
1996 Damon Intruder
F53 Chassis 33 ft
donandmax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2012, 06:05 AM   #36
Senior Member
 
Tabors's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Thibodaux, Louisiana
Posts: 134
i had the same problem with my 5500 in a windsport i had and i tried it all ,untill i went to a onan dealer , it would start fine run fine up untill i clicked the second ac on ,then it would just bog down untill it stopped , all this was caused by a valve that was not set correct he set both valves to spec and walla we ran every thing on the first try and it never again did it,so i hope this help's also i had changed Carb and ran seafoam did it all, but just 1 valve was out
__________________
Tabors is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2012, 06:32 AM   #37
Senior Member
 
mgscott4's Avatar
 
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Kansas City, MO./Pollock, LA.
Posts: 1,549
My old MH had 30 amps and 2 AC's. I could run them both at the same time, sort of. It also had a progressive Dynamics energy management controller for the AC's. Only one AC compressor would come on at a time, but both fans would run. It had a shed light that would blink. It would switch back and forth between the AC's compressors every few minutes. It worked great.

Does your MH have an energy management center? It may be bad.
__________________

__________________
06 Hurricane 34FT WH W20 Chassis 8.1L 132K, Steersafe, Koni Shocks, DIY Trac Bar, Tri-Metric 2025RV Battery Monitor, 4-6V Batteries, Scan Gauge 2, Crossfires, 735W Solar Morningstar MPPT-60, WG T4 In-Motion Sat, XM Radio, 07 Chevy Malibu Maxx Toad, Falcon 2, Brake Buddy, Escapee
mgscott4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Not New, but New to Us. vapor3000 New Rig Show-Off! 18 03-29-2012 07:38 PM
If you are in FL or are coming to FL where will you be? Billieg Camping Locations, Plans & Trip Reports 77 03-26-2012 04:25 AM
Best Mileage, Least Price, Tow 7000 lbs., and NOT brand new ChiefGeek Trailer Towing and Tow Vehicles Discussion 8 03-21-2012 07:40 PM
Not charging with Honda Generator ctcamper MH-General Discussions & Problems 9 03-21-2012 08:40 AM
New to forum but not to camping arthur54 New Member Check-In 10 03-20-2012 07:48 PM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:03 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.