Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > MH-General Discussions & Problems
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 03-22-2012, 06:29 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 514
Gen. will not hold 2 a/c's

My owners manual says my 5000 watt Koehler gen. will operate my 2 a/c's When I put the second A/C online the voltage goes from 120 V to less than 100 V.I have a 30 amp system and I know you cant run 2 a/c's on shore power but your supposed to be able to when on Generator. Obviously you cant. The genny runs perfect and put out 120 V with one a/c but start the other and it drags it way down.. Any suggestions ?
__________________

__________________
Don and Maxine McQueen
1996 Damon Intruder
F53 Chassis 33 ft
donandmax is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 03-22-2012, 06:39 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Mcdonough, Ga.
Posts: 4,382
Sounds like the governor needs adjustment. The engine should speed up and handle the second AC. Your unit is rated to run two airs.
__________________

__________________
1998 Pace Arrow 35 ft. F53 Ford V10 2012 Honda Civic toad
32 years mechanic at Delta Air Lines 15 year motorhome service manager. 3 popups....2 travel trailers....5 motorhomes....loved them all.
ga traveler is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2012, 08:26 PM   #3
Moderator Emeritus
 
TXiceman's Avatar


 
Vintage RV Owners Club
Texas Boomers Club
Oklahoma Boomers Club
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Full Time, TX Home Base
Posts: 17,150
Blog Entries: 21
Unless it is an inverter style generator, the generator will not speed up. The 60 hz output is controlled by the engine speed and it runs at a constant speed. The additional A/C will put additional load on the generator, the voltage will sag a bit and the governor on the generator will increase the throttle to maintain 60 hertz and bring the voltage back up.

Now a more expensive inverter generator, will run at reduced or increased speed to handle the load and voltage. The frequency is controlled electronically and is not dependent on generator speed.

Ken
__________________
Amateur Radio Operator (KE5DFR)|Full-Time! - 2012 6.7L Ford Crew Cab Dually -2013 HitchHiker Champagne 38RLRSB - Travel with one Standard Schnauzer and one small Timneh African Gray Parrot
TXiceman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2012, 08:38 PM   #4
TGR
Senior Member
 
TGR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 149
I would double check if you can run both a/c units. I don't think my 5500 Onan will run both of my a/c units (15000 & 13500). I just run the a/c unit I need at that time.
__________________
TGR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2012, 08:43 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
RinkersRanch's Avatar


 
Fleetwood Owners Club
Mid Atlantic Campers
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Locust Grove, Virginia
Posts: 345
Does the generator engine slow significantly when the second A/C comes on line? If so it could be a restricted fuel filter. Has it ever pulled both A/C's?
__________________
Wayne, Diane, & Bentley (our 22 lb. alarm system)
02 Pace Arrow 37A-Workhorse, 01 Jeep Wrangler toad.
RinkersRanch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2012, 08:48 PM   #6
Registered User


 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 3,198
I'd expect a 5500 to run both. The one in my old pace arrow did. spray the carb linkage / governer linkage with carb cleaner, change the oil and filter and fuel filer, and just flatt run her for a while.
__________________
JimM68 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2012, 09:01 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
96 Wideglide's Avatar
 
Holiday Rambler Owners Club
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 3,215
Quote:
Originally Posted by TGR View Post
I would double check if you can run both a/c units. I don't think my 5500 Onan will run both of my a/c units (15000 & 13500). I just run the a/c unit I need at that time.
I guess mine must both be 13,500W, cause my 5.5KW Generac has no trouble running both .
__________________
Ben & Sharon
2008 43' Holiday Rambler Scepter PDQ
96 Wideglide is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2012, 09:26 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
ccook129's Avatar


 
Damon Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Anderson,IN
Posts: 407
Runs one or two air conditioners with power to
spare.5500 onan,mine has 2 30amp breakers,

Air conditioner starting:
One 13500 Btu air
conditioner with 3000 W base load or two 11000 Btu air
conditioners with 1500 W base load
So if you start the 13500 first then start the other.I can run both at the same time.
A 15000 btu roof air is only 2000 watts,and a 13500 btu air is about 1500 watts,so a 5500 watt generator should run both with no problem.

__________________
ccook129 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2012, 07:55 AM   #9
Senior Member
 
clyon51's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Arizona West RV Park, Yuma, Az
Posts: 4,113
Quote:
Originally Posted by 96 Wideglide

I guess mine must both be 13,500W, cause my 5.5KW Generac has no trouble running both .
My 5500 Generac runs both of mine which is a no brainer as my 30amp coach runs both on shore power. Both on low fan pulls about 24-26amps
__________________
John & Clare Lyon
2007 43.5' Monaco Dynasty Palace III (All Electric)
Towd: 2011 Chevy Equinox
clyon51 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2012, 08:16 AM   #10
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 514
Quote:
Originally Posted by JimM68 View Post
I'd expect a 5500 to run both. The one in my old pace arrow did. spray the carb linkage / governer linkage with carb cleaner, change the oil and filter and fuel filer, and just flatt run her for a while.
I did all that except I didnt spray the linkage with carb cleaner I'll try the carb cleaner today. With one a/c going the volt meter reads 120 Kick on the other a/c and it immediately drops to 100 V or lower. I use one of those meters that plugs directley into a 110 resceptical. and you just leave it there plugged in. I agree that it should hold both a/c's but the second one will drag it down in no time at all. Both a/cs keep going ok but that low of a voltage scares me and I shut one off immediately..
__________________
Don and Maxine McQueen
1996 Damon Intruder
F53 Chassis 33 ft
donandmax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2012, 08:27 AM   #11
Senior Member
 
clyon51's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Arizona West RV Park, Yuma, Az
Posts: 4,113
Just a thought. Have you tried alternating which AC you turn on first? Perhaps the capacitor is bad in one of them?
__________________
John & Clare Lyon
2007 43.5' Monaco Dynasty Palace III (All Electric)
Towd: 2011 Chevy Equinox
clyon51 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2012, 08:33 AM   #12
Moderator Emeritus
 
RustyJC's Avatar


 
Texas Boomers Club
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Cypress, Texas USA
Posts: 8,854
What else are you trying to run on electricity when attempting to run the 2 A/Cs? The water heater? Refrigerator? Coffee pot? Hair dryer? Microwave? Any of these are current hogs and, especially if several are in use, could affect the ability of your generator to handle the 2nd A/C unit.

Rusty
__________________
2016 Ram Longhorn 3500 Dually 4x4 CCLB, 385/900 Cummins, Aisin AS69RC, 4.10
2014.5 DRV Mobile Suites 38RSSA #6972
Come join us on a TEXAS BOOMERS rally!
RustyJC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2012, 08:42 AM   #13
Senior Member
 
njs42's Avatar
 
National RV Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Federal Way, Wa.
Posts: 2,901
The manual presumes your generator has been cared for in the perscribed manner during it's life time, particulaly when it comes to fuel. You do not say if this is a generator original to you. If it is then you know the answer.

If it is the same vintage as your MH, and you are not the original owner; has it ever handled two AC's since you aquired the MH? If not then it could just be the build up of the dreaded shellac in the fuel system which occurs with inactivity. It may need a more complete cleaning of the fuel system. At least it could use a good workout.

Your generator evidently has the capacity if running well, not at idle but under load.
__________________
I do all my own stunts
03 Dolphin LX 6355, Workhorse W22, 8.1 vortec, 04 CR-V, Blue Ox, Brake Pro----Norm, Barb and
Doc(He's a PhD)
njs42 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2012, 08:56 AM   #14
Senior Member
 
vermilye's Avatar


 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Oswego, NY
Posts: 380
Blog Entries: 1
Send a message via Skype™ to vermilye
If all the wiring isn't original, you might check that each AC is on separate breakers - Most 5500 Watt generators have a 30 amp & 20 amp breaker; if both ACs ended up on the same generator output that would cause your problem. Try shutting off the breakers at the generator one at a time to check...
__________________

vermilye is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Not New, but New to Us. vapor3000 New Rig Show-Off! 18 03-29-2012 07:38 PM
If you are in FL or are coming to FL where will you be? Billieg Camping Locations, Plans & Trip Reports 77 03-26-2012 04:25 AM
Best Mileage, Least Price, Tow 7000 lbs., and NOT brand new ChiefGeek Trailer Towing and Tow Vehicles Discussion 8 03-21-2012 07:40 PM
Not charging with Honda Generator ctcamper MH-General Discussions & Problems 9 03-21-2012 08:40 AM
New to forum but not to camping arthur54 New Member Check-In 10 03-20-2012 07:48 PM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:07 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.