Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > MH-General Discussions & Problems
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 09-25-2017, 09:03 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Conneaut OH
Posts: 14
Generac QP65G output voltage

I recently purchased a 2003 Newmar Scottsdale with a generac qp65g generator.
Generator runs fine,I changed the oil and filter today so ran it for 1 hour prior to changing the oil.
What I noticed and what concerns me is the unloaded voltage output.
With no load the voltage is 149 volts.
I plugged in a 1500 watt electric space heater and the output was 135 volts.
Ran it this way for 1 hour then changed oil and filter.
I'm afraid to try the a/c unless this is normal operation for a generac generator.
I also tried a 100 watt light and voltage was 149 volts.
I used a fluke true rms meter so I believe the reading.I also have a ac voltage monitor that shows the same readings.
When on shore power everything indicates 120 volts.
__________________

__________________
2003 Newmar Scottsdale W22 workhorse
larryjb2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 09-25-2017, 10:08 PM   #2
Junior Member
 
Newmar Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Georgia
Posts: 16
Have the same genny in a 2005 Scottsdale and had the same problem. DIY replacement of the voltage regulator board fixed it.
__________________

__________________
Tom & Janet (Retired USAF)
2005 Scottsdale 3456, W22
Tom17 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2017, 10:18 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 48
There is also a pot adjustment on regulator. Try decreasing voltage with that.
__________________
jfoldesi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2017, 10:19 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 48
There is a pot adjustment on regulator. You can try decreasing voltage with that.
__________________
jfoldesi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2017, 10:31 PM   #5
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Conneaut OH
Posts: 14
Thanks

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tom17 View Post
Have the same genny in a 2005 Scottsdale and had the same problem. DIY replacement of the voltage regulator board fixed it.
Thanks for quick reply.
I was thinking the voltage regulator also but wanted to be sure.
I found one online and the site had these instructions:
IMPORTANT:
After installing the new voltage regulator, determine if the frequency is correct. Set mechanical governors to 62Hz at no load. Electronic governors set to 60Hz no load. After determining that the hertz are correct, measure the AC output. The voltage should be 124VAC at 62Hz with no load or 120VAC at 60Hz with no load. If the voltage is either high or low, adjust the brass screw in blue trim potentiometer next to the red LED to the correct voltage.

What do i need to do this?
I'm thinking of checking this before i buy the regulator.
__________________
2003 Newmar Scottsdale W22 workhorse
larryjb2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2017, 10:43 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Charlie 5320's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 462
Quote:
Originally Posted by larryjb2 View Post
Thanks for quick reply.
I was thinking the voltage regulator also but wanted to be sure.
I found one online and the site had these instructions:
IMPORTANT:
After installing the new voltage regulator, determine if the frequency is correct. Set mechanical governors to 62Hz at no load. Electronic governors set to 60Hz no load. After determining that the hertz are correct, measure the AC output. The voltage should be 124VAC at 62Hz with no load or 120VAC at 60Hz with no load. If the voltage is either high or low, adjust the brass screw in blue trim potentiometer next to the red LED to the correct voltage.

What do i need to do this?
I'm thinking of checking this before i buy the regulator.
YES, adjust the regulator if the set is working. Problem is the governor may have the engine running too fast. That will cause the HRZ and the voltage to be too high. I'd adjust the regulator to the correct voltage then load it up and check it again. if the generator responds quickly to the loads you put on it, let it run.
__________________
2003 Dolphin 5320
Charlie 5320 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2017, 10:47 PM   #7
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Conneaut OH
Posts: 14
adjust

Quote:
Originally Posted by Charlie 5320 View Post
YES, adjust the regulator if the set is working. Problem is the governor may have the engine running too fast. That will cause the HRZ and the voltage to be too high. I'd adjust the regulator to the correct voltage then load it up and check it again. if the generator responds quickly to the loads you put on it, let it run.
So while watching the voltage i slow down the engine then check under load?
__________________
2003 Newmar Scottsdale W22 workhorse
larryjb2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2017, 11:22 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 48
Yes, take cover off and will see regulator. Will have red light on it. Try adjusting voltage.
__________________
jfoldesi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2017, 11:42 PM   #9
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Conneaut OH
Posts: 14
Thanks to all

Quote:
Originally Posted by jfoldesi View Post
Yes, take cover off and will see regulator. Will have red light on it. Try adjusting voltage.
i'm going to look at the generator tomorrow and try adjusting it.I will have to get a meter to measure the frequency so i can set it according to the manual.
Will report back afterwards.
Thanks!
__________________

__________________
2003 Newmar Scottsdale W22 workhorse
larryjb2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
generac



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Checking frequency output and voltage output of Onan 5000 Genset Generator. MajesticRV MH-General Discussions & Problems 4 11-07-2012 11:16 AM
Generac Generator/Still no AC Output TheBeachHous RV Systems & Appliances 3 12-21-2011 07:55 AM
NO AC Power output from Generac generator, still runs but ... talock RV Systems & Appliances 10 12-27-2010 10:21 PM
Generac no output. firemanmn RV Systems & Appliances 12 07-12-2010 11:04 PM
Output problem with Generac 55G Primepact Generator purplbee MH-General Discussions & Problems 5 08-27-2008 07:14 PM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:53 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.