Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > MH-General Discussions & Problems
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 09-27-2006, 03:49 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 2
I just purchased my first Minnie, the oran generator only powers lights, no microwave, heat or a/c. Any suggestions? Don't hesitate to answer as if I was a 5 year old; I feel I am over my head!
__________________

__________________
Mrs. Martinez is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 09-27-2006, 03:49 PM   #2
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 2
I just purchased my first Minnie, the oran generator only powers lights, no microwave, heat or a/c. Any suggestions? Don't hesitate to answer as if I was a 5 year old; I feel I am over my head!
__________________

__________________
Mrs. Martinez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2006, 04:24 PM   #3
RJC
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Aldergrove BC
Posts: 2
There is a lot of different set ups for gen sets. The lights on your coach should run off the batteries so you are probably not getting any gen power. Check & see if you have an outlet that fits your shore cord & plug it in. had a winnie product set up that way.
__________________
RJC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2006, 05:00 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
chasfm11's Avatar
 
Texas Boomers Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: DFW Area, TX
Posts: 2,023
OK. This isn't as difficult as it might currently sound to you. Let's try some basics:

1. Your shore power cord probably needs to be plugged into an outlet in your electrical compartment. Mine does, too. If the shore power cord isn't plugged in, you will have no 110 volt power.
2. Are you sure the genset is running? It should crank like a car motor does when it starts and you should be able to stand near the exhaust pipe for it (it is much smaller than the tailpipe for your Minnie engine) and hear the exhaust. If you can, we can move to step three. If you cannot hear the exhaust, we have to work on that first.
3. On the genset itself are a few switches. At least one of them is a circuit breaker and there might be two circuit breakers. Shine a flashlight on them and make sure that you can read "on" There is probably a start switch, too. If the genset is running from step 2, leave that alone.
4. Somewhere, you have a house type electrical panel with circuit breakers on it. Mine is in the same electrical compartment as my shore power cord but yours might be either there or somewhere close by. You want to make sure just like your house that all of the circuit breakers are on. You might consider resetting each one, just to make sure. It won't hurt anything.

When you have tried these steps, let us know the answers and we'll try to help you further.

Good Luck

Charlie
__________________
2000 Georgie Boy Landau 36' DP
2005 Saturn Vue toad
KF5-NJY
chasfm11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2006, 05:12 PM   #5
Community Moderator
 
"007"'s Avatar


 
Nor'easters Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
iRV2 No Limits Club
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 24,836
Mrs Martinez welcome to irv2
As you can see helpful people on irv2. They have covered it pretty well as Charlie said let us know how your making out if we have to help further.
Enjoy the forums and post often.
__________________
98KSCA, 99MACA, 03 KSCA-3740- 8.1 Chev-- ALLISON Trans, now in good hands
VISIT the NEWMAR QUICK TIPS & EASYMODS 1 & 2
QUICK TIPS # 3
RV SYSTEMS & APPLIANCES & RECALLS --- TECH INFORMATION
"007" is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2006, 06:05 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Glacier Nat\'l Park
Posts: 115
Start with checking for circuit breakers on the generator. I believe it should have two and one of them might be tripped. Be sure and go ahead and flip them off and then back on and be firm about it. If that doesn't work, look for breaker box inside unit. Again don't be afraid to flip all the circuit breakers and do it firmly. If still nothing after that, I don't know. Maybe time to call your favorite RV tech! Good Luck!

Happy Trails! Jim
__________________
2002 National Tradewinds LE M350

2006 Jeep Liberty Limited
Our Cow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2006, 03:54 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 458
My vote is with the plug in for the shore power cord. Look for it in the cord compartment. My old class Cs were both set up that way.
__________________
Doug and Cassi

'05 Meridian 36G
CHIPPYSGT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2006, 07:58 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Wallaby Dan's Avatar
 
Vintage RV Owners Club
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Texas
Posts: 2,191
Hi Mrs Martinez,My home has a power box in the cord compartment.I just plug the power cord into the box and the genset will then power the 110V in the motorhome. When you get to a park and want the 110V to hook up to the park electric, just un-plug the cord from the power box and plug it into the jack on the pole beside the lot. there should be a electric box on the pole and water and maybe sewer too. Hope this helps and welcome to the forum! Dan
__________________
1991 Chevy Pickup
1994 5th wheel 30 foot trailer
Wallaby Dan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2006, 06:55 PM   #9
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Gautier, MS. USA
Posts: 15
The lights are 12v, no genset needed. The furnace should also work without the genset. Just FYI.
__________________
jenks60 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2006, 04:30 AM   #10
Senior Member
 
Retired and Happy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Stone Mountain, GA
Posts: 922
If your electrical compartment does not have a socket to plug the cord into, you likely have an automatic transfer switch (ATS). Do you have any power when you plug the shore power cord into an external outlet, say in the house or garage? You most likely need an adapter to plug the cord into before you can plug it into a regular home receptacle.

If you have an ATS, it could have failed. If you do not have power when plugged into an external receptacle, it may be the breakers inside your motorhome. There should be one labeled MAIN, and several to supply the branches inside the MH. Cycle these as described above.
__________________
Ken, Judy, and the Angels--2005 Fleetwood Southwind--2008 Cargo Trailer--2003 EZGO Golf Cart
Retired and Happy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2006, 09:35 AM   #11
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Southeast Idaho
Posts: 16
Check the power cord compartment and plug the AC cord into the receptacle inside the compartment. This is used in place of an auto transfer switch. When you want to use shore power, simply unplug and pull it out of the compartment to plug into shore power source.
__________________
Jim & Marla
2002 Itasca Sundancer 30V
kd7akn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2006, 05:42 PM   #12
Retired Senior Member
 
RonNBama's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 997
Blog Entries: 22
Mine had a manual transfer switch for generator power. Well hidden under one of the beds. This was on a 1984 Barth, so YMMV. :-)
__________________

__________________
(1984 Barth Regal)
(1998 Monaco Dynasty)
2001 Monaco Executive
RonNBama is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Coolant confusion Sixpack98 Cummins Engines 34 07-20-2008 06:17 PM
diesel confusion bandmbrown Class A Motorhome Discussions 3 07-16-2008 07:54 PM
New Tire Confusion MikeWard iRV2.com General Discussion 4 02-18-2008 09:10 PM
battery confusion Bob RV Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 2 10-05-2006 12:47 PM
What can I tow confusion Shunter917 Trailer Towing and Tow Vehicles Discussion 10 10-26-2005 05:16 PM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:16 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.