Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > MH-General Discussions & Problems
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 08-25-2012, 01:38 PM   #1
Member
 
Siebrands's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 65
Generator not running microwave

I have a 2000 Gulfstream CLass C Yellowstone. Today, I started my generator; the frig kicked over to AC. The microwave came alive. However, when I put my coffee cup onto the glass plate in the microwave and pressed 30 seconds, the plate will not turn. I hear no load drag on the generator. I've tried different microwave settings but no luck. Any thoughts about my microwave problem? It's a new microwave.
__________________

__________________
Siebrands is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 08-25-2012, 01:55 PM   #2
Registered User
 
Vintage RV Owners Club
Gulf Streamers Club
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 4,954
Look for a 'Turntable On/Off' button

Is the cup getting hot at all? These things can be wired to a GFCI plug some where in the Bath or Kitchen. Look for it/them and hit 'Reset'. You should also look for the breaker..
__________________

__________________
Midniteoyl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2012, 04:43 PM   #3
Member
 
Siebrands's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 65
No. The cup/water was not warm. I checked on the GFCI plug. I don't have one in the kitchen nor where the microwave is plugged in. I reset the only GFCI plug I have; it's located in the bathroom. That didn't help. When you mention "breaker," do you mean in the breaker box? If the breaker were blown, the microwave wouldn't run at all, would it? The microwave works fine on shore power. It somehow isn't working on the generator, making me wonder if it's getting adequate power.
__________________
Siebrands is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2012, 07:31 PM   #4
Moderator Emeritus
 
Gary RVRoamer's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Silver Springs, FL. USA
Posts: 18,085
You say the microwave "came alive". If the control panel lights are on for the microwave, it is getting power and the problem is in the microwave and not the power source for it.
__________________
Gary Brinck
Former owner of 2004 American Tradition
Home is in the Ocala Nat'l Forest near Ocala, FL
Summers in Black Mountain, NC
Gary RVRoamer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2012, 07:47 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
az bound's Avatar
 
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Surprise Arizona
Posts: 1,993
Ran into the same issue. Found that there is a switch in the door latch that must be in the closed position or it will not activate the magnetron. It is a safety feature so that it can not be energized with the door open. An adjustment fixed tha problem but its a pain to get to.
__________________
Harold & Linda
2009 CT coachworks siena 35V
W22 Workhorse 8.1L. Explorer Sport toad,
az bound is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2012, 07:53 PM   #6
Member
 
WiliWali's Avatar
 
Coastal Campers
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Stone Harbor, NJ
Posts: 88
As stated above, the door safety switch is a likely culprit. Some microwaves have an internal fuse that could have been blown. Had one in the stick house that happened to - had to take the whole thing apart to replace it.
__________________
2012 Keystone Outback 277RL (Salty Doghouse II)
2005 Ford/Quigley E350 4x4 Van 6.0L Diesel (Moby)
Molson (goldendoodle-11yrs) & Zeke (parti poodle-6mos)
WiliWali is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2012, 07:34 AM   #7
Member
 
Siebrands's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 65
works on shore power but not generator

Thanks for your thoughts on this generator problem, esp. the door latch idea. The microwave works on shore power but not generator power, which suggests something generator power related.
__________________
Siebrands is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2012, 07:43 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
az bound's Avatar
 
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Surprise Arizona
Posts: 1,993
Have you checked the breakers on the generator, there are two on most. Just guessing here.
__________________
Harold & Linda
2009 CT coachworks siena 35V
W22 Workhorse 8.1L. Explorer Sport toad,
az bound is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2012, 07:46 AM   #9
Rkh
Registered User
 
Rkh's Avatar
 
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 1,063
Siebrands, there are two circuit breakers on the genset itself...make sure none of them are tripped.
__________________
Rkh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2012, 07:49 AM   #10
Rkh
Registered User
 
Rkh's Avatar
 
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 1,063
Wow, AZ...our posts were nearly done at the same time..I'm gonna buy a lotto ticket..
BTW...I got 2 bucks that says this definitely is the OPs problem...
__________________
Rkh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2012, 10:03 AM   #11
Member
 
Siebrands's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 65
I checked the circuit breaker [there's only one] on the generator; it was fine. The microwave works on shore power but not generator power. It must be a microwave problem; I'll keep working on it. The generator runs my ac and frig just fine.
__________________
Siebrands is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2012, 10:09 AM   #12
Senior Member
 
Senior Chief's Avatar


 
Vintage RV Owners Club
Fleetwood Owners Club
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Somewhere in the woods in Belfair, WA, WA
Posts: 1,250
Have you tried running the air conditioners? You may have a low voltage issue.
__________________
Life rocks when your house rolls
Senior Chief
& the Cheese Queen


Senior Chief is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2012, 10:30 AM   #13
Rkh
Registered User
 
Rkh's Avatar
 
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 1,063
Siebrands, what model genset do you have?
__________________
Rkh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2012, 11:25 AM   #14
Member
 
Siebrands's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 65
Onan 4000
__________________

__________________
Siebrands is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
generator



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:54 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.