Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > MH-General Discussions & Problems
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 03-10-2006, 04:41 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 25
My Generac generator used to power both the front and rear A/C's. Currently it will power one or the other but not both.If the front A/C is running and I start the rear A/C the front unit shuts off and the rear starts. Can someone point me in the right direction to get both A/C's running at the same time?
Thanks
Jack
__________________

__________________
Jack

2006 National RV Surf Side
Jack Barbic is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 03-10-2006, 04:41 PM   #2
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 25
My Generac generator used to power both the front and rear A/C's. Currently it will power one or the other but not both.If the front A/C is running and I start the rear A/C the front unit shuts off and the rear starts. Can someone point me in the right direction to get both A/C's running at the same time?
Thanks
Jack
__________________

__________________
Jack

2006 National RV Surf Side
Jack Barbic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2006, 07:13 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
edgray's Avatar


 
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Entegra Owners Club
Spartan Chassis
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Madison, MS
Posts: 7,559
Jack, IF it USED to run both, then the problem may NOT be in the genset. But you should check to see IF the Generac has two circuit breakers and that, if so, they are both "on". You don't say what coach you have, so possible coach electrical management features cannot be addressed by our members.

May I suggest you go into your profile and ADD some coach & chassis info so you are more likely to get accurate suggestions. ED
__________________
2016 EC Aspire 42RBQ / 2014 CR-V
edgray is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2006, 04:14 AM   #4
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 25
Thanks Ed,

Both circuit breakers are on but maybe one of them is not working. I'll try putting on one at a time and see if one of them does not supply power to the coach.

I've added more info to my profile.
__________________
Jack

2006 National RV Surf Side
Jack Barbic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2006, 05:24 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
edgray's Avatar


 
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Entegra Owners Club
Spartan Chassis
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Madison, MS
Posts: 7,559
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">I've added more info to my profile </div></BLOCKQUOTE>
Jack, please check your private messages. ED
__________________
2016 EC Aspire 42RBQ / 2014 CR-V
edgray is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2006, 05:32 AM   #6
Moderator Emeritus
 
Gary RVRoamer's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Silver Springs, FL. USA
Posts: 18,105
It sounds as though you may have an Energy Management System that is kicking in. It attempts to manage the electrical load so that you can run on 30 amp power without tripping breakers all the time. One of the things it does is prevent both a/c s from running at the same time. If you have such a system, there may be a switch that disables it when you have 50A power available, as with the genset. Maybe the switch got flipped somehow? Or maybe it is malfuntioning? Or maybe you now have another sizable electrical load, so there is insufficient power for this 3rd thing plus two a/c units?
__________________
Gary Brinck
Former owner of 2004 American Tradition
Home is in the Ocala Nat'l Forest near Ocala, FL
Summers in Black Mountain, NC
Gary RVRoamer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2006, 09:22 AM   #7
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 25
Hi again,

Looks like I have a bad circuit breaker. I turn one off and got the generator to run one A/C (but not both), some lights, and a "Big Heat". With that circuit breaker off and the other turned on there was no a-c power. I'll replace that circuit breaker tomorrow.

Thanks for the suggestions.
Jack
__________________
Jack

2006 National RV Surf Side
Jack Barbic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2006, 06:03 PM   #8
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 25
Rats, both circuit breakers are good. I measured 120v on the input & output sides of both circuit breakers when they are switch on. The guy at the RV supply store said that one 30-amp circuit supplies power to the coach and front A/C. The second circuit is supposed to power the rear A/C and that there is a switch that prevents both A/C's from being turned on when on 30 amp shore power. He believes this switch is preventing the second circuit from functioning. My question is, can anyone describe what this switch should look like and where are the typical locations it would be in. The coach is a 1994 Gulfstream Scenic Cruiser. I've got a call in to Gulfstream but no response so far.
Thanks
Jack
__________________
Jack

2006 National RV Surf Side
Jack Barbic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2006, 10:19 AM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Santa Barbara CA
Posts: 49
Do you have the owners manual?

If not, when you get ahold of Gulfstream I would find out how to get one.
__________________
Happy Travels,

Art
agkcpa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2006, 12:50 PM   #10
Moderator Emeritus
 
Gary RVRoamer's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Silver Springs, FL. USA
Posts: 18,105
The switch usually looks like a regular wall switch and is often installed in the galley or bath area, or perhapsd near wherever your other switches are, e.g. water heater igition, battery cut-off, or whatever. There is no typical place for all makes and models.
__________________
Gary Brinck
Former owner of 2004 American Tradition
Home is in the Ocala Nat'l Forest near Ocala, FL
Summers in Black Mountain, NC
Gary RVRoamer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2006, 04:53 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
Retired and Happy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Stone Mountain, GA
Posts: 941
Two of my switches have been in cabinets just behind the driver seat and the current one was in a cabinet above the microwave, also used to store the MH manual. I say used to be , because I replaced the selector switch with a Pulse Air switch which, when connected to 30A shore power, allows selection of either unit or the two A/C units will alternate on a 7 minute/5 minute cycle. When on the generator, it allows use of either or both units.
__________________
Ken, Judy, and the Angels--2005 Fleetwood Southwind--2008 Cargo Trailer--2003 EZGO Golf Cart
Retired and Happy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2006, 12:50 PM   #12
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 25
Recently I submitted two topics dealing with my generator, 1) the remote start switch stopped working and 2) when running on the generator only one A/C would run at a time. My coach has three remote Start/stop switches for the generator and A/C's located on the dash, in the kitchen and bedroom. Both problems were fixed by replacing a part called a Monoplex Gen-Set 2 controller, made by Intellitec and purchased through an outfit named Master Techs. (800-587-4451)

When you read the manual (http://www.intellitec.com/PDF/5300192.100.pdf) it talks about how the unit allows the Gen-Set to be started and stopped by remote switches controlling Onan, Kohler, Generac or Honda generators. It apparently also sends the Gen-Set run signal to the EMU 2.

The Gen-Set 2 has a total of 8 contacts. To complicate things, I found that splices in two wires in the harness / plug that connects to the Gen-Set 2 had broken at a splice joint. Naturally the wires leading from the plug were different colors than the ones in the harness. Continuity checks showed one of wires in the harness ran to a hot lead in the receptacle that my dash mounted Start/Stop switch plugs into and the other wire ran to the dash mounted switch that connects the house batteries to the starting circuit when the main batteries are discharged. I suspect the Gen-Set 2 performs other functions but I don't know what they are. Maybe someone can add that bit of onfo.

The Energy Management Unit 2 (EMU 2 ) (http://www.intellitec.com/PDF/5300221.100.pdf) has a trouble shooting section. It said that if both A/C's won't run with the generator running then the Gen-Set running signal is not coming to the EMU 2. I did the voltage check and sure enough it read "zero".

I emailed Intellitec and one of their field service guys said he suspected the Monoplex Gen-Set 2 controller had failed. He sent me the link for the manual and instructions on how to order the part.

I put the part in this afternoon and after figuring out which wires to re-splice where, I am happy to report that all my remote start/stop switches work for the generator and front & rear A/C's. And, both A/C's run when the generator is on.

My thanks to all of you for the suggestions and to Michael B. at Intellitec.

Jack
__________________
Jack

2006 National RV Surf Side
Jack Barbic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2006, 01:10 PM   #13
Community Moderator
 
"007"'s Avatar


 
Nor'easters Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
iRV2 No Limits Club
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 26,804
Jack THANKS for sharing your problem and your final fix for us AND also welcome to IRV2.
Enjoy the forums and visit them all with your questions and advise. "007"
__________________

__________________
98KSCA, 99MACA, 03 KSCA-3740- 8.1 Chev-- ALLISON Trans, now in good hands
VISIT the NEWMAR QUICK TIPS & EASYMODS 1 & 2
QUICK TIPS # 3
RV SYSTEMS & APPLIANCES & RECALLS --- TECH INFORMATION
"007" is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Generator Question Rnicfingrp Newmar Owner's Forum 4 05-29-2008 12:29 PM
generator question Bob N Deb MH-General Discussions & Problems 4 04-16-2008 02:23 PM
AC Generator Question Jackm Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 7 02-17-2008 10:54 PM
Generator Question Amandaw Monaco Owner's Forum 4 08-15-2007 05:42 PM
generator question Mick9064 Boondocking 22 05-17-2005 04:24 PM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:10 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.