Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > MH-General Discussions & Problems
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 03-29-2014, 12:48 PM   #1
Member
 
HethaBeth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 36
Generator running but no power to outlet plugs

Hi all I was wondering if anyone had an idea on how I can fix this. I have an Onan micro quiet generator 4000 in my 2008 gulf stream express. I push the button to turn it on and it kicks on like a charm. My problem is that none of the outlets work.
__________________

__________________
HethaBeth is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 03-29-2014, 01:04 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Palisade CO
Posts: 3,564
Do you an have automatic transfer switch? Some RVs don't and you have to plug the power cord into a receptacle in the service compartment before you start the generator. If you have one it may not be working. There is also a breaker on the generator that may be tripped. You have to cycle it off and then on to reset it.
__________________

__________________
Clay WA5NMR - Ex Snowbird - 1 year, Ex Full timer for 11 years - 2004 Winnebago Sightseer 35N Workhorse chassis. Honda Accord toad.
Clay L is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2014, 01:22 PM   #3
Member
 
HethaBeth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 36
Thank you
__________________
HethaBeth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2014, 03:08 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 150
Clay L has all that correct.

But you did not say if they use to work. Do things like the AC or the microwave work? If it is just dead outlets, look for a GFI in one of the outlets. Could be anyone of them in the coach, likely the bath, or galley. GFI's have a test and reset button. They also get old and fail, and need to be replaced.
__________________
Dave and Dolly
1998, 36' Foretravel, U295, rare mid door
2001 Jeep Grand Cherokee
sailwing2003 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2014, 03:49 PM   #5
Member
 
HethaBeth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 36
I just bought the coach from a dealership. So I will check the GFI plugs. I don't know how to cycle the generator. I need to do some more research as the dealership didn't give me any manuals with the coach. I do know that If I am not plugged into shore power then I plug into a box that is wired to the generator.
__________________
HethaBeth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2014, 04:34 PM   #6
Senior Member


 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 1,495
Quote:
Originally Posted by HethaBeth View Post
I just bought the coach from a dealership. So I will check the GFI plugs. I don't know how to cycle the generator. I need to do some more research as the dealership didn't give me any manuals with the coach. I do know that If I am not plugged into shore power then I plug into a box that is wired to the generator.
Do not understand "cycle the generator", a previous poster suggested you "cycle the gen breaker". (turn it on and off) Sometimes breakers appear to be on but are not.

You said you needed to plug the gen in manually when you unplug the shore power. This would imply you do not have a transfer switch. Can you measure voltage at the gen plug in receptical? The one you plug the shore plug into.

You said NO power was in all the plugs. Hmmm would you think ALL plugs would be GFCI protected? The microwave will be connected by an AC Plug. I suspect it is not on a GFCI circuit.
__________________
Libero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2014, 07:37 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
bobmac's Avatar
 
Winnebago Owners Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Southern Ontario
Posts: 922
Did you check the circuit breaker on the generator control panel - on the generator itself ? You should also check the main breaker on your electrical panel. When checking breakers, you should always turn it off and then back on as others suggested.
__________________
Bob
09 Journey 39Z
Southern Ontario
bobmac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2014, 11:08 AM   #8
Member
 
HethaBeth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 36
Ok now you all will get a laugh on me.But I am new to all this and this is how I learn. Thank for all the help. It really does help me to learn.

So I went out to the motorhome. I turned the generator on from outside, went back in tried to reset the GFI plug, still no juice. I had already checked the inside breakers so I knew that wasn't it. So I shut the generator off from inside. I went back outside, checked the oil on the generator (how silly, right) it's clear by the way lol, I touched a fuse thingamajigy and then noticed a black switch on the black casing. I pulled it forward and then went inside to turn the generator on from inside and all of a sudden the carbon monoxide detector beep followed by the microwave! I am tickled pink that it was just a switch and not a mouse and or electrical issue.
__________________
HethaBeth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2014, 03:30 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
scenic route's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 1,767
Good job...this is how we learn how our RVs work.
__________________
Jan and Bob

RIP 'Squeaky'
scenic route is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2014, 01:17 AM   #10
Senior Member
 
SuperGewl's Avatar
 
Winnebago Owners Club
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Oregon
Posts: 1,782
If you MH is a Winnebago then go to their site, owners section and download the manuals for your MH if they are available. Did you check every cabinet for the Owners bag of manuals? Most people don't care to take them because they only do you any good for that MH.
__________________

__________________
Retired Navy Submariner
2014 Itasca Sunstar 35F; 5 Star tuned; 2014 Jeep Cherokee TrailHawk
SuperGewl is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
power, generator



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
No power to coach unless RV is running dvleemin Class A Motorhome Discussions 9 03-27-2014 08:33 PM
Issue with no power @ outlets :( ShineGinny Travel Trailer Discussion 23 01-19-2014 10:24 PM
No DC power to motorhome glow4004 Monaco Owner's Forum 12 12-02-2013 10:22 AM
No power to Refrigerator pink303 RV Systems & Appliances 3 09-08-2013 02:52 PM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:38 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.