Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > MH-General Discussions & Problems
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 07-01-2011, 05:18 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 4
Generator runs but has no output to MH

I have a 1998 Allegro with a 4K Emerald Plus generator that runs fine but has no AC voltage out put. I have been told it is the Transfer Relay Switch. Does anyone know where I can find this switch and the approximate cost?

If you have not camped on St. George Island, FL you have missed a treat. Unspoiled and non-commercialized pristine beaches. This will be a great get-away. Stay at the state park located on the east end of the island for about $25 per night. Water and electric included.
Duracell11
__________________

__________________
duracell11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 07-01-2011, 05:27 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
RJay's Avatar
 
Newmar Owners Club
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 4,589
Hi Larry,
The automatic transfer switch is about a 6 x 6 inch box usually located in the outside power bay. The shore cable is wired into it so just trace it out.
__________________

__________________
2007 Newmar DSDP 4023
Discovery is seeing what everyone else has seen and thinking what no one else has thought.
If you want to see what man made go East; if you want to see what God made go West.
RJay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2011, 05:41 PM   #3
Moderator Emeritus
 
RickO's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Litchfield Park, Arizona
Posts: 10,530
Welcome to the forum! I'm sure you've already checked this but just in case, there's probably a switch of some sort on the generator which will pass or cut AC to the coach. Don't ask me how I discovered this on mine.

Good luck...

Rick
__________________
Rick, Nancy, Peanut & Lola our Westie Dogs & Bailey the Sheltie.

2007 Itasca Ellipse 40FD
RickO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2011, 09:55 AM   #4
Moderator Emeritus
 
Gary RVRoamer's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Silver Springs, FL. USA
Posts: 18,096
First thing to check is the circuit breakers on the generator itself. If they are tripped, it runs but no power. Second place is the transfer switch, which is located where the shore cord and generator wires come together. May be on the back of the laod center (breaker panel) on your Allegro. Other place is where the shore cord attaches to the coach - a black box as RJay described.
__________________
Gary Brinck
Former owner of 2004 American Tradition
Home is in the Ocala Nat'l Forest near Ocala, FL
Summers in Black Mountain, NC
Gary RVRoamer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2011, 11:54 AM   #5
Moderator Emeritus
 
Mike Canter's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Freeport, ME
Posts: 4,707
And if all is OK then your brushes on the generator brush block have stuck and need to be unstuck. That is common.
__________________
Mike Canter
"Gunner" USN Retired, Airdale
2004 Monaco Signature 44' Conquest. Detroit 60
Mike Canter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2011, 01:37 PM   #6
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by duracell11 View Post
I have a 1998 Allegro with a 4K Emerald Plus generator that runs fine but has no AC voltage out put. I have been told it is the Transfer Relay Switch. Does anyone know where I can find this switch and the approximate cost?

If you have not camped on St. George Island, FL you have missed a treat. Unspoiled and non-commercialized pristine beaches. This will be a great get-away. Stay at the state park located on the east end of the island for about $25 per night. Water and electric included.
Duracell11
I've got the generator runs but no a/c voltage output to appliances. It was not the transfer relay switch. It seems that Tiffin (allegro) built an in-line breaker which is supposed to automatically reset after a power overload. The in-line breaker was bad and did not reset itself. I traced the (shore power) line from the transfer junction box and found the breaker after becoming a contortionist. An electrician friend advised me to bypass this breaker and connect directly to the main breaker panel which is what did. Everything works great now.
Duracell
__________________
duracell11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2011, 04:45 PM   #7
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 15
also the people above saying flip the switch is proper but power to microwave still takes 45 sec or so what i don;t know is how many hours you should service your genny like 1/5 yrs or 100 hrs?
__________________
rvsneeby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2011, 08:25 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
ctpres's Avatar


 
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Chasing 70 degrees in lower 48
Posts: 1,891
You really need to find a copy of the gen manual and read. Our man. different mfg., says that you need to hold start switch seveal seconds to "flash" the coil. I suspect other gen's may have eqyually unique features.
__________________

__________________
ctpres is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
generator



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Inverter low output dak605 Class A Motorhome Discussions 4 06-19-2011 01:40 PM
Cummins Announces High Output 6.7L Turbo Diesel DriVer RV Industry Press 0 02-11-2011 08:10 AM
Inverter high output at start UltraKen RV Systems & Appliances 2 11-18-2010 06:43 PM
Can the alternator output be adjusted? bbhereiam Freightliner Motorhome Chassis Forum 6 09-30-2010 05:46 PM
Generac no output. firemanmn RV Systems & Appliances 12 07-12-2010 11:04 PM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:44 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.