Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > MH-General Discussions & Problems
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 02-11-2006, 08:11 AM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Fontana Ca
Posts: 4
I have an RV with an onboard Generac generator. The Air Conditioner works just fine when plugged into AC, but when I try to use Air Cond with generator, the 30amp breaker trips. No other problems with generator. Could it be a bad breaker? BTW yes I am in So. CA and might need the AC next weekend.
__________________

__________________
SandcamperCA350 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 02-11-2006, 08:11 AM   #2
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Fontana Ca
Posts: 4
I have an RV with an onboard Generac generator. The Air Conditioner works just fine when plugged into AC, but when I try to use Air Cond with generator, the 30amp breaker trips. No other problems with generator. Could it be a bad breaker? BTW yes I am in So. CA and might need the AC next weekend.
__________________

__________________
SandcamperCA350 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2006, 09:36 AM   #3
Community Moderator
 
"007"'s Avatar


 
Nor'easters Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
iRV2 No Limits Club
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 26,726
SandcamperCA350,Welcome to irv2. We are expecting cold and snow no camping yet. You have had alot of rain it could be your switch on Gen has some dampness that needs to be checked causing it to trip. If you post in your sig-profile your coach info and year etc. etc, we could better help you. "007"
__________________
98KSCA, 99MACA, 03 KSCA-3740- 8.1 Chev-- ALLISON Trans, now in good hands
VISIT the NEWMAR QUICK TIPS & EASYMODS 1 & 2
QUICK TIPS # 3
RV SYSTEMS & APPLIANCES & RECALLS --- TECH INFORMATION
"007" is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2006, 01:33 AM   #4
Community Moderator
 
RV Wizard's Avatar


 
Country Coach Owners Club
Appalachian Campers
Gulf Streamers Club
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Chattanooga, Tn.
Posts: 12,062
SandcamperCA350, please do give us more info. What size is the generator? Do you have more than one air conditioner? Are they both on at the same time? What else do you have on when the breaker trips. Does it trip immediately? Are you skilled at electrical troubleshooting enough not to injure yourself?
__________________
Mike, RVIA & RVSA Certified Master RV Technician
Amy, Dr. Assistant - Roxie & Mei Ling, four legs each
2000 Gulf Stream Scenic Cruiser 450 hp & 1330# torque
06 Saturn Vue, 06 Chevy Z71 4x4 & 2014 Corvette Z51 M7
RV Wizard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2006, 05:51 AM   #5
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Centennial, Colorado
Posts: 4
A suggestion for all ac users; When using ac, wait a few minutes before you turn the knob to cool. Let the ac just blow air. There will be less current surge and lessens chance of blowing breaker. Just better for your system. Also, had a mh where the breakers had been wired wrong. 20amp wire on the 30 amp brkr and 30amp on the 20amp brkr. Worked fine after swap.
__________________
RWBJR93 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
1995 Fleetmaster Air Cond Problem woodlake55 MH-General Discussions & Problems 5 02-12-2009 03:50 AM
Air cond duct problem... jtharley Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 7 06-16-2007 09:13 AM
rear air cond. not working JOHN FRINGS MH-General Discussions & Problems 6 11-19-2006 05:28 AM
Air Cond and other Fuse locations Matt-n-Dede Freightliner Motorhome Chassis Forum 11 05-01-2006 03:40 AM
Generac trips breaker when Air Cond is used SandcamperCA350 5th Wheel Discussion 2 02-11-2006 12:30 PM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:27 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.