Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > MH-General Discussions & Problems
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 03-31-2010, 03:10 AM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 9
GFI problem, won't reset

I have a GFI outlet by sink that won't reset. I have replaced it, when that didn't work I replaced the breaker. Then the outlets worked but only until I turned on the gen. Now the breaker isn't popped and I can't reset the GFI. Any suggestions? This is in a 2005 Fleetwood Discovery. This problem affects the outlet in by the sink in bedroom, outlet in bay below bedroom and the central vac.
__________________

__________________
xqwzit is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 03-31-2010, 04:51 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 128
Do you have power to the outlet? A GFCI won't reset unless power is present at the outlet.

Here is a link to a GFCI troubleshhooting guide

Can't Reset a GFCI Outlet?
__________________

__________________
Dave and Derita
2007 Winnebago Adventurer 38J - 2014 Honda CR-V in tow- Banks PowerPack
DavidC1225 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2010, 07:30 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 1,060
I had a gfi that would trip. Found the feed wire for the slide would pinch when slid in.Since it only fed the receptical under table which we didn.t use I disconnected the wire .That way everything else is working.
BOB
__________________
bldrbob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2010, 07:54 AM   #4
Registered User
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Varies Depending on The Weather
Posts: 8,517
Just a word of caution, some GFI outlets, not breakers, are required to be "matched" to the type of inverter/converter being used in the coach. There should be documentation as to what type of GFI outlets will work with your inverter. Otherwise, just do a Google to find out more information. I have read this on various forums that I belong to.

This caution does not pertain to GFI breakers. Totally different animal. My coach does not use GFI outlets so I don't have to worry about matching them.

Dr4Film ----- Richard.
__________________
Dr4Film is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2010, 08:02 AM   #5
Administrator in Memoriam
 
Hitchhiker's Avatar


 
Appalachian Campers
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Buladean, NC
Posts: 8,127
Make sure all the lugs in the breaker panel box are tight. Pay especially close attention to the grounds.
__________________
'11 GMC Acadia SLT AWD
'11 GMC Sierra 1500 4x4 Extended Cab
Hitchhiker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2011, 12:14 AM   #6
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 9
This GFI outlet only works now when the gen set is running or I'm hooked into shore power. It has no power while just using the inverter/batteries, is this normal?
__________________
xqwzit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2011, 12:44 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
mfire1339's Avatar


 
Monaco Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Glendora Ca.
Posts: 1,342
The inverter may not connect to that circuit.

Mike
__________________
2004 Monaco Monarch
Blueox, SMI, 1990 Wrangler YJ
mfire1339 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2011, 07:04 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
H. Miller's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Texas Boomers Club
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 2,523
Quote:
Originally Posted by xqwzit View Post
This GFI outlet only works now when the gen set is running or I'm hooked into shore power. It has no power while just using the inverter/batteries, is this normal?
Yes, most inverters only connect to "the more important" (my terminology) circuits.
__________________
Hal & Ginny Miller '04 Beaver Santiam PRT40
'04 Saturn Vue - US Gear Brake - Blue Ox tow
4"girls" (3 Irish Setters - 1 Retriever) - RIP Annie
H. Miller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2011, 02:04 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
HeapBigEngin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 636
Your situation is identical to the one I experienced some time after purchasing our Fleetwood Revolution DP. Like you, I even replaced one of the GFI outlets. I then discovered that only so many outlets are powered by the inverter.....it is intentionaly designed that way so that the house batteries don't discharge too rapidly by powering unnecessary appliances, lights, etc. while on inverter power. My owner's manual makes a very vague reference to this situation. It just seems that this is someting some of us that buy resale units have to "discover" for ourselves. Sigh. I do read about this frequently on this forum. Glad to hear you sorted it out. And now you have a new GFI to boot....just like me! Take care!!
__________________
HeapBigEngin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2011, 11:27 PM   #10
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 9
Thanks everyone for the great input.
__________________
xqwzit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2011, 07:27 AM   #11
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 452
One other thought that I did not see mentioned. Often this can be caused by one of the down stream outlets having moisture in them (usually one of the outlets in the 'outside' compartments). Might want to remove the covers and make sure that they are dry inside if the problem persists.

Bob
__________________
2006 Fleetwood Bounder 35E
Bob and Inga is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2011, 11:02 AM   #12
Senior Member
 
wa8yxm's Avatar
 
Damon Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 22,787
To get a GFCI to reset three things have to be present.

One, of course, is a push on the reset button (But you knew that)

The second is power TO the back of the outlet.. No power, no reset

The third is removal of the problem.

In many coaches that outlet will daisy chain to the patio outlet and water can get inside the patio outlet and short it out, tripping the GFCI.
__________________

__________________
Home is where I park it!
wa8yxm is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hazard Flasher Problem Ms. Jean Thor Industries Owner's Forum 17 08-28-2014 05:54 PM
97 madp electrical problem Glen M Newmar Owner's Forum 5 09-20-2008 12:08 PM
A Rather Odd A/C Problem ( a bit long) gasbag MH-General Discussions & Problems 7 10-16-2007 11:10 AM
Brake problem caused by Florida atmosphere Stockwill Workhorse and Chevrolet Chassis Motorhome Forum 13 09-17-2006 07:07 AM
Where is the reset button? Lampooner Fleetwood Products Owner's Forum 7 08-08-2005 02:26 AM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:40 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.