Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > MH-General Discussions & Problems
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 10-02-2007, 09:13 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Littleton Colorado
Posts: 42
Hey there
I am working on an issue with my bigfoot 29sl. The thermostat is a "duo-therm" (3109228.001) I went to turn on the gas heat recently, via the thermostat, and the "furnace", which is what the duo-therm calls the gas heater, doesn't show up in the list anymore.

The only things that do show up are the AC, Fan (part of the AC) and the heat strip, which is really the AC unit's electric heater.

I removed the controller, I reset it, and it still doesn't show up.

There is Gas in the tank (full), the stove works fine.

I checked the furnace, and the fuse at the furnace is set, and the switch is ON.

Any thoughts?

I am preparing to bring it in for service, so I am on the last straw with this.

Thanks!

Bill
__________________

__________________
The Killens

2004 BigFoot 29SL
Bill Killen is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 10-02-2007, 09:13 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Littleton Colorado
Posts: 42
Hey there
I am working on an issue with my bigfoot 29sl. The thermostat is a "duo-therm" (3109228.001) I went to turn on the gas heat recently, via the thermostat, and the "furnace", which is what the duo-therm calls the gas heater, doesn't show up in the list anymore.

The only things that do show up are the AC, Fan (part of the AC) and the heat strip, which is really the AC unit's electric heater.

I removed the controller, I reset it, and it still doesn't show up.

There is Gas in the tank (full), the stove works fine.

I checked the furnace, and the fuse at the furnace is set, and the switch is ON.

Any thoughts?

I am preparing to bring it in for service, so I am on the last straw with this.

Thanks!

Bill
__________________

__________________
The Killens

2004 BigFoot 29SL
Bill Killen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2007, 02:12 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 43
Hi Bill,

When you say "doesn't show up in the list anymore", it sounds like you have a LCD display that indicates the sources to be controlled. Perhaps the control cable has worked loose? If you look at the back of the thermo, you might see several small 4-8 wire connections that go into a circuit board. See if one says furnace then check that wire for connection at both ends. Hope it helps,

Aux-Man Out.
__________________
aux_man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2007, 01:57 AM   #4
Community Moderator
 
RV Wizard's Avatar


 
Country Coach Owners Club
Appalachian Campers
Gulf Streamers Club
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Chattanooga, Tn.
Posts: 12,062
Bill, have you by chance had anyone work on the roof air conditioner or even replace it? THere are dip switches on the control board of the unit on the roof that are set up upon install to many possible configurations. If someone replaced the roof unit, they may not have set the switches right. If someone was working on the unit may have bumped a switch to cause this problem. Which method did you "reset" the thermostat? Also for obtaining technical info, the model number of the roof unit will help. THanks
__________________
Mike, RVIA & RVSA Certified Master RV Technician
Amy, Dr. Assistant - Roxie & Mei Ling, four legs each
2000 Gulf Stream Scenic Cruiser 450 hp & 1330# torque
06 Saturn Vue, 06 Chevy Z71 4x4 & 2014 Corvette Z51 M7
RV Wizard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2007, 06:58 AM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Littleton Colorado
Posts: 42
thanks folks. the rig is and was in storage, I pulled it out and it no longer works the same.

I will be driving over that way and I will get the model number of the roof unit, as well as the furnace for reference.

I did pop the thermostat off the wall and I plugged it back in.

you are correct, there is an LCD display. I like the direction that you are going on RVWiz... Even though no one worked on it, I will make sure that the switches are still in the right shape. I was wondering where the controls for the LCD were to choose what would be displayed.. wouldn't that be cool if that was all it was.. then I would have to figure out the 'how' part. one step at a time, Bill...

Thanks folks, more soon

bk
__________________
The Killens

2004 BigFoot 29SL
Bill Killen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2007, 04:43 AM   #6
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 2
Bill,

In addition to the DIP Switch in the air conditioner, there are other things to check.
The first and easiest is to reset your thermostat. You can do that by turning the slide switch to OFF. Hold the top and bottom button down and move the slide switch to NO. You should see FF on the display.
The next thing to check is on the curb side of the air conditioner is a connector that contains 2 Blue wires. One of them should have 12 vdc on it. These come from the furnace.
The other possibility is that the control board in the air conditioner has become defective.
Good Luck.
__________________
LostAlot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2007, 04:44 AM   #7
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 2
Got a typo. Move the slide switch to ON not NO.
__________________

__________________
LostAlot is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Gas heater not working DaveyD1 Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 8 03-10-2008 03:29 PM
Gas Heater Sail Switch bruceh RV Systems & Appliances 14 12-09-2007 12:03 PM
Water Heater issues pacamper Thor Industries Owner's Forum 3 11-28-2007 03:50 PM
Gas Heater Damper noise pilot81 Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 9 11-22-2006 10:34 AM
Gas Heater Sail Switch Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 14 12-31-1969 07:00 PM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:17 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.