Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > MH-General Discussions & Problems
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 04-02-2013, 07:42 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 10
Help! Genny running; AC won't!

Quick Question! I turn on my Generator in my RV and my AC is don't work! any one know why! What I have to check!? Please Help!
__________________

__________________
JERRY.VAGOZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 04-02-2013, 07:45 PM   #2
Community Administrator
 
Clifftall's Avatar


 
Fleetwood Owners Club
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 29,110
There are circuit breakers on the generator. Be sure their on is the first thing to check.
__________________

__________________


Cliff,Tallulah and Buddy ( 1999-2012 )
Clifftall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2013, 07:45 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Randy blase's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 213
Does it work when u plug in to shore power if so the check the breaker on the gen
__________________
Randy blase is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2013, 07:49 PM   #4
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Clifftall View Post
There are circuit breakers on the generator. Be sure their on is the first thing to check.
I ckck in the Generator and the switch is on!
__________________
JERRY.VAGOZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2013, 07:51 PM   #5
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Randy blase View Post
Does it work when u plug in to shore power if so the check the breaker on the gen
You sayed! The RV had a little box with a extencion cord! That has to be conected in the jack in side to the little box!?
__________________
JERRY.VAGOZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2013, 07:02 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
Murf2u's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Near Toronto, Canada
Posts: 1,842
I'm having a serious problem understanding your comment, but, I think you're referring to the power cord.

If your motorhome is like mine you have an outlet inside the compartment where your power cord is. That outlet is powered by your generator. In order to get power into the Motorhome from the generator the power cord must be plugged into that outlet.
__________________
Ted 'n' Laurie, plus Jackson (aka Deputy Dog, the Parson Russell Terrier 'fur kid') and, Rylie (who crossed the Rainbow Bridge June 14, 2012).
Murf2u is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2013, 07:20 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Wyoming
Posts: 733
Probably would be helpful to know what brand RV you have.

Some generators plug in. Some have relays that kick in after the generator is running. When I start my generator it takes couple of minutes for the relay to kick in and the power to change over from shore power to generator power.
__________________
wyorancher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2013, 11:01 AM   #8
Community Moderator
 
JMonroe's Avatar


 
Newmar Owners Club
Spartan Chassis
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Deer Creek RV and Golf Resort, Davenport FL
Posts: 6,853
Jerry, those that show their rig type in their signitures are not just doing it to brag, it helps answer questions like these.

I checked your profile and see you have an '86 Minnie Winnie. While I don't have any direct experience with that make or model, my guess is for that year and model you do have to plug a cord, possibly your shore cord, into the generator directly. If it's the shorecord you should have a recepticle on or next to the genny to accept it.
__________________

__________________
Jay & Peggy Monroe with Dolly
Can't take it with you - don't plan on leaving any behind
2016 Newmar London Aire 4553, Spartan chassis
2017 GMC Acadia toad
JMonroe is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Water Pump Running (almost) Continuously Brghrt4 MH-General Discussions & Problems 19 12-21-2010 09:52 PM
Everything running off chassis batteries Dyno Bill RV Systems & Appliances 5 08-08-2010 08:49 PM
propane question and genny problem JDKing MH-General Discussions & Problems 8 07-07-2010 02:07 PM
Running genny while driving swamphog RV Systems & Appliances 26 07-01-2010 05:56 AM
Running the generator while on shore power? Magumba Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 9 01-14-2010 09:03 PM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:21 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.