Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > MH-General Discussions & Problems
Click Here to Login
Register FilesVendors Registry Blogs FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 11-16-2007, 03:00 AM   #1

Workhorse Chassis Owner
I am in the process of upgrading my two TV's and had the biggest surprise last weekend when I fired up the one in the bedroom. The football game I had on the TV was in HI-DEF with the "ole" Winegard, crank up antenna-- I couldn't believe it . I called everyone I could find around the house to confirm my observation. Obvisously, I'm a novice with this new technology and don't completely understand all of it.

I purchased a Westinghouse 26" LCD (model SK-26H590D), because it has a built in DVD (front loading), and installed it. I'm pretty good with carpentry and metal working. I now understand a little more about HI DEF TV. I was confused about "digital", "analog", and "Hi DEF". Here is what I sorted out-- Please don't pick on me if I'm not "technically correct":
1- By February 2009, all TV stations are required to transmit in a digital format. Analog will be gone as most of us know it since the days of "Milton Berle". An additional desk top unit will be required to convert the digital signal to operate "old TV's".
2- Stations can "simutantously" broadcast up to four signals (four different programs) on one channel, ie: Channel 5.1, 5.2, 5.3 and 5.4 with this digital format.