Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > MH-General Discussions & Problems
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 03-04-2007, 05:26 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Cambria, Ca.
Posts: 241
Wondering if the 50 amp Autoformer will work the same when plugged in to a 30 amp service. I have a chance to get a used one cheap but many parks only have 30 amp and since my rig is 50 amp, will it work?
__________________

__________________
Craig Heyne & Co-Pilot/Navigator Sharon. 2007 Voyage 33V W20. Brazel's Ultra Power Permormance kit. CAI, Reprogramming, plug wires, Steer-Safe, Suzuki Grand Vitara toad, two spoiled cats and a GPS set to infinity.
Craig H is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 03-04-2007, 05:26 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Cambria, Ca.
Posts: 241
Wondering if the 50 amp Autoformer will work the same when plugged in to a 30 amp service. I have a chance to get a used one cheap but many parks only have 30 amp and since my rig is 50 amp, will it work?
__________________

__________________
Craig Heyne & Co-Pilot/Navigator Sharon. 2007 Voyage 33V W20. Brazel's Ultra Power Permormance kit. CAI, Reprogramming, plug wires, Steer-Safe, Suzuki Grand Vitara toad, two spoiled cats and a GPS set to infinity.
Craig H is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2007, 03:56 AM   #3
Moderator Emeritus
 
Gary RVRoamer's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Silver Springs, FL. USA
Posts: 18,097
Yes it will. Each of the two "hot" wires in 50A service are boosted by the Autoformer and there are separate indicator lights for each hot wire. When you use a 30A adapter on your 50A plug, both of the hots of the 50A are fed from the single hot present on a 30A power source, so each wire is still hot and the Autoformer functions normally. You have less overall amps available, but everything still gets the same voltage.
__________________
Gary Brinck
Former owner of 2004 American Tradition
Home is in the Ocala Nat'l Forest near Ocala, FL
Summers in Black Mountain, NC
Gary RVRoamer is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2007, 07:40 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Cambria, Ca.
Posts: 241
Thanks roamer, that's a big help.
__________________
Craig Heyne & Co-Pilot/Navigator Sharon. 2007 Voyage 33V W20. Brazel's Ultra Power Permormance kit. CAI, Reprogramming, plug wires, Steer-Safe, Suzuki Grand Vitara toad, two spoiled cats and a GPS set to infinity.
Craig H is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hughes Autoformer & Mexico Greyhound RV Systems & Appliances 3 01-05-2009 04:48 AM
50 amp autoformer corsa RV Systems & Appliances 3 05-05-2008 03:42 AM
New Hughes Autoformer? AKBrick RV Systems & Appliances 5 01-25-2008 07:12 PM
Hughes Autoformer, 30 or 50 Amp??? Logthumper RV Systems & Appliances 5 08-07-2006 12:27 AM
Hughes Autoformer >>>RV YACKMO<<< Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 6 09-28-2005 05:13 AM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:16 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.