Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > MH-General Discussions & Problems
Click Here to Login
Register FilesVendors Registry Blogs FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 05-10-2016, 10:44 AM   #1

Vintage RV Owners Club
I need anew battery plan!!!

I had intended to remove the two deep cycle marine batteries and change to QTY four or six six volt golf cart batteries ( In the craziness of buying these things it is some times cheaper to buy a lot of six than a lot of four).
I had some pictures that I studied over the winter where my batteries are located in front of the rad and had decided it would be doable. However now that the warm weather is here and I have done a physical look the frame I had intended to mount too is no where near strong enough to take 360 pounds of batteries going up an down the road. and I had missed the fact that the the batteries would also shadow the trans cooler (not good).
So now I am on the hunt for an alternate plan and wondering where others have installed their battery banks?
I cannot sacrifice the storage compartments and again the weight would be an issue. Venting would also be an issue in the compartments.
Has any one frame mounted the batteries under the coach?
Or maybe I should just look for AGM or other batteries that will fit where the originals are.
I am open to suggestions and Ideas.
We plan to boondock a lot next year and I have two 170 watt solar panels and charger installed.
Mr.Geritol is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!