Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > MH-General Discussions & Problems
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 07-28-2013, 10:56 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
fxdave's Avatar
 
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: jacksonville fl
Posts: 400
Send a message via Skype™ to fxdave
installing 50 amp service

going to install a 50 amp service at the house the run is about 140 ft ,what size wire would be adequate ive been told 8 will do the trick any body else done it this distance ?
__________________

__________________
97 Holiday Rambler Endeavor 275 Cat powered
fxdave is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 07-28-2013, 11:07 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
kewag's Avatar


 
Tiffin Owners Club
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 260
Mine is 95 feet and required #6 copper wire. So 140 feet #6 for sure. Just my recomendation from research.
__________________

__________________
Karl and Janet
Tiffin Zephyr 45QDZ
Owens-Classic Trailer, with elevator and air ride
kewag is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2013, 11:37 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Dunner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Phx, Arid~zona
Posts: 11,106
Mine was ~80' and I used #6/3 with a ground. HD had a remnant that was ~3' longer than I needed. They had black taped it together and the tape glue was all squishy and got on everything. I mentioned it and they knocked off $10. It had a UV protected covering.
__________________
2004 32' National Sea Breeze 1311 Class A on a F-53 Chassis, CHF, TST TPMS, 5Star Tune.
If Dunner (RVM23) can't fix it, it ain't broke!
Cheap Handling Fix Poll. Click Here to vote?
Dunner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2013, 11:41 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
sdennislee's Avatar


 
Monaco Owners Club
Winnebago Owners Club
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 6,404
Close to 100' for mine, I used #6
__________________
US Navy Vet, Liberty Tree Member of Oath Keepers, NRA & VFW Life Member, Alaska EMT.
2009 Safari Cheetah 40 SKQ
2009 Winnebago Chalet 231CR
sdennislee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2013, 11:44 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
vsheetz's Avatar


 
Fleetwood Owners Club
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: SoCal
Posts: 11,807
yup, #6
__________________
Vince and Susan
2011 Tiffin Phaeton 40QTH (Cummins ISC/Freightliner)
Flat towing a modified 2005 Jeep (Rubicon Wrangler)
Previously a 2002 Fleetwood Pace Arrow 37A and a 1995 Safari Trek 2830.
vsheetz is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2013, 11:50 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
sdennislee's Avatar


 
Monaco Owners Club
Winnebago Owners Club
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 6,404
Use the calculator at the bottom of this page American Wire Gauge table and AWG Electrical Current Load Limits with skin depth frequencies and wire strength
__________________
US Navy Vet, Liberty Tree Member of Oath Keepers, NRA & VFW Life Member, Alaska EMT.
2009 Safari Cheetah 40 SKQ
2009 Winnebago Chalet 231CR
sdennislee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2013, 03:23 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
DAN L's Avatar
 
Winnebago Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 2,898
Quote:
Originally Posted by fxdave View Post
going to install a 50 amp service at the house the run is about 140 ft ,what size wire would be adequate ive been told 8 will do the trick any body else done it this distance ?
here is another wire size calculator.

Wire Size Calculator
__________________
01 WINNEBAGO 35U W20.8.1L SW Wa, Hi. Good Sam, SKP. AMSOIL fluids. BANKS ecm program. SCAN GAUGE II w/ Ally temp. 2 LIFELINE GPL-6CT AGM Batts on their sides. TST tptts. K&N panel air filter. AERO mufflers. TAYLOR plug wires. ULTRA POWER track bar. KONI fsd shocks, toad '14 smart car
DAN L is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2013, 04:40 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
Shellback1's Avatar


 
Damon Owners Club
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Nashua, NH
Posts: 721
Send a message via AIM to Shellback1
Two links that may help.

Click here: Voltage Drop Calculator

Click here: Wire Size Calculator
__________________
2006 Damon Daybreak 3274 35' Ford F53 V-10
2006 Ion Retired Navy, FAA and PASS Union VP
Shellback1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2013, 07:20 AM   #9
Senior Member
 
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: st.charles mo.
Posts: 1,194
Going that far I would go with #6 and if you plan on putting in a subpanel you might want to go with #4 3 wire with a ground.
__________________
speed racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2013, 07:50 AM   #10
Senior Member
 
jerichorick's Avatar
 
Winnebago Owners Club
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Full-timer/volunteer w/SOWERS
Posts: 3,394
The consensus is in. Wire Size Calculator agrees. #6 CU or #4 AL. I have a shorter run in my house but the convenience of the 50A nearby is great.
__________________
Rick & Melissa Young & Dawson, 2011 Itasca Meridian 40U, Freightliner XCL, Cummins ISL 380HP/DEF, Allison 3000 MH, 2014 Honda CR-V, SMI AF1, Blue Ox tow equip., TST 507 TPMS, TruCenter steering control, Hughes auto transformer.
Servants On Wheels Ever Ready. Best job we ever paid to do . (full time volunteers)
jerichorick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2013, 08:08 AM   #11
Community Moderator
 
"007"'s Avatar


 
Nor'easters Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
iRV2 No Limits Club
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 26,804
Once you have wire size figured out you need this information to keep the coach safe from the wrong voltages entering it.
__________________
98KSCA, 99MACA, 03 KSCA-3740- 8.1 Chev-- ALLISON Trans, now in good hands
VISIT the NEWMAR QUICK TIPS & EASYMODS 1 & 2
QUICK TIPS # 3
RV SYSTEMS & APPLIANCES & RECALLS --- TECH INFORMATION
"007" is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2013, 08:08 AM   #12
Registered User
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Varies Depending on The Weather
Posts: 8,517
Quote:
Originally Posted by fxdave View Post

going to install a 50 amp service at the house the run is about 140 ft ,what size wire would be adequate ive been told 8 will do the trick any body else done it this distance ?
Here is a link that is your BEST friend when owning a RV.

RV Electric

Down the page after clicking on 50 amp RV Service you will see a wire size calculator.

Wire Size Calculator

When you input the parameters, it states that you would need #3 gauge for a 140 feet run 50 amp 120 VAC run.

To me that makes sense versus what was suggested in previous posts. My shore cable is #6 gauge and it's only 30 feet long. You are talking 140 feet plus.

Better safe than end up with a burned up RV.

Dr4Film ----- Richard
__________________
Dr4Film is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2013, 08:15 AM   #13
Senior Member
 
wa8yxm's Avatar
 
Damon Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 22,829
Joining the choir on #6 for that long a run.
__________________
wa8yxm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2013, 08:48 AM   #14
Senior Member
 
Qwert66's Avatar
 
Newmar Owners Club
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Michigan
Posts: 762
Send a message via Skype™ to Qwert66
It all comes down to how much actual current you plan to use at 1 time and what voltage drop all your equipment can live with in addition to the actual wire run length. If you are tieing into an existing breaker box or sub panel then that current used elsewhere (at the same time) comes into the calculation as well for its own feed wire size. I would not recommend #8ga copper for 50amps of 120vac at 140' but rather #3 or #4ga copper if you are starting from scratch based on what the existing feed wiring size is. It's easier doing it right the first time vs wishing for more power later.
__________________

__________________
1999 Newmar Mountain Aire MADP 4080, Cummins ISC 8.3L, Allison, Spartan MM IFS, Howard Power Center, Chev Trailblazer LTZ Towed w/ BlueOx rigging, Segway X2.
www.shaw11.com
Qwert66 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
install, service



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:33 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.