Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > MH-General Discussions & Problems
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 06-25-2011, 06:36 PM   #1
Member
 
ALAG321's Avatar
 
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Port St. Lucie, Florida
Posts: 84
Intellipower converter problems???

I have an Intellipower 9100 model PD9180 and I don't think it is charging my batteries. I have tested the AC current input and it is at 114v. I unhooked the battery leads from the output side of the converter and it shows an output of 11.8. According to Intellipower website, output should be 13.6. Is my converter bad?
__________________

__________________
Port St. Lucie, Florida
2002 Gulfstream SunVoyager 37' Triple Slide
ALAG321 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 06-25-2011, 09:07 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
bearaboo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 288
I believe you have to have the battery connected for the converter to function. I would check the converter output with battery connected. Also, how old and what condition is the battery. The converter will only put out a charging voltage on a good battery.
__________________

__________________
bearaboo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2011, 04:53 AM   #3
Member
 
ALAG321's Avatar
 
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Port St. Lucie, Florida
Posts: 84
Batteries are about 18 months old. The only reason I disconnected the wires is because that is what intellipower says to do. With them connected, I get a reading of 10.4, so I suspect the batteries may have an issue. It just cannot figure out why I cant get the 13.6 reading with wires disconnected like the manufacturer says it should read, therefore I am suspicious of the converter.
__________________
Port St. Lucie, Florida
2002 Gulfstream SunVoyager 37' Triple Slide
ALAG321 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2011, 06:44 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
wa8yxm's Avatar
 
Damon Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 22,825
I"m not sure the Intella power needs a battery. I know my TS-2000 (Ham radio very senistive) is not able to tell if the house batteries are connected, but the Intelletec BCC may be hooking the chassis battery in .. Not sure without looking, again, at the diagram.

However that said, Disconnect the battery, charge it up with an auxulary charger and test it.. You might have a shorted cell in the battery.. Yes, even on a "new" one (Had one last me about a week once, that was a LIFETIME warranted starting battery, The replacement lasted several years,, (I'd have to ask my brother how many,, It was his wedding week it failed and I can do the math, alas the wedding failed too, he's on #3 now, I'm still on #1)

But that does sound like shorted cell. The voltage at the battery may never come up.

On the other hand... The battery may not be bad, but since it is the easiest thing to check out.. Do it first. THEN go after the converter

If you get another 9100.. be sure to get the wizard.. He is fantastic at babying your batteries.
__________________
Home is where I park it!
wa8yxm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2011, 08:12 AM   #5
Moderator Emeritus
 
Gary RVRoamer's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Silver Springs, FL. USA
Posts: 18,095
I'm guessing Alag321 is using the procedure described by Progressive here:
Troubleshooting Guide for PD9100 Series Power Converters

The 91xx series does NOT need a battery connected and the cable should be disconnected at the PD 91xx rather than the battetry end (just in case there is a cable problem). If you have at least 110v input and cannot get 13.6dcv output, the converter is bad and needs to be replaced.
__________________
Gary Brinck
Former owner of 2004 American Tradition
Home is in the Ocala Nat'l Forest near Ocala, FL
Summers in Black Mountain, NC
Gary RVRoamer is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2011, 08:31 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
Shadowcatche's Avatar
 
iRV2 No Limits Club
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 1,219
I had a problem with a PD unit and the way I found it was to monitor the voltage at the battery, A VOM is your friend but you should have a way of monitoring state of charge all of the time. When the battery is full you should be getting about 13.1V float from the PD.
__________________
Shadowcatche is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2011, 09:05 PM   #7
Member
 
ALAG321's Avatar
 
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Port St. Lucie, Florida
Posts: 84
I pulled my batteries out of the coach and took them to an Autozone to be tested. Although I'm not sure the guy knew what he was doing, he said the batteries were good. One other observation though, with the batteries out, I have no lights in the RV, even though the RV is plugged in. Does everything run off the batteries even when plugged in?
__________________
Port St. Lucie, Florida
2002 Gulfstream SunVoyager 37' Triple Slide
ALAG321 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2011, 09:19 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
pkmesser's Avatar
 
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Tehachapi, Ca
Posts: 549
You should have power in the coach, even with the batteries disconnected, if the convertor is powered up. That's exactly what happens when you throw the battery disconnect switch.

BTW, do you have that switch in the connect position when you are trying to charge the batteries? Also, that solinoid could be the problem.
__________________
PKMesser
2005 KSCA 3778 on 04 W22
pkmesser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2011, 09:32 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Wanabee FTer's Avatar
 
Gulf Streamers Club
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Golden Village Palms, CA
Posts: 1,988
Blog Entries: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by ALAG321 View Post
Batteries are about 18 months old. The only reason I disconnected the wires is because that is what intellipower says to do. With them connected, I get a reading of 10.4, so I suspect the batteries may have an issue. It just cannot figure out why I cant get the 13.6 reading with wires disconnected like the manufacturer says it should read, therefore I am suspicious of the converter.
I have a PD9260 that has 2 ATC type fuses (blade fuse) on the 12 volt output side of the converter. Have you checked the fuses yet?
__________________
John
'98 Gulf Stream Sunsport 325, 7.5L Banks Power Pack, Koni FSD's, Air Bags, ReadyBrute Elite,
2000 Honda Accord

Wanabee FTer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2011, 11:46 AM   #10
Member
 
ALAG321's Avatar
 
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Port St. Lucie, Florida
Posts: 84
I have checked the blade fuses and they are good. I need to check the cut-off switch when I get home, hadn't even thought of that. As far as a solenoid, I have heard one clicking in the left front compartment, but as soon as I connect a charger to the truck battery, it stops. In a previous post, someone turned me on to the low truck battery causing the solenoid to click. Is this the battery you are referring to?
__________________
Port St. Lucie, Florida
2002 Gulfstream SunVoyager 37' Triple Slide
ALAG321 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2011, 11:58 AM   #11
Moderator Emeritus
 
RickO's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Litchfield Park, Arizona
Posts: 10,530
Quote:
Originally Posted by pkmesser View Post
You should have power in the coach, even with the batteries disconnected, if the convertor is powered up. That's exactly what happens when you throw the battery disconnect switch.
This isn't the case with my Itasca. If the house battery switch is "off" the coach is dark and voltage from the inverter/charger is shut off too.

Rick
__________________
Rick, Nancy, Peanut & Lola our Westie Dogs & Bailey the Sheltie.

2007 Itasca Ellipse 40FD
RickO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2011, 03:53 PM   #12
Member
 
ALAG321's Avatar
 
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Port St. Lucie, Florida
Posts: 84
I just got home from work and checked the shut-off switch. I have 3 of them and they are all in the on position. One is located just inside the entry door to the left, the other 2 are mounted to the frame next to the batteries. All 110 outlets, work, but no lights, no electric step. Ugh! what is wrong with this thing?????
__________________
Port St. Lucie, Florida
2002 Gulfstream SunVoyager 37' Triple Slide
ALAG321 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2011, 04:10 PM   #13
Moderator Emeritus
 
RustyJC's Avatar


 
Texas Boomers Club
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Cypress, Texas USA
Posts: 8,854
In the current configuration you describe, do you actually have 120VAC at the converter supply terminals and 0VDC (thus, no 12 volt lights, etc.) at the output terminals with the batteries disconnected at the converter? (When you disconnect the batteries, make sure the converter will still feed the 12VDC distribution panel.)

Rusty
__________________
2016 Ram Longhorn 3500 Dually 4x4 CCLB, 385/900 Cummins, Aisin AS69RC, 4.10
2014.5 DRV Mobile Suites 38RSSA #6972
Come join us on a TEXAS BOOMERS rally!
RustyJC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2011, 04:11 PM   #14
Senior Member
 
pkmesser's Avatar
 
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Tehachapi, Ca
Posts: 549
Quote:
Originally Posted by ALAG321 View Post
I have checked the blade fuses and they are good. I need to check the cut-off switch when I get home, hadn't even thought of that. As far as a solenoid, I have heard one clicking in the left front compartment, but as soon as I connect a charger to the truck battery, it stops. In a previous post, someone turned me on to the low truck battery causing the solenoid to click. Is this the battery you are referring to?

The fact that you hear a click is not conclusive, that only means the coil is good. The contacts may be bad. Put a volt meter on each side of the solinoid, if while it is supposed to be on, you get the same voltage, then it is good, othewise the contacts are probably bad. I've had the solinoid for the isolator do this, and from a lot of other posts, it seems the contacts fail more than the coil.
__________________

__________________
PKMesser
2005 KSCA 3778 on 04 W22
pkmesser is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
converter



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Converter or Battery problems????????? TROYSTOYS Fleetwood Products Owner's Forum 3 04-11-2011 09:26 AM
Power converter problems? tbonethemb MH-General Discussions & Problems 14 08-29-2010 09:24 PM
DTV Converter Problem TXredfish Technology: Internet, TV, Satellite, Cell Phones, etc. 2 06-30-2009 10:04 AM
Magnetek Converter - 6345 ratcity RV Systems & Appliances 7 06-03-2009 12:06 AM
converter questions raskul RV Systems & Appliances 6 05-28-2009 07:36 PM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:25 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.