Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > MH-General Discussions & Problems
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 05-11-2009, 11:00 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Columbus, IN
Posts: 109
Intellitec EMS reboot

When bringing the MH out of storage, I discovered that the EMS was shedding loads when hooked up to 30 amps, even when no AC equipment was energized. EMS worked normally when on GenSet. Nothing in the EMS pamphlet pointed to a solution, so I searched the IRV2 forums and saw that pulling and replacing an automotive type 12v fuse located inside the AC C/B panel had solved other problems. Tried it, and it worked. EMS back working normally on 30 amps. When the fuse was reinserted, a red LED on the circuit board flashed momentarily, then a green LED illuminated steady, so there must be some sort of BIT built into the EMS. Thinking about it, a reboot might be possible by removing AC power and simply turning the house battery disconnect off for a minute.

Conclusions: 1) As with any electrical problem, try removing ALL power for a minute to see if the component/system will reboot. 2) Manufacturer supplied paperwork is generally weak, with regard to troubleshooting. 3) The IRV2 website is a great resource.
__________________

__________________
2016 Newmar Ventana 4002
2013 Honda CRV
bandcworkhorse is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 05-12-2009, 11:27 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
Winnebago Owners Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,500
Yep have to agree with you on all three counts!
__________________

__________________
MaverickBBD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2009, 01:22 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Jim Stewart's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Melbourne & Marathon, Florida
Posts: 1,537
Mine went POSTAL on us. I shut off main breaker and 12 vote disconnect. Turned back on and it still was going POSTAL. Repeated with same response. Took it off the wall, removed the fuse waited a minute and re-inserted and all was fine. Coincidence, I think not! For any ex-postal workers, no pun intended!
__________________
2005 Safari Cheetah 38PDQ - 2009 Ford Flex
Me (Gatogonow), The Boss (DW), Honey Bunny, Maggie May and Mollie Kay (The Gatos)!
Jim Stewart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2009, 02:32 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
AFChap's Avatar
 
Winnebago Owners Club
Spartan Chassis
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: ...hopefully on the road!
Posts: 4,720
The Xantrax portion of my EMS panel (shows charger, inverter, etc status) acted up after inverter replacement (due to lightning strike), and on one other occasion. In my case, disconnecting the ethernet type cable at either the inverter end OR at the board inside, leaving it disconnected for 5 minutes or so, then re-connecting, was sufficient to "re-boot" the EMS brain.
__________________
Paul (KE5LXU) ...was fulltimin', now parttimin'
'03 Winnebago UA 40e / '05 Honda Odyssey toad
AFChap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2009, 08:00 PM   #5
Member
 
RRGuy's Avatar
 
Winnebago Owners Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Melbourne, FL
Posts: 89
Check your batteries.

Twice I had crazy unreadable displays (where the amps readout is if on 30 or 20 amp shore power). Plus, the batteries would not charge properly and shore power would not connect. Once, one house battery had bad cell, then a few months later (last week) the same "nonsense" on the display again. Found the other two batteries were bad. (Thats three out of three house batteries that went bad at 11 and 13 months age).

All three Optima batteries were replaced free on warranty.

John Abbott, 2004 Winnebago Journey, 39'
__________________
RRGuy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Upgrade for Intellitec ECC js9315 Fleetwood Products Owner's Forum 21 09-13-2014 07:18 AM
EMS Problem PHESPE Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 29 09-05-2009 12:37 PM
Problem with Intellitec Smart EMS CarlaT RV Systems & Appliances 16 07-26-2009 10:34 AM
EMS Problem 07 Journey Old Snipe Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 6 06-21-2008 09:45 PM
Installation of Intellitec Generator Logic Control Gadget Man RV Systems & Appliances 4 06-01-2008 07:26 AM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:16 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.