Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > MH-General Discussions & Problems
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 11-12-2015, 09:00 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
Monkey Run's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Sodus Point NY
Posts: 386
Inverter or not?

My coach has a Heart Freedom 2000 inverter/charger, although the Allegro is a 1999, this unit is newer as it was replaced a few years ago by the first owner.

There are three romex lines entering the box, I assume two are A/C out and one is A/C in. Half the outlets in my coach don't work on the inverter , yet they all work on shore power. Unless I miss my guess, the culprit has to be a bad connection at 1. the inverter 2. the first outlet in the chain of one circuit or 3. a tripped GFI which I have missed someplace.

Any other thoughts on this before I begin tearing her apart?
__________________

__________________
Don and Nancy
Christians, NRA Endowment Members
Monkey Run is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 11-12-2015, 09:04 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Mr_D's Avatar
 
Solo Rvers Club
iRV2 No Limits Club
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Vancouver, WA
Posts: 28,535
Did they work before and recently quit? On some rigs not all plugins are wired through the inverter.
__________________

__________________
2009 45' Magna 630 w/Cummins ISX 650 HP/1950 Lbs Ft
Charter Good Sam Lifetime Member, FMCA, SKP
RV'ing since 1957, NRA Benefactor Life, towing '14 CR-V
Mr_D is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2015, 09:06 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Monkey Run's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Sodus Point NY
Posts: 386
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr_D View Post
Did they work before
I don't know, the coach is new to me. It's always been on shore power until my first trip in October.
__________________
Don and Nancy
Christians, NRA Endowment Members
Monkey Run is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2015, 09:07 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
bluepill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Pensacola, FL
Posts: 2,247
It is common for only selected loads to be connected to the inverter circuit. There is usually a "sub-panel" of circuit breakers just for the inverter power.



Main on left, sub on right
__________________
2008 Itasca Meridian 37H & 2015 Flagstaff T12RBST
2011 & 2012 Len & Pat's "One lap of America"
27K miles & 41 states in 13 months - Woo Woo
Yellowstone Lake 6-1-2012
bluepill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2015, 09:11 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Monkey Run's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Sodus Point NY
Posts: 386
Quote:
Originally Posted by bluepill View Post
It is common for only selected loads to be connected to the inverter circuit. There is usually a "sub-panel" of circuit breakers just for the inverter power.
I had thought of that but did not find a dedicated panel. In addition, the other outlets all work on shore power, so the others would be back fed either way. Am I missing a trick here?

Also the refrigerator is not hot on the inverter, makes no sense.
__________________
Don and Nancy
Christians, NRA Endowment Members
Monkey Run is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2015, 09:38 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Mr_D's Avatar
 
Solo Rvers Club
iRV2 No Limits Club
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Vancouver, WA
Posts: 28,535
Quote:
Originally Posted by Monkey Run View Post
I had thought of that but did not find a dedicated panel. In addition, the other outlets all work on shore power, so the others would be back fed either way. Am I missing a trick here?

Also the refrigerator is not hot on the inverter, makes no sense.
If wired correctly for the inverter the outlets would not be "backfed"
If your refer is a gas/electric model you don't want it running off the inverter, it draws a lot of amps to run the heating element.
__________________
2009 45' Magna 630 w/Cummins ISX 650 HP/1950 Lbs Ft
Charter Good Sam Lifetime Member, FMCA, SKP
RV'ing since 1957, NRA Benefactor Life, towing '14 CR-V
Mr_D is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2015, 09:53 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 5,990
And it is not just the refer. A/C and the kitchen because of things like coffee makers and the bathroom because of hair dryers come to mind. Check to see if there is any indication of the wattage. I would not be surprised to learn it is around a 1000 watts intended for 2 old style TV's and some odds and ends when on battery power.
__________________
nothermark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2015, 10:05 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Monkey Run's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Sodus Point NY
Posts: 386
What I was referring to as back feed would occur in the single A/C breaker box on my coach. The commonality of the buss bars in the box would render a split circuit useless, unless I miss my guess. But you are right, a sub panel would split them.

We don't use much A/C when not on shore power, the refrigerator and perhaps a laptop is about it. Recall seeing around 14 amps draw for my unit but not certain. Yet there are two TV sets hooked to the thing, not critical for us.
__________________
Don and Nancy
Christians, NRA Endowment Members
Monkey Run is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2015, 10:57 AM   #9
Senior Member
 
Country Coach Owners Club
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Redding
Posts: 3,412
My Heart Freedom 25 inverter manual (same manual as your Freedom 20) shows how the AC is connected to the Inverter box. It might be worth a look before tearing into the box.

My rig has two circuit breakers for the inverted circuits mounted on the wall just behind the Freedom 25 in our basement. Each breaker controls a segment of the GFI controlled outlets. I once replaced a Panel Circuit Breaker and the GFI when my outlets would not work, only to finally heed my DW's two hour insistence that I verify that there are no other "switches".

And there they were, in the basement and on my electrical schematic.

If you have a similar situation, check to see if they are on and put your meter on the connections to see if both your outlet lines have power from the inverter.

My refrigerator, water heater, and optional freezer outlets are not powered by the inverter. Just the ordinary outlets that are all GFI protected.
__________________
Dean
1995 CC Magna #5280
C8.3L 300hp Cummins, 31,000lbs
deandec is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2015, 05:20 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
Monkey Run's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Sodus Point NY
Posts: 386
Below is a picture of my A/C panel. Behind the inverter I see three cables which exit through the upper side of the basement wall and appear to run in conduit somewhere in the engine compartment. I have been gone all day but plan on solving this mystery on Saturday!

Note the panel to the right, the refrigerator (not hot via inverter) is there and also the microwave (hot via inverter). I noticed one GFI, it is in the bathroom. I'll check the outlet in the basement, don't recall if that is GFI. Would assume the GFI circuit is daisy chained, cheaper to do that way.

To test for another panel board feed I'll shut down the panel breaker for the microwave then verify alive or dead. Should be interesting.

__________________
Don and Nancy
Christians, NRA Endowment Members
Monkey Run is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2015, 04:05 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
Monkey Run's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Sodus Point NY
Posts: 386
Update

Arrived home from "mud fest" this afternoon and did some testing. Power plugged into A/C source, inverter on, all outlets are hot. Turn off the A/C breaker on the panel shown in my previous post, which supposedly controls a couple of the known inverter-fed outlets, and those remained hot. Unplugged the A/C power feed to the coach, those same outlets remained hot.

So at this point, I suspect that the inverter output feed lines are tied directly into existing A/C circuits without utilizing a separate panel. What I do not understand is how those are not back feeding the remaining outlets since they share a common A/C switch box. Tomorrow after church I'm pulling the box apart to see how it's wired.
__________________
Don and Nancy
Christians, NRA Endowment Members
Monkey Run is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2015, 05:41 PM   #12
Senior Member
Commercial Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 608
Inverter or not?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Monkey Run View Post
Arrived home from "mud fest" this afternoon and did some testing. Power plugged into A/C source, inverter on, all outlets are hot. Turn off the A/C breaker on the panel shown in my previous post, which supposedly controls a couple of the known inverter-fed outlets, and those remained hot. Unplugged the A/C power feed to the coach, those same outlets remained hot.

So at this point, I suspect that the inverter output feed lines are tied directly into existing A/C circuits without utilizing a separate panel. What I do not understand is how those are not back feeding the remaining outlets since they share a common A/C switch box. Tomorrow after church I'm pulling the box apart to see how it's wired.

I have not looked at the manual that was referenced above. However many Inverters have a builtin transfer switch which I suspect your does. In your original picture, the Inverter has a button circuit breaker on the incoming power and two button breakers on the outgoing power ( your 3 Romex cables).


Sent from my iPad using iRV2 - RV Forum
TravellingRVDoctor, LLC
__________________
shiggs68 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2015, 06:40 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 1,060
If it is like mine there is a breaker in the main panel that feeds the inverter.The inverter has two breakers that feed two circuits in the coach.All the recepicals are not fed by the inverter,just the bath and tv on one circuit and the microwave on the other.
__________________
bldrbob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2015, 06:41 PM   #14
Senior Member
 
Monkey Run's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Sodus Point NY
Posts: 386
Quote:
Originally Posted by shiggs68 View Post
I have not looked at the manual that was referenced above. However many Inverters have a builtin transfer switch which I suspect your does. In your original picture, the Inverter has a button circuit breaker on the incoming power and two button breakers on the outgoing power ( your 3 Romex cables).


Sent from my iPad using iRV2 - RV Forum
TravellingRVDoctor, LLC
I suspected it had the transfer switch when I found that the main genset/shore power switch did not have one there for the inverter. The PDF link shows the built in circuit protection for the inverter including those for incoming and outgoing lines. At this point, what I cannot figure out is what is preventing the inverter current from feeding back into the A/C switch box when the shore power is turned off. The circuits have common connections such as outlets. Unless there is another breaker box hidden somewhere....
__________________

__________________
Don and Nancy
Christians, NRA Endowment Members
Monkey Run is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
inverter



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Inverter power to newly installed residential refrigerator Golfwannabee RV Systems & Appliances 43 05-23-2015 08:24 PM
Need help troubleshooting inverter issues caheath National RV Owner's Forum 16 11-27-2014 01:39 PM
Inverter Wiring Question DaleM RV Systems & Appliances 9 08-24-2014 08:52 PM
Dimensions 2000 Watt inverter, no battery charging, need help ASAP! FIRE UP Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 29 02-24-2014 12:36 AM
Full Time TV on Inverter max49 Technology: Internet, TV, Satellite, Cell Phones, etc. 18 12-23-2013 09:37 PM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:27 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.