Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > MH-General Discussions & Problems
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 07-11-2015, 11:42 AM   #1

Tiffin Owners Club
Ford Super Duty Owner
Question Inverter/surge protector issue?

Good afternoon irv2 members!

Spent our country's Independence Day weekend up in Gettysburg.

Here was my issue - and I am a newbie to inverter usage - turned on 12v at front door and propane, turned fridge on to LP before leaving home. When I got to cg fridge not working.

I plugged into power pedestal with SP and waited 128 seconds, plugged cord in - 124v and 123v on both lines so figured voltages good, Xfer switch clinked on, less then 15-20 seconds surge protector tripped and line 2 showed 90v. Tried this twice, front air conditioner breaker was tripping both times, seperated cords, and reset the breaker.

Dummy me realized I hadn't turned on the inverter (Triplite 750W) at the house, duh! When parked at home, RV is not plugged into shore power, so I turn off inverter and red button "fuse" so as to not have any battery loss.

Started process again and everything worked fine rest of the weekend. I'm pretty sure I've read that AC flows thru inverter even if off, but what if the fuse is breaking the circuit?

Long winded question then, do I possibly have a wiring problem, coincidence, or do I need to do more reading up on inverters, or was there just a friendly ghost training me?

Thanks for your time and advice,
billyboy

Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!