Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > MH-General Discussions & Problems
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
Old 01-15-2013, 11:59 PM   #1
MH pulsing while pulling hill.

I have a 1998 Diplomat 275 hp Cummins w/Allison MD 3060. Took mh to Pacific Power in WA. state Allison to check on shifting hard. Had tranny shift point changed when exhaust brake on from 3rd to 4th last year. Tech said all normal but felt surging/pulsing when pulling hill and loss of power for size of hill. Another tech checked with laptop and identified fuel lift pump pressure fluctuating and boost pressure sensor not reading correct. They replaced both and fuel filter, rechecked with laptop all ok. Took for test drive surging still there only while pulling hill. Rechecked with laptop now ECM is asking to get reprogrammed "foot printed". Only Cummins can fix and recommend not to drive. They say they did not foot print coach. I get stuck with $1000 of trouble shooting and repairs, Good Sam sent tow truck to haul to Cummins NW in Portland.Tow truck driver did not reinstall driveline? Cummins say's having trouble installing driveline and will cost $ for driveline to reinstall as they are having trouble reinstalling. Good Sam is taking care of that bill.Feel like Pacific Power should have stepped up some. Cummins NW did offer to send a tech to reprogram ECM but coach was on hook already and they even offered to lower price to reprogram. Why is MH pulsing during climb but goes away if I let off gas a bit?

macielcrew is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!