Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > MH-General Discussions & Problems
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 03-21-2010, 06:05 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 5
Monaco tach bouncing

What cause the tach on my diesel pusher to bounce around? How do i fix it? Art
__________________

__________________
Art Ward is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 03-21-2010, 06:36 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Papa_Jim's Avatar
 
Outdoors RV Owners Club
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Manitoba,Canada
Posts: 2,639
You don't say model and year, although I assume it is a Monaco product. On mine, when the tach starts jumping around, it's likely because my alternator is failing. The tach gets its pulse signal from the alternator. But, it's different on different coaches. On some newer electronic models, the pulse signal is provided by the engine ECU.

Jim Sanderson
Canada, eh?
__________________

__________________
Jim & Kate
2016 Creekside 23RKS
2014 Ram 1500 4X4 Eco Diesel
Canada, eh?
Papa_Jim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2010, 07:10 PM   #3
Junior Member
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 5
tach bouncing

Thank you!
It is a 2007 Monaco and i've several electrical issues with this coach. This last time the tach has started bouncing around. I hadn't looked at it yet, Didn't really know where to start, I was going to try to trace where the wires from the tach went to and go from there.
The tach is annalog so I probably need to look into the alternator first. Again, Thank You for the information. Art
__________________
Art Ward is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2010, 10:53 AM   #4
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 6
hmmm mine does that too... pretty grimy back there... wonder if cleaning the contacts would help....
__________________
txrumbleweed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2010, 11:07 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 167
Possible cause would be intermittent power or ground to the Engine ECU. We had poorly crimped connectors to the ECU on a new 05 Dynasty. Tach very twitchy during factory delivery. After 1,000 miles engine would momentarily quite, then start at low power for a minute or so and then resume normal operation. Finally laid down five miles south of Medford, OR. Towed into Medford Cummins, damage to both mirrors and back on the road in a couple of hours. Been fine since.

Lots of other electrical issues with coach when new. Fine now at 65,000 miles.
__________________
Eaglesview is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2010, 05:18 PM   #6
Junior Member
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 5
I have an 06 Monaco "Cayman" pusher.
I have it at Mcclain's RV in Mckinney right now, Thursday they called said it looked like corrosion issue. They were going to get back to me.
I've had good service from McClain's so far, had it there for camera issues and some small stuff. But they change service managers a lot. anyone had any experience with McClains in Mckinney? Art
__________________
Art Ward is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2010, 12:01 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
hamguy's Avatar
 
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Mesa, AZ USA
Posts: 1,806
Quote:
Originally Posted by jimkate View Post
The tach gets its pulse signal from the alternator. But, it's different on different coaches. On some newer electronic models, the pulse signal is provided by the engine ECU.

Jim Sanderson
Canada, eh?
What is the pulse signal? And how can an alternator provide any information about the engine speed? Just wondering.
__________________

__________________
Wretched excess is just barely enough.

2002 Itasca Suncruiser - WH Chassis - 35U - 2006 Jeep Liberty
hamguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Done Deal: Navistar Completes Purchase of Monaco for $47M DriVer RV Industry Press 13 05-12-2010 05:47 PM
Monaco Coach Corporation Signs Non-Binding Letter of Intent With Navistar, Inc. DriVer RV Industry Press 0 03-26-2009 08:17 PM
Monaco Coach Signs Agreement w/ International Truck & Engine on Joint Venture DriVer Roadmaster Motorhome Chassis Forum 13 03-01-2007 05:02 PM
New Monaco LaPalma and Holiday Rambler Vacationer Motor Homes Utilize Workhorse UFO™ DriVer RV Industry Press 2 11-27-2006 06:59 PM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:01 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.