Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > MH-General Discussions & Problems
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 06-14-2014, 10:17 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Elgin, Oklahoma
Posts: 40
Need help with inverter/charger remote cable

I just changed out the old xantrex freedom 458 with a xantrex sw 3012, I also have change the remote to the xanbus system control panel (scp). I did not, however, buy a new cable for the remote. Can anybody tell me if they are the same cable?
__________________

__________________
Fishkc10boom is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 06-15-2014, 06:39 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
94-Newmar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 2,043
I do not believe they are the same. The new Xantrex inverter/chargers use a RJ-45 CAT5 twisted pair type cable that is "straight thru", not a crossover for networked communications. You can get one at any computer store. Make sure you purchase a "straight thru" (T568A standard!!) and NOT a crossover cable.

EDIT: I just did a quick check to confirm and found 2 different tech docs from Xantrex that each say something completely different. 1 says it does follow the 568A standard and the other says it does not. How silly. NOW I would call to find out how your xanbus network is setup to ensure I am correct.
__________________

__________________
94-Newmar Kountry Star 40-KSDP
Spartan/Cummins 8.3C-300HP/Allison 3060 WTEC-II/25yr RV Tech RVIA Certified/Onan-Cummins Certified
94-Newmar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2014, 09:39 AM   #3
Member
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 53
Hi,

I know this is an older post, but I am wondering how you came out on the cable? I just had our 458 replaced with with the 3012 as well. BUT the difference was that the tech at Xantrex said we didn't have to replace the cable and sold us a pair of adapters for each end of the old telephone-type cable.
__________________
Vern and Beth Borgman
2002 Monaco Diplomat
DunesView is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2014, 08:17 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Elgin, Oklahoma
Posts: 40
I replaced the cable because I changed out the panel inside the coach. I could have stayed with the old cable and panel. I just chose the new one for upgrades later. If you have any other questions just ask. I racked my brain over all of this.
__________________
Fishkc10boom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2014, 07:40 AM   #5
Member
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 53
We are using the new XSCP as well, but it's working fine with the adapters and old cable. We did not install the AGS though, so maybe that would require us to have the new cable? We just brought it back into Holland Motorhome because somethings were not working on the generator. I think I'll make a post so others don't run into the same problem. From what I gather, there's two inputs for power and two outputs. Our's being a 2002, only had one output, causing the generator and a few plugs on that same circuit not to work on shore power and generator. So with the help of Xantrex, they added a jumper on the 'out' side and now we're in business!

Thank you for getting back to me on the cable question!
__________________
Vern and Beth Borgman
2002 Monaco Diplomat
DunesView is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
inverter, need help



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Satellite cable replacement help jhanan Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 29 05-05-2014 09:36 PM
Lippert Level Up Wireless Remote? RickS Excel Owner's Forum 20 04-03-2014 12:59 PM
Coachmen: television cable hook up operation!?! mwwade Forest River Owners Forum 1 03-26-2014 09:41 PM
Trace RV2012 and RC6 remote - not remoting!!! Tony Lee RV Systems & Appliances 1 03-24-2014 09:39 AM
Looking for help re: battery cable routing, '04 TropiCal mbrandt1402 National RV Owner's Forum 3 07-04-2013 12:53 AM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:39 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.