Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > MH-General Discussions & Problems
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 08-19-2014, 07:30 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 85
Newbie needs advice

I have a problem with my fridge not working with shore power, it works with the generator or gas but not on AC with shore power, it's a 95 Honorbuilt and was working when I bought it 2 months ago, but not now, am I doing something wrong ?
Thanks in advance
__________________

__________________
Bukiman is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 08-19-2014, 07:56 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 4,232
There are so many things that can be wrong.

What fridge model; gas absorption or residential?

What do you mean "not working?" No lights or no cool?
__________________

__________________
jesilvas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2014, 10:44 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 85
fridge

control panel will not switch to AC, stays on gas, will go to AC if I run generator
__________________
Bukiman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2014, 10:56 PM   #4
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 4
Don't know if this will help, close the propane tank to off, and see if it will switch over if it's completely automatic. Mine has a switch right in/on the door, letting me choose.

Alvin & Jane Webb, Salt Lake City, Utah
__________________
LUV MY ACE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2014, 01:40 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
B D HOWie's Avatar


 
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Forest River Owners Club
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 224
Newbie needs advice

Never mind. Miss read you post.

Paul
Big Dog House On Wheels
2013 Coachmen Freelander 28QB
on 2012 Chevrolet 4500
Using iRV2 app
__________________
Big Dog House On Wheels
2013 Coachmen Freelander 28QB
on 2012 E4500 Chevrolet chassis
B D HOWie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2014, 04:46 AM   #6
Community Moderator
 
RV Wizard's Avatar


 
Country Coach Owners Club
Appalachian Campers
Gulf Streamers Club
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Chattanooga, Tn.
Posts: 12,062
Sounds like you are not producing 120 vac to the receptacle the refrigerator is plugged into when on shore power. Find out is the receptacle is "Hot" with a lamp or drill motor. If not, check transfer switch for loss of circuit to distribution panel. Also check distribution panel if power is complete thru transfer switch. If you do have 120 vac at receptacle, then I would suggest looking for dirty DC voltage effecting ref. control board. Good luck and let us know what you find.
__________________
Mike, RVIA & RVSA Certified Master RV Technician
Amy, Dr. Assistant - Roxie & Mei Ling, four legs each
2000 Gulf Stream Scenic Cruiser 450 hp & 1330# torque
06 Saturn Vue, 06 Chevy Z71 4x4 & 2014 Corvette Z51 M7
RV Wizard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2014, 06:42 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 4,232
Quote:
Originally Posted by jesilvas View Post
There are so many things that can be wrong.

What fridge model; gas absorption or residential?

What do you mean "not working?" No lights or no cool?
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bukiman View Post
control panel will not switch to AC, stays on gas, will go to AC if I run generator
I still ask the same things.

But that gives a little more info.
Is this a 50A trailer, 30A trailer?
Is the genset built in or stand alone?
When you swap to genset power, do you have to physically plug the power cord into the genset outlet?
__________________
jesilvas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2014, 07:12 AM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 85
Fridge

Built in genset, no plug in its built in, I shut off gas, still no 110, then took cover off on the outside and found plugin, no power at plugin, all fuses are good, none show didicated to fridge, don't know how to trace this wire that goes to outlet box for the fridge to power unit.
__________________
Bukiman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2014, 07:18 AM   #9
Senior Member
 
John H...'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Johnstown, PA USA
Posts: 3,325
Is it a bad breaker perhaps??
__________________
John, Deb; & our dog, Benji, Forever in our hearts.
2014 Coachmen Leprechaun 319DS V-10
2011 Jeep Liberty Jet & 2014 Jeep Wrangler
John H... is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2014, 07:20 AM   #10
Senior Member
 
tedgard01's Avatar


 
Carolina Campers
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Winston Salem, NC
Posts: 3,009
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bukiman View Post
Built in genset, no plug in its built in, I shut off gas, still no 110, then took cover off on the outside and found plugin, no power at plugin, all fuses are good, none show didicated to fridge, don't know how to trace this wire that goes to outlet box for the fridge to power unit.

Maybe it is on a GFI that needs to be reset?


Ted
__________________
tedgard01 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2014, 08:14 AM   #11
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 4,232
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bukiman View Post
Built in genset, no plug in its built in, I shut off gas, still no 110, then took cover off on the outside and found plugin, no power at plugin, all fuses are good, none show didicated to fridge, don't know how to trace this wire that goes to outlet box for the fridge to power unit.
Still more info missing.

A "fuse" is a vague term. Do you understand the difference in 12VDC and 120VAC? If not, you need to learn, because the refr uses both.

The outlet is a 15A 120VAC outlet. You need to check the 120VAC breakers, not 12VDC fuses.
__________________
jesilvas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2014, 08:31 AM   #12
Senior Member
 
OLYLEN's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Olympia, Wa
Posts: 2,338
If it works on Gen power then it must be somewhere from the transfer switch to the shore power plug or the power source. The rest of the system is working correctly. HAVE you checked the input source or plugged into a different source. Check output side from transfer switch to breaker box. Might be as simple as plug, plugin, or a loose screw.

LEN
__________________
2004 Clss C 31' Winnebgo
OLYLEN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2014, 10:08 AM   #13
Senior Member
 
tedgard01's Avatar


 
Carolina Campers
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Winston Salem, NC
Posts: 3,009
Newbie needs advice

Quote:
Originally Posted by OLYLEN View Post
.... or a loose screw.
Hey, U talkn bout me.....? That is usually my problem.... Lol
__________________
tedgard01 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2014, 10:43 AM   #14
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 85
Fridge

What a dufas !! just discovered that the breaker in my garage where I was plugged in had a tripped breaker !
__________________

__________________
Bukiman is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
advice, newbie



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Advice For a Newbie BPoland Newmar Owner's Forum 36 08-19-2014 08:23 AM
Newbie needs advice on 2004 Diplotmat PST Crazyrvfamly Monaco Owner's Forum 5 07-01-2014 01:58 PM
Newbie advice Britexan iRV2.com General Discussion 5 06-19-2014 05:13 PM
Newbie looking for advice on Rv purchase class A Robert62 Thor Industries Owner's Forum 4 02-17-2014 10:31 PM
Newbie needs advice Fasteddie08 Entegra Owner's Forum 11 01-26-2014 06:58 AM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:37 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.