Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > MH-General Discussions & Problems
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 09-27-2008, 02:58 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Grand Junction, CO
Posts: 31
Hi all, just purchaed a 1999 Winn Brave SE 31B. It's in pretty good shape, just now going through it. I noticed that the only AC outlet working is above the passenger side where the VCR and Component switch is located. That AC outlet works. The TV also hase power. However, none of the other outlets in the coach work.

The generator is working fine, no fuses blown, no brakers off. Any ideas on where I should look for the problem?
__________________

__________________
1999 Winnebago Brave SE 31'
Justdinken is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 09-27-2008, 02:58 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Grand Junction, CO
Posts: 31
Hi all, just purchaed a 1999 Winn Brave SE 31B. It's in pretty good shape, just now going through it. I noticed that the only AC outlet working is above the passenger side where the VCR and Component switch is located. That AC outlet works. The TV also hase power. However, none of the other outlets in the coach work.

The generator is working fine, no fuses blown, no brakers off. Any ideas on where I should look for the problem?
__________________

__________________
1999 Winnebago Brave SE 31'
Justdinken is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2008, 03:36 PM   #3
Registered User
 
SacsTC's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Sacramento, CA.
Posts: 846
You probably have a gfi breaker located in the bathroom or kitchen area that is at the beginning of the circuit you are not able to use. There were two of these in my older bounder. One of them was mounted under an overhead cabinet and was impossible to see, so check all your receptacles for a gfi breaker.
__________________
SacsTC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2008, 03:46 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Winnebago Owners Club
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 362
Justdinkin, Congrats on the new coach. I had a 1998 Adventurer that had a GFI outlets at the kitchen sink and the bathroom. Also check outside if you have an outside outlet.

The tv etc probably works because it is hooked into a small inverter there so not tied in to the gfi breakers. Someone may correct me if I am wrong there. Like SacsTC said, it is most likely a gfi problem.
__________________
Olive
2007 Winnebago Journey 36'
Numbers 6:24-26
Olive is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2008, 05:24 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
chasfm11's Avatar
 
Texas Boomers Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: DFW Area, TX
Posts: 2,027
Do you have the same problem if you are plugged into shore power? The reason that I ask is that gensets generally have a couple of circuit breakers directly on them. If one of those breakers is tripped, it could be stopping power to a significant part of your RV. The GFI could be involved and I admit that many of my outlets are controlled by it but not nearly as many as you describe.

How about the appliances? Microwave? Inverter?

If you do get it working, I recommend making a map of your circuits and which breaker controls each set. That way, if you have future problems, you have something to help you troubleshoot. I use MS Power Point, used rectangles of different shapes, locating them in the rough area that they are in the RV and color coded them according to the breaker that feeds them. It takes about 1/2 hour but is well worth the time investment, IMHO.
__________________
2000 Georgie Boy Landau 36' DP
2005 Saturn Vue toad
KF5-NJY
chasfm11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2008, 07:33 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Grand Junction, CO
Posts: 31
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by chasfm11:
Do you have the same problem if you are plugged into shore power? The reason that I ask is that gensets generally have a couple of circuit breakers directly on them. If one of those breakers is tripped, it could be stopping power to a significant part of your RV. The GFI could be involved and I admit that many of my outlets are controlled by it but not nearly as many as you describe.

How about the appliances? Microwave? Inverter?

If you do get it working, I recommend making a map of your circuits and which breaker controls each set. That way, if you have future problems, you have something to help you troubleshoot. I use MS Power Point, used rectangles of different shapes, locating them in the rough area that they are in the RV and color coded them according to the breaker that feeds them. It takes about 1/2 hour but is well worth the time investment, IMHO. </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

This is all great information. Re the Micro, and the inverter. They all seem to be working fine. I have not tried to hook it up to a shore as I have not put on at my house yet. I was thinking about the GFCI's maybe one in the link or at the end that ie either tripped or not working which I think could cause the others not to as well. I will also look for any hidden outlets (did not think of that).

You guys are great! It helps to have some ideas once in a while. Hope I can return the favor..
__________________
1999 Winnebago Brave SE 31'
Justdinken is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2008, 06:26 AM   #7
Moderator Emeritus
 
TXiceman's Avatar


 
Vintage RV Owners Club
Texas Boomers Club
Oklahoma Boomers Club
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Full Time, TX Home Base
Posts: 17,150
Blog Entries: 21
The generator also has breakers mounted on the generator. make sure hey are not tripped.

Ken
__________________
Amateur Radio Operator (KE5DFR)|Full-Time! - 2012 6.7L Ford Crew Cab Dually -2013 HitchHiker Champagne 38RLRSB - Travel with one Standard Schnauzer and one small Timneh African Gray Parrot
TXiceman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2008, 05:36 PM   #8
Junior Member
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Kansas
Posts: 22
WE are having a similar problem with our 1999 Diplomat. We were having occasional power issues -- the GFCI would trip, we'd shut somethng off and reset the GFCI, etc. But this weekend, after my husband attempted to run the vacuum (plugged into an outlet by the dash), everything went down and the GFCI would not reset, even though we were plugged into a 30 amp. We tried everything everybody in the RV park suggested -- nothing helped much, although we were able to get the air conditioner and the microwave back. We also kept the inverter on. We replaced the GFCI TWICE (what a hideous project!) -- so far as I can tell, the only one we have is above the vanity counter in the bath. It now clicks when you press reset, but it does not get power. Oh, and then we discovered the wet carpet and the leaking hot water heater. So --
a. What have we missed?
b. What do we do next?
c. Does the leaking hot water heater have something to do with all this? Apparently it has been leaking for some time -- two weeks ago my husband told me the hot water heater was NOT the source of the wet carpet, but he has taken that all back.

We do not have power to the outlets, the fridge, or the TV's. Even if we run the generator.

Thanks -- Pam in Kansas
__________________
Pam in Kansas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2008, 06:25 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Grand Junction, CO
Posts: 31
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by Pam in Kansas:
WE are having a similar problem with our 1999 Diplomat. We were having occasional power issues -- the GFCI would trip, we'd shut somethng off and reset the GFCI, etc. But this weekend, after my husband attempted to run the vacuum (plugged into an outlet by the dash), everything went down and the GFCI would not reset, even though we were plugged into a 30 amp. We tried everything everybody in the RV park suggested -- nothing helped much, although we were able to get the air conditioner and the microwave back. We also kept the inverter on. We replaced the GFCI TWICE (what a hideous project!) -- so far as I can tell, the only one we have is above the vanity counter in the bath. It now clicks when you press reset, but it does not get power. Oh, and then we discovered the wet carpet and the leaking hot water heater. So --
a. What have we missed?
b. What do we do next?
c. Does the leaking hot water heater have something to do with all this? Apparently it has been leaking for some time -- two weeks ago my husband told me the hot water heater was NOT the source of the wet carpet, but he has taken that all back.

We do not have power to the outlets, the fridge, or the TV's. Even if we run the generator.

Thanks -- Pam in Kansas </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

Sorry to hear you have having such problems. I have not gone completey through ours yet, so I hope I do not runi into those problems. You have problaby checked, but do the GFCI's reset? If not you could have a water induced short causing the GFCI to trip. If you have a schematic of your MH, I would start with that and working from known working outlets work until you locate the problem. I only offer this becuase I have some experience working with electrical and electronics. Anyway, good luck with your adventure.
__________________
1999 Winnebago Brave SE 31'
Justdinken is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2008, 03:28 AM   #10
Senior Member
 
NYMoose "Lenny"'s Avatar
 
Tiffin Owners Club
Nor'easters Club
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Gardiner, NY USA
Posts: 736
I would first start at the leaking HW Heater. If you have an electric element, then you have A/C running to the HW Heater, and it could be the cause of your problem. Even if you don't have that, I would eliminate the most obvious thing first. If that does not take care of it go get a a/c tester at a harware store which you can plug into outlets which will tell you if you have a open ground, netural etc. It might help you track it down.
__________________
Lenny and Chrissy

2 Boys & My Pups
NYMoose "Lenny" is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2008, 04:07 AM   #11
Senior Member
 
Winnebago Owners Club
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: MN,USA
Posts: 651
You do not need special wiring at your house to do some checking of the coach. A normal 20 amp and an extension cord with a adapter to the coach will work If you don't try using the micro or AC. Have you looked at the 220 fuse box? There are a series of breakers ther. You will probably find that you have two breakers.

If you go to the Winnebago section of this forum, you will find that there is a link that will conect you to the Winnebago site where you can download the wiring and other information for your specific coach.
__________________
2004 Itasca Sunrise 36', Workhorse
2003 Suzuki XL7
Dsouthw524 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2008, 11:04 AM   #12
Senior Member
 
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Palisade CO
Posts: 3,562
I have seen a similar problem caused by a tripped circuit breaker on the inverter.

The ac outlets supplied by the inverter are protected by the these circuit breakers even when you are on shore power.
The shore power goes through the transfer switch that switches the inverter output and through the inverter circuit breakers.
__________________
Clay WA5NMR - Ex Snowbird - 1 year, Ex Full timer for 11 years - 2004 Winnebago Sightseer 35N Workhorse chassis. Honda Accord toad.
Clay L is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2008, 09:02 AM   #13
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Grand Junction, CO
Posts: 31
AC problem solved! Had a chance this last weekend to diagnose and fix our AC problem on the Brave. It seems that someone had wired the GFCI incorrectly. Of course we bought the Brave used, so who would think that the AC was wired wrong. Well it was. This was causing several other AC outlets not to work. The problem? The line (hot) and load were reversed. The best indicator of this was when I replaced the GFCI with a new one and same problem. Got to looking and found the line and load were reversed. And, depending on where that particular AC out is located in the Line, will cause the others that are fine not to work. The best indicator for determining if the line and load are reversed is whether or not the light will come on and if the breaker can be set. If it cannot be set, then it is wired wrong.

Justdinken...
__________________
1999 Winnebago Brave SE 31'
Justdinken is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2008, 03:47 PM   #14
Junior Member
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Kansas
Posts: 22
And, in fact, this was our problem, but we did it to ourselves, I think.
We replaced the GFCI TWICE last weekend -- to no avail -- but this weekend while traveling we visited an RV place in Lincoln, NE, and the technician diagnosed the problem and fixed it. Thank heaven. Replacing the GFCI is one ugly job for inept folks like me.
__________________

__________________
Pam in Kansas is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AC Outlets Flyer Monaco Owner's Forum 16 03-24-2008 06:58 AM
Electrical Outlets crudeman Monaco Owner's Forum 4 04-18-2007 09:12 PM
12V Outlets - How Many Do You Have? digNbubbs Monaco Owner's Forum 24 02-16-2007 10:22 AM
Electric Outlets Webster RV Systems & Appliances 11 03-07-2006 10:36 AM
DC Outlets Retired and Happy Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 3 03-03-2005 09:25 AM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:24 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.