Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > MH-General Discussions & Problems
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 07-13-2014, 10:55 PM   #1
Member
 
AnimalCop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 69
No Cold Air, Read this sequence of events.

93 Winn Vectra 37ft Gas Coleman Basement Air

I was on the way to CG this weekend, drove up with Gen on and AC going as my Dash AC not working at the moment. Got to CG switched over to 50 amp. AC working well, the only issue as I posted in another thread, was not being able to regulate the cold air well. If I use Auto Fan, it would kick on every 60 seconds for 60 seconds then shut off, then go back on 60 sec. Seemed like the Thermostat temp had nothing to do with when it came on. Also, in Auto when it was not blowing I am hearing a noise coming from the basement air outside, sort of like a buzzing or light hum.

OK so this is the question now, not related to above.

On the drive home I again drove back with Gen on Basement are on, worked fine. I backed the MH into a parking spot in a parking lot of Pizza Hut .
Then I started to hear the Gen running high rpm then low then high. Then the Gen shut off. I turned it back on and then I noticed one of the 2 Switches INSIDE at the Breaker flipped off and I was not getting cold air anymore. It was blowing fine, the Fan was working, just no cold air.
I got home and plugged it in and Fan still blows great, but no cold air. So in my opinion its not a power issue. Just seemed weird the Gen started running funky prior to the cold AC crapped out.

Any Ideas out there in IRV2 land?
__________________

__________________
AnimalCop is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 07-13-2014, 11:06 PM   #2
KIX
Senior Member
 
KIX's Avatar


 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: St. Augustine, FL
Posts: 3,579
Take a look at the capacitors........I'm betting a 1st stage start cap is bad.
__________________

__________________
KIX
'02 Ultimate Advantage 40J Spartan MM - Cummins ISC
2013 Jeep Rubicon JK Unlimited
KIX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2014, 11:58 PM   #3
Member
 
AnimalCop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 69
You need to Elaborate a little, Where are these Capacitors, I am just a laymen. Give me some guidance
__________________
AnimalCop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2014, 05:03 AM   #4
Community Moderator
 
RV Wizard's Avatar


 
Country Coach Owners Club
Appalachian Campers
Gulf Streamers Club
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Chattanooga, Tn.
Posts: 12,062
The vented side panel where the condenser coil of the basement air cond is must be loosed at bottom and side where forward compartment door is. This panel will swing upward and give you access to the unit. The control box area is at the lower left corner of the unit; looking at it from the outside. Remove the bottom screws and pull off the plate. All controls and capacitors are in here, except the fan motor caps; they are on the motors of the older units. You will need to inspect and check the PTCR and start capacitors, wiring connections and amperage at start up with clamp on amp-meter. Be careful and good luck. Y
__________________
Mike, RVIA & RVSA Certified Master RV Technician
Amy, Dr. Assistant - Roxie & Mei Ling, four legs each
2000 Gulf Stream Scenic Cruiser 450 hp & 1330# torque
06 Saturn Vue, 06 Chevy Z71 4x4 & 2014 Corvette Z51 M7
RV Wizard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2014, 11:18 PM   #5
KIX
Senior Member
 
KIX's Avatar


 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: St. Augustine, FL
Posts: 3,579
Also, while in the electrical box RV WIZARD described........look at the wiring to the two compressor relays in the upper right hand corner of that space.
Check the tightness of all the spade connectors too.
__________________
KIX
'02 Ultimate Advantage 40J Spartan MM - Cummins ISC
2013 Jeep Rubicon JK Unlimited
KIX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2014, 10:26 PM   #6
Member
 
AnimalCop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 69
So I finally got to opening up the AC, turned on the AC and of course its working now. Here is the pic, maybe you can be more specific as to what to check.


__________________
AnimalCop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2014, 05:22 AM   #7
Community Moderator
 
RV Wizard's Avatar


 
Country Coach Owners Club
Appalachian Campers
Gulf Streamers Club
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Chattanooga, Tn.
Posts: 12,062
Ok, it has been a long time since I have worked on one of this age. Is there a schematic on the inside of the cover?
In the bottom is the two 120 vac circuits into the unit. At the top left corner is the 12 vdc control circuits. The two capacitors in the bottom are the compressor run capacitors. Start with making sure all wiring connections are tight. Make sure you always have good voltages to operate the unit. When the is a malfunction, verify voltages first and then start diagnosing if they are good. Good luck and keep us posted.
I do not see the start capacitors and the large relays with the orange and blue wires connected to it is one of the compressor relays. The other one is to the right of it and behind the wiring. There is no PTCR on these old units the relay and capacitors (start and run) for each compressor. It looks like the start capacitors may be inside the unit and if you have a schematic, it should identify some wiring colors you can check to see if in fact they are connected to the start capacitors and if they are within specs. If not, or you have to replace them it looks like pulling the top after pulling the unit may be required to get to them; unless you can pull that electrical box out of the corner.
__________________
Mike, RVIA & RVSA Certified Master RV Technician
Amy, Dr. Assistant - Roxie & Mei Ling, four legs each
2000 Gulf Stream Scenic Cruiser 450 hp & 1330# torque
06 Saturn Vue, 06 Chevy Z71 4x4 & 2014 Corvette Z51 M7
RV Wizard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2014, 07:54 AM   #8
Member
 
AnimalCop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 69
Little more update, I had the MH plugged into my house outlet, 110 and ran the AC, it worked at first, but then it blew the circuit breaker in the house 15amp. I have plugged into this many times and ran the AC and never tripped the circuit.
I happened to be looking at the connections in the Basement air and I heard some weird buzzing and clicking and then the circuit tripped in the 15amp house breaker.

If you remember in my first description when this first started happening, I was using the Generator and the RPM were rising and falling and one side of the generator circuit breaker tripped.

So it is my guess the AC is doing something to cause these power surges or heavy draw.

Does this give you a better Idea as to what I should be looking for?
__________________
AnimalCop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2014, 08:07 AM   #9
Community Moderator
 
RV Wizard's Avatar


 
Country Coach Owners Club
Appalachian Campers
Gulf Streamers Club
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Chattanooga, Tn.
Posts: 12,062
It could be that the t'stat is short cycling and trying to bring the compressor back on too quickly before the head pressure in the system has equalized or better yet the contactor for the compressor is bad and the heat build up on the points are causing an open circuit and the compressor is trying to restart causing high amperage and tripping breaker. Try hardwiring the compressor, by-passing the contactor (relay) for the compressors and see how long the system will run with the T'stat set at it lowest point. Let us know what you find.
__________________
Mike, RVIA & RVSA Certified Master RV Technician
Amy, Dr. Assistant - Roxie & Mei Ling, four legs each
2000 Gulf Stream Scenic Cruiser 450 hp & 1330# torque
06 Saturn Vue, 06 Chevy Z71 4x4 & 2014 Corvette Z51 M7
RV Wizard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2014, 09:18 PM   #10
Member
 
AnimalCop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 69
Referencing the picture I have posted can you describe what I need to bypass. I don't know what is what in that box.
__________________
AnimalCop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2014, 08:52 AM   #11
Community Moderator
 
RV Wizard's Avatar


 
Country Coach Owners Club
Appalachian Campers
Gulf Streamers Club
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Chattanooga, Tn.
Posts: 12,062
The orange conductor coming from the L2 120 vac terminal to the large black relay and the other Orange wire on that relay. It is difficult to see from this photo but it looks like it might be the Black wires on the relay to the right of the first will be the other compressor.
__________________
Mike, RVIA & RVSA Certified Master RV Technician
Amy, Dr. Assistant - Roxie & Mei Ling, four legs each
2000 Gulf Stream Scenic Cruiser 450 hp & 1330# torque
06 Saturn Vue, 06 Chevy Z71 4x4 & 2014 Corvette Z51 M7
RV Wizard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2014, 04:06 PM   #12
Member
 
AnimalCop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 69
Im Still not sure how to check what you described, I have attached the schematic and better pics.













__________________
AnimalCop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2014, 06:30 AM   #13
Community Moderator
 
RV Wizard's Avatar


 
Country Coach Owners Club
Appalachian Campers
Gulf Streamers Club
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Chattanooga, Tn.
Posts: 12,062
Relay # 11 & 12 on schematic are for compressor 1 & 2. Follow the conductor from the common terminals of compressor to its relay and remove from terminal. Pull corresponding conductor from relay terminal and connect the two wires together. This will by-pass the relay and the compressor should start up and run when the t'stat is set for cooling and power is available.
__________________

__________________
Mike, RVIA & RVSA Certified Master RV Technician
Amy, Dr. Assistant - Roxie & Mei Ling, four legs each
2000 Gulf Stream Scenic Cruiser 450 hp & 1330# torque
06 Saturn Vue, 06 Chevy Z71 4x4 & 2014 Corvette Z51 M7
RV Wizard is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
vent



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Found Cold Air Leakage jcrowder47 Tiffin Motorhomes Owners Forum 0 04-10-2014 09:16 PM
2004 Holiday Rambler Dash Air Problems Yoda1usa Monaco Owner's Forum 6 04-08-2014 12:43 PM
Windows Leaking Air Electra 225 Class A Motorhome Discussions 4 04-06-2014 01:23 PM
Aqua Hot giving cold air in zone 1 living room Melorene Alpine Coach Owner's Forum 8 04-02-2014 07:38 AM
Cold air wcski Newmar Owner's Forum 6 12-17-2013 08:21 PM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:47 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.