Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > MH-General Discussions & Problems
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 06-19-2011, 07:16 AM   #1
Junior Member
 
Hanker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 6
No Power to Upfront TV

So we arrive at our destination yesterday, and we have no power to the upfront TV. All else checks out. I expect that this is due to the failsafe mechanism that keeps you from being able to drive while watching TV. But I have no idea how that works. What should I be looking for?
__________________

__________________
Hank
2006 Forest River Charleston 40Q
Hanker is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 06-19-2011, 07:43 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
mudpuppy's Avatar
 
Appalachian Campers
Forest River Owners Club
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 230
The relay could be stuck try cycling the ignition a few times. if all else fails you could use a short extension cord to bypass it till you can have it checked. The outlet itself contains the relay in some cases if you can get to it you could pull it and replace it your self.
__________________

__________________
David & Teresa
2017 Silverado 3500HD Duramax 4X4 Crewcab Dully
2017 Cedar Creek 37MBH
mudpuppy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2011, 09:02 AM   #3
Moderator Emeritus
 
Gary RVRoamer's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Silver Springs, FL. USA
Posts: 18,062
The outlet interlock is driven by a simple 12v line that is on when the ignition is on. That operates the relay that mudpuppy described. Unplug the tv from the outlet and plug it in elsewhere to see if it works - that will tell you right away if the problem is the interlock or something else.
__________________
Gary Brinck
Former owner of 2004 American Tradition
Home is in the Ocala Nat'l Forest near Ocala, FL
Summers in Black Mountain, NC
Gary RVRoamer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2011, 04:22 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
wa8yxm's Avatar
 
Damon Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 22,787
I can see several possiblities. The interlock relay is #1 on my list. They can go bad.

Broken wires, Loose screws, Tripped breakers, (Including one in an inverter hidden smoewhere if the rig has one) more or less finish the list in no particular order. OH, I forgot one... Toasted TV.
__________________
Home is where I park it!
wa8yxm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2011, 06:15 AM   #5
Junior Member
 
Hanker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 6
Thx. But where would the interlock relay be located? I can't get to the outlet. It is hidden in the TV compartment.
__________________
Hank
2006 Forest River Charleston 40Q
Hanker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2011, 07:46 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
hamguy's Avatar
 
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Mesa, AZ USA
Posts: 1,806
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hanker View Post
So we arrive at our destination yesterday, and we have no power to the upfront TV. All else checks out. I expect that this is due to the failsafe mechanism that keeps you from being able to drive while watching TV. But I have no idea how that works. What should I be looking for?
I can sit on the dash and see behind the TV. Perhaps you can also.

In any event, in many installations one outlet is interlocked while the other is hot full time. Just plug into the other outlet and see what happens.
__________________
Wretched excess is just barely enough.

2002 Itasca Suncruiser - WH Chassis - 35U - 2006 Jeep Liberty
hamguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2011, 10:56 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
wa8yxm's Avatar
 
Damon Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 22,787
Like the other Hamguy (I'm a ham too) I can sit on the dash and see the back side of the TV, worked out good cause the guy who plugged mine in did so on a Monday I think (Did it wrong)

The outlet is in the compartment next to the TV, however, easily seen if you look to the rear behind the radio/Home Theater system. Though far as I know not a rule.. They usually put the plug where it can be gotten to without tools.

So my TV (Front one) is in the compartment next door (Bedroom was behind TV though)
Microwave in the cabinet next door

That kind of thing.
__________________
Home is where I park it!
wa8yxm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2011, 05:40 AM   #8
Junior Member
 
Hanker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 6
Resolution to problem.

I called Forest River yesterday and the access I needed to get into the tv cabinet was in the rear,a panel that was velcroed in place. When I pulled the panel off and felt up into the area behind the tv, I discovered that the power plug had vibrated loose from the outlet. So nothing overly complicated here. I did discover the device that locks out the tv while driving. It plugs directly into the outlet, and the tv plugs into it. The interlock was fairly heavy and is what vibrated loose. So I removed it and am now on the honor system. That won't be a problem.

Thanks everyone for your help.
__________________
Hank
2006 Forest River Charleston 40Q
Hanker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2011, 09:05 AM   #9
Senior Member
 
38 Special's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Irondale, Alabama
Posts: 470
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hanker View Post
So I removed it and am now on the honor system.
I removed mine also. If you have in-motion satelitte, it sure makes verifying you have satelitte when parking. I turn mine on and then park, if it goes out, many times I can move just a little and it will find a hole to the sky.
__________________

__________________
2008 Monaco Camelot 42 DSQ
Irondale, Alabama
38 Special is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
power



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Winegard power supply problems nhcouple Technology: Internet, TV, Satellite, Cell Phones, etc. 3 06-14-2011 11:41 AM
No power to water heater on/off switch ddellavedova MH-General Discussions & Problems 5 04-06-2010 03:46 AM
KVH Trackvision Power Switch Replacement Mike R Technology: Internet, TV, Satellite, Cell Phones, etc. 3 04-24-2009 06:48 PM
No aux power from house batteries John Trent Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 7 02-17-2008 11:59 AM
No Eletrical Power from Power Tech Generator Field Trip Newmar Owner's Forum 5 09-27-2005 06:23 PM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:28 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.