Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > MH-General Discussions & Problems
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 09-06-2013, 09:58 AM   #1

Noob here...are all RV salesmen cheesey?

Last month my wife and I started doing our homework before buying a new MH for the new year. This includes visiting all the RV lots here in Calgary AB area. Knowing and seeing some of the deals that our American cousins offer, we are very open to purchasing one south of the border if we can't find a similar deal up here. Also, we are well aware of the 20-30% drop in price in negotiations...as numerous blogs and searches advised.

With that said, our visits to the RV lots has been undesirable. Always 'our product is better' and brushed off soon as the salesmen realized we are not there to buy one today, but only doing our homework in the new year. We had one salesman asking what price we are looking for. I replied 'a price that competes with south of the border'. He said he can easily do that. Good I thought...then all of a sudden an extra $10k in fees haha. I told him I am more than willing to spend a few hundred bucks on a plain ticket. And so on....

Point is that I have come to a quick conclusion that RV salesman can not be trusted. Makes car salesmen look like saints.

Is the cheesy sales tactics normal in the RV industry?

Once we targeted a reliable MH, our approach will be 'here is our offer...take it or leave it'! And spare us the bullcrap

One big worry, if the salesman reflects the business....one can only imagine what the service is like once the MH leaves the lot.

Cheers.

Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!