Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > MH-General Discussions & Problems
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 11-24-2010, 07:57 PM   #15
KIX
Senior Member
 
KIX's Avatar


 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: St. Augustine, FL
Posts: 3,579
Royce999 thanks for the post and suggestion. Please read post #10 in tis thread above. No need to repair when you can replace for the same price
__________________

__________________
KIX
'02 Ultimate Advantage 40J Spartan MM - Cummins ISC
2013 Jeep Rubicon JK Unlimited
KIX is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 11-24-2010, 07:59 PM   #16
KIX
Senior Member
 
KIX's Avatar


 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: St. Augustine, FL
Posts: 3,579
Royce999.........Whirlpool model ECKF94 at Lowe's for $49.95
__________________

__________________
KIX
'02 Ultimate Advantage 40J Spartan MM - Cummins ISC
2013 Jeep Rubicon JK Unlimited
KIX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2010, 02:06 PM   #17
Member
 
royce999's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by David K View Post
Kix ---- I did a quick search and this is what I found re the ice maker.

"Based on info I had on file, I went to Lowes and got a Whirlpool ice maker kit part #57773, model #ECKMF94. Cost was $44.95 after my 10% Veteran discount. It is identical to what I removed. It comes with icemaker, wiring harness, water valve/solenoid, water line, and tray."

Hope this helps
I also bought the Lowes kit. It is the same icemaker, but the wiring harness and water valve are different. I want to replace my wiring harness, but can't see how I can do this without pulling the whole fridge to get to the back of it. Any suggestions?

royce999
02 Endeavor
__________________
2002 HR Endeavor
royce999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2010, 02:28 PM   #18
Senior Member
 
SpursMVP's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Ogallala, Nebraska
Posts: 374
Quote:
Originally Posted by royce999 View Post
As I said in a previous quote, I bought a replacement at Lowes also. My problem wasn't leaking, but the icemaker will not dump. Also, the wiring assembly with the Lowes kit doesn't fit my Norcold. I'm thinking it may be the thermal fuse in the wiring assembly that needs to be replaced. Looks like I can get the correct wiring on EBay. Will probably try that after Thanksgiving.

Any advice, folks?
There are floor models that produce a heck of a lot more ice than these do. We bought one from CW because the whole ice-making system on our home refer was shot (out of warranty too).

Rather than spend $1,200 on another double door model we bought the $199 floor ice maker and it's been cranking out ice for nearly 2 years. More than you can use (about 10-15 lbs per day).
__________________
2001 Holiday Rambler Endeavor
330 HP Cummins ISC
2007 Dodge Ram 4 X 4 (Hemi)
SpursMVP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2010, 03:00 PM   #19
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: hanson ma
Posts: 206
if your origanal i/m was a whirlpool you should be able to remove the wire harnes from the old one and plug it into the new one after removing the harness supplyed just slide the cover off the motor section and depress the locking tab on the connector hope this helps lee
__________________
hometool is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2010, 04:37 PM   #20
Senior Member
 
AFChap's Avatar
 
Winnebago Owners Club
Spartan Chassis
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: ...hopefully on the road!
Posts: 4,720
That was my post that DavidK is quoting ...
Quote:
I also bought the Lowes kit. It is the same icemaker, but the wiring harness and water valve are different.
I too at first thought the wiring harness would not work, but as hometool indicates, you don't need the provided wiring harness at all. I also didn't try to install the solenoir valve as mine was working fine, so I don't know whether is was the same or not...
__________________
Paul (KE5LXU) ...was fulltimin', now parttimin'
'03 Winnebago UA 40e / '05 Honda Odyssey toad
AFChap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2010, 06:52 PM   #21
KIX
Senior Member
 
KIX's Avatar


 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: St. Augustine, FL
Posts: 3,579
Quote:
Originally Posted by royce999 View Post
I also bought the Lowes kit. It is the same icemaker, but the wiring harness and water valve are different. I want to replace my wiring harness, but can't see how I can do this without pulling the whole fridge to get to the back of it. Any suggestions?

royce999
02 Endeavor
Royce, replace the harness as a couple of other posts mentioned. As far as the solenoid goes I remember it being the same solenoid, electrically. It does mount different from the stock one. So, you can either use your orriginal if it's still good or make a bracket to mount the new one. good luck
__________________
KIX
'02 Ultimate Advantage 40J Spartan MM - Cummins ISC
2013 Jeep Rubicon JK Unlimited
KIX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2010, 08:52 PM   #22
Senior Member
 
greystroke's Avatar


 
Monaco Owners Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Holiday Rambler Owners Club
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Spring Hill, Florida
Posts: 1,150
Just installed the kit on my Norcold. I will know in the morning if everything is working. This thread come along at the right time. Mine was leaking.
__________________
98 Endeavor DP, ISB275
RX300, Falcon II hitch, BB Vantage Select
VMSpc, 2002 Grey Ford Powerstroke
TST 507 w/ 10 Sensors
greystroke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2010, 06:57 AM   #23
paz
Senior Member
 
paz's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Full-timers - Home is where we park it.
Posts: 4,716
Quote:
Originally Posted by royce999 View Post
As I said in a previous quote, I bought a replacement at Lowes also. My problem wasn't leaking, but the icemaker will not dump. Also, the wiring assembly with the Lowes kit doesn't fit my Norcold. I'm thinking it may be the thermal fuse in the wiring assembly that needs to be replaced. Looks like I can get the correct wiring on EBay. Will probably try that after Thanksgiving.

Any advice, folks?
I had the same problem with the plug not being the same on the one I replaced in our stick house some time back. I cut the plug off the old icemaker and spliced it onto the new one. I used heat-shrink tubing from an splice kit for a submersible water pump to seal the wires (available in the electrical dept. at Lowe's or HD). The heat-shrink tubing had sealant on the inside to make it water tight.
__________________
2015 DRV Tradition 375KPS
2015 Chevy Duramax 3500HD LTZ Dually
Full-timers...Home is where we park it.
Check out our blog: Living Our Dream
paz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2010, 07:51 AM   #24
Senior Member


 
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: chokoloskee, fl 34138
Posts: 695
don,t the icemaker work on 12v when underway? will the lowes work on 12volts?
__________________
2016 Dynamax DX3
USCG Ret BMCM
ron55 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2010, 08:11 AM   #25
KIX
Senior Member
 
KIX's Avatar


 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: St. Augustine, FL
Posts: 3,579
Quote:
Originally Posted by ron55 View Post
don,t the icemaker work on 12v when underway? will the lowes work on 12volts?
The icemaker in Norcolds and probably others always works on 110vac
__________________
KIX
'02 Ultimate Advantage 40J Spartan MM - Cummins ISC
2013 Jeep Rubicon JK Unlimited
KIX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2010, 08:51 AM   #26
Registered User
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Varies Depending on The Weather
Posts: 8,517
Quote:
Originally Posted by ron55 View Post
don,t the ice maker work on 12v when underway? will the Lowe's work on 12volts?
The ice-maker in the RV and generally all ice-makers are powered by 120 volt AC and usually plugged into a 120 volt AC receptacle that is also powered by the Inverter when underway provided that you had turned it on.

Dr4Film ----- Richard.
__________________

__________________
Dr4Film is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Norcold Icemaker leaking AFChap RV Systems & Appliances 9 06-07-2011 10:29 AM
Norcold refrig. icemaker ronmos Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 5 07-08-2009 09:51 AM
Norcold icemaker swap? Martind4 RV Systems & Appliances 2 07-04-2009 03:13 AM
Norcold #1201LRIM icemaker replacement schiappa MH-General Discussions & Problems 8 04-30-2008 07:20 PM
Norcold Icemaker issue Gdlow RV Systems & Appliances 5 03-17-2008 02:55 PM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:09 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.