Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > MH-General Discussions & Problems
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 09-15-2011, 09:12 AM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Lakewood, CA
Posts: 3
Norcold No Fl on electric

When we try to run our refrigerator on AC, we get a "No Fl" message along with the audible tone. Everything I can find leads me to believe that the "No Fl" error message is associated with operating the refrigerator on LP, and means no flame.

But it runs just fine on LP.

Any thoughts?
__________________

__________________
Tom and Lerinda Sanders
2004 Fleetwood Terra 31H
rrtom is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 09-15-2011, 10:44 AM   #2
Community Administrator
 
Clifftall's Avatar


 
Fleetwood Owners Club
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 29,128
Quote:
Originally Posted by rrtom View Post
When we try to run our refrigerator on AC, we get a "No Fl" message along with the audible tone. Everything I can find leads me to believe that the "No Fl" error message is associated with operating the refrigerator on LP, and means no flame.

But it runs just fine on LP.

Any thoughts?
Welcome to IRV2. Hope someone can answer your question. If not, you may want to post it on the RV Appliance Forum .
__________________

__________________


Cliff,Tallulah and Buddy ( 1999-2012 )
Clifftall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2011, 11:09 AM   #3
paz
Senior Member
 
paz's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Full-timers - Home is where we park it.
Posts: 4,716
"No Fl" does indeed mean no flame. If you have the fridge set for auto and there is no 120v power available, it will try to run on LP. If the flame does not light or goes out, you will get the "No Fl" message. You may need to clean the burner tube. Some rust from the stack may have fallen down onto the burner or onto the ignighter.

If, on the other hand, the fridge is set for auto and you are plugged into shore power or are running the generator and you get a "No Fl" error message, you have a problem with your 120V power and with the burner/ignighter.
__________________
2015 DRV Tradition 375KPS
2015 Chevy Duramax 3500HD LTZ Dually
Full-timers...Home is where we park it.
Check out our blog: Living Our Dream
paz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2011, 12:07 PM   #4
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Lakewood, CA
Posts: 3
It is set on AC when we have the problem. If I change it to LP or Auto it runs as it should on LP. So I am guessing it is a problem with the AC igniter?

Quote:
Originally Posted by paz View Post
"No Fl" does indeed mean no flame. If you have the fridge set for auto and there is no 120v power available, it will try to run on LP. If the flame does not light or goes out, you will get the "No Fl" message. You may need to clean the burner tube. Some rust from the stack may have fallen down onto the burner or onto the ignighter.

If, on the other hand, the fridge is set for auto and you are plugged into shore power or are running the generator and you get a "No Fl" error message, you have a problem with your 120V power and with the burner/ignighter.
__________________
Tom and Lerinda Sanders
2004 Fleetwood Terra 31H
rrtom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2011, 12:51 PM   #5
Registered User
 
Vintage RV Owners Club
Gulf Streamers Club
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 4,954
Or the 120v power to the fridge..
__________________
Midniteoyl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2011, 02:02 PM   #6
Moderator Emeritus
 
Gary RVRoamer's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Silver Springs, FL. USA
Posts: 18,084
If I understand it correctly, when you set it to AUTO it goes to LP mode and runs fine. That means the fridge circuit board cannot detect and 120vac power, so it switches to LP mode. Either you have no 120v power to the fridge, or the circuit board is messed up.

You say that No Fl is displayed even though LP mode is working fine? That certainly suggests a circuit board problem. No Fl should not be displayed if the LP flame is lit and the fridge cooling in that mode.
__________________
Gary Brinck
Former owner of 2004 American Tradition
Home is in the Ocala Nat'l Forest near Ocala, FL
Summers in Black Mountain, NC
Gary RVRoamer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2011, 02:27 PM   #7
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Lakewood, CA
Posts: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gary RVRoamer View Post
If I understand it correctly, when you set it to AUTO it goes to LP mode and runs fine. That means the fridge circuit board cannot detect and 120vac power, so it switches to LP mode. Either you have no 120v power to the fridge, or the circuit board is messed up.

You say that No Fl is displayed even though LP mode is working fine? That certainly suggests a circuit board problem. No Fl should not be displayed if the LP flame is lit and the fridge cooling in that mode.
No, we don't get any error messages when running on LP. Only on AC do we get the No Fl message. And manuals, google, etc. only reference the No Fl error message appearing when running on LP. That is what is puzzling.
__________________
Tom and Lerinda Sanders
2004 Fleetwood Terra 31H
rrtom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2011, 10:58 PM   #8
Registered User
 
Vintage RV Owners Club
Gulf Streamers Club
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 4,954
I'd have the control board looked at.
__________________
Midniteoyl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2011, 06:34 AM   #9
paz
Senior Member
 
paz's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Full-timers - Home is where we park it.
Posts: 4,716
Quote:
Originally Posted by rrtom View Post
No, we don't get any error messages when running on LP. Only on AC do we get the No Fl message. And manuals, google, etc. only reference the No Fl error message appearing when running on LP. That is what is puzzling.
I'm with Gary and Jim, if the fridge is working fine on LP and you only get the No Fl error message when operating on AC when there is not supposed to be a flame, it sounds like your control board is messed up.
__________________
2015 DRV Tradition 375KPS
2015 Chevy Duramax 3500HD LTZ Dually
Full-timers...Home is where we park it.
Check out our blog: Living Our Dream
paz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2011, 07:19 AM   #10
Senior Member
 
RJay's Avatar
 
Newmar Owners Club
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 4,589
I'm also with Gary but in addition be sure you have power going to your heating element, it could be a bad heating element.
__________________
2007 Newmar DSDP 4023
Discovery is seeing what everyone else has seen and thinking what no one else has thought.
If you want to see what man made go East; if you want to see what God made go West.
RJay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2011, 08:00 AM   #11
Senior Member
 
akadeadeye's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Boerne, Texas
Posts: 1,383
I had this same problem and discovered that I had not set it on Auto correctly. When you scroll through the options and AU comes up, press and hold on the AU for several seconds and it will be set on Auto.

This solved my problem. I hope yours is this simple.

Don
__________________

__________________
2009 Newmar 42 ft. Allstar 4188, Wheelchair Accessible, 400HP Cummins ISL, Allison 3000, Mastertow Dolly, '98 Riviera
akadeadeye is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
norcold



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
norcold 1200 works on gas not electric wbrowning RV Systems & Appliances 1 06-27-2011 01:53 PM
Norcold Fridge help? Works on Electric but no gas ChallengerRV 5th Wheel Discussion 5 07-27-2008 03:39 AM
Norcold Refridgerator Doesn't Cool on Electric or Propane John Hilley RV Systems & Appliances 3 07-12-2008 06:25 PM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:48 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.