Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > MH-General Discussions & Problems
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 01-27-2011, 12:11 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
tedward1555's Avatar
 
Fleetwood Owners Club
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 360
Not accepting shore power

Hi Everyone;
Haven't posted in a while because things have been going very well with my Providence from Fleetwood. But... just when all was going so well the motor home stopped accepting shore power. Checked and replace the plug. Still not working. It's at the shop now and the tech says they think they've narrowed it down to the "transfer switch" which doesn't have any identification marks on it anywhere so they are waiting for a call back from Fleetwood (for 2 days now) to help identify it and test it.
Just posting here in the mean time to see if anyone here is familiar with such a problem and can offer any advice/direction.
Thanks so much.
Ed
__________________

__________________
tedward1555 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 01-27-2011, 12:45 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Palisade CO
Posts: 3,561
Yes it does sound like the transfer switch. It doesn't really have to be a Fleetwood spec'ed unit. It might be cheaper to buy a replacement from one of the many people that supply them. I see them 50 amp units which is probably what you have out there for anywhere from $150 to $200.

I just bought a Parallax 30 amp unit for $70.
__________________

__________________
Clay WA5NMR - Ex Snowbird - 1 year, Ex Full timer for 11 years - 2004 Winnebago Sightseer 35N Workhorse chassis. Honda Accord toad.
Clay L is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2011, 05:08 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
GaryKD's Avatar
 
Newmar Owners Club
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Wellington, Florida
Posts: 12,313
Hi tedward1555,
First is that the shop does not need Fleetwood to test a transfer switch. Anyone with a meter can check it out. For me this is a red flag about this shop. Unless you are a past customer and had good service I'd be very careful about this shop.

The transfer switch is a generic part that can be acquired from many sources. Any good shop could have turned the coach around and back out the door in 1/2 day, including waiting for the part to be delivered.

Google "RV transfer switch" and see the choices you get.
__________________
Gary
2005 Newmar KSDP 3910 + GMC ENVOY XUV 37K lbs Moving Down The Road
The Avatar Is Many Times Around The USA
Nobody Knows Your Coach Like Somebody Who Owns One Just Like Yours
GaryKD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2011, 05:42 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Tallyrver's Avatar


 
Heartland RV Club
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 695
I had the same problem a few months ago ,transfer switch had a loose neutral wire and burned up. I ordered one from Tweety's for 148.00 .CW world has them also but could not come close to the price. I installed it myself .

Progressive Dynamics RV Auto Transfer Relay System, 50 Amp
__________________
Wayne and Debbie
2014 Gateway 3650BH
2008 F350 dually diesel .
www.mudflapscampingclub.com
Tallyrver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2011, 05:56 PM   #5
Moderator Emeritus
 
RickO's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Litchfield Park, Arizona
Posts: 10,530
Quote:
Originally Posted by GaryKD View Post
Hi tedward1555,
First is that the shop does not need Fleetwood to test a transfer switch. Anyone with a meter can check it out. For me this is a red flag about this shop. Unless you are a past customer and had good service I'd be very careful about this shop.

The transfer switch is a generic part that can be acquired from many sources. Any good shop could have turned the coach around and back out the door in 1/2 day, including waiting for the part to be delivered.

Google "RV transfer switch" and see the choices you get.
Ditto
Ditto
__________________
Rick, Nancy, Peanut & Lola our Westie Dogs & Bailey the Sheltie.

2007 Itasca Ellipse 40FD
RickO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2011, 06:36 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
mahon1993's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Fowlerville, Mich.
Posts: 606
I have seen my share of loose 120volt connections on transfer switches. Sometimes loose connections cause odd problems and sometimes they will burn up the switch. I would encourage everyone to check the connections on their transfer switch. Of course make sure the land line in UNPLUGGED and the generator if NOT running.
Greg
__________________
2000 Monaco Diplomat 40PBD
2012 Grand Cherokee Limited
2008 FatBoy, three spoiled Great Danes and a cat.
mahon1993 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2011, 07:20 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Winnebago Owners Club
Join Date: May 2009
Location: AZ Mountains
Posts: 394
I'd suggest you take the rig away under some phony pretense and find another shop - one where the service writer echos what you've read here. Like the man said, you should have been in & out in a day or so, max. What they're probably doing now is to build up the invoice with lots of hours spent. (allegedly)
__________________
nbounder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2011, 07:35 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Barbaraok's Avatar
 
Alpine Owners Club
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Traveling in North America
Posts: 1,444
Also, while it may sound strange, often a thump from a rubber mallet is all that the transfer switch needs. Agree that that shop sounds very unethical. They can't figure out where the transfer switch is and identify which it is - really? If so, get your rig out of there as quickly as you can!

Barb
__________________
Barbara & David O'Keeffe
Figment II (Alpine 2002 36 MDDS)
On The Road since 2006
Blog
Barbaraok is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2011, 07:46 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: on the road
Posts: 99
If you are at all handy, the transfer switch is easy to replace yourself. My IOTA 50 Amp was clearly labeled and only tool you need is a screw driver. If you have an inverter, turn it off before doing the job.
__________________
Bruce & Nena on the road
heybc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2011, 10:21 AM   #10
Senior Member
 
tedward1555's Avatar
 
Fleetwood Owners Club
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 360
arrggghhh... I guess I'm gonna have to yank it from them today. He called and said the factory switch is $1,800 but he can get a non original switch for about $600... How the hell can someone be this dishonest.. this is the largest diesel truck repair company in Austin. I'm not handy, mechanical, or any of that at all. Before I yank this thing from them are you guys sure we're talking about the same thing? The man says "transfer switch". And he asked me to fax my good sam warranty info. Wouldn't Good Sam tell him he's crazy if he's trying such a scam?
Thanks for the help everyone
__________________
tedward1555 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2011, 10:35 AM   #11
Senior Member
 
Theberrys's Avatar


 
National RV Owners Club
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 2,605
Ted

Run like the wind from this guy. He's just trying to rip off your ESP provider, and we all pay for that.

I found this switch in my first search.
IOTA 50 Amp RV automatic transfer switch:Accessories:RV Transfer Switches
Look above the picture for links to the Owners Manual and wiring diag.

You can do this yourself in a couple hours for about $250. This guy is nuts asking almost $700 for a Xfer. switch.

If you want you can buy the switch and hire a guy to install it for you. Just check with your ESP for the process to submit the bills yourself. I'm sure for the cost delta they would agree to paying you direct for the part.

Dick
__________________
1999 Tradewinds 7372 Cat 3126
Albuquerque, NM
Theberrys is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2011, 10:58 AM   #12
Senior Member
 
GaryKD's Avatar
 
Newmar Owners Club
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Wellington, Florida
Posts: 12,313
Hi tedward1555,
You are correct, Good Sam should deter him from this price. However, if you have a Good Sam service contract, your cost will be the contract deductible. Not knowing what that is, it may still be okay for this shop to do the work. Good Sam will pick up the bulk of the cost, no matter what the guy charges. If you pull the coach now, the shop will charge you a diagnostic fee. You'll be responsible for this fee.

At this point, we are now talking about skill not money. The bottom line now is are you comfortable with the skill doing the work? As far as the money goes, that is why you have a service contract. Let him fight it out with Good Sam for the $s.

A word of caution, make sure Good Sam and the shop have agreed on the $s in writing. You don't want him doing the work and then holding your coach hostage because of a "misunderstanding".
__________________
Gary
2005 Newmar KSDP 3910 + GMC ENVOY XUV 37K lbs Moving Down The Road
The Avatar Is Many Times Around The USA
Nobody Knows Your Coach Like Somebody Who Owns One Just Like Yours
GaryKD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2011, 11:14 AM   #13
Registered User
 
Vintage RV Owners Club
Gulf Streamers Club
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 4,954
Go to the shop and ask the guy to physically show you what he is calling the 'transfer switch'.. take a pic and post it.
__________________
Midniteoyl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2011, 11:34 AM   #14
Senior Member
 
GaryKD's Avatar
 
Newmar Owners Club
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Wellington, Florida
Posts: 12,313
Hi Midniteoyl,
Good idea.
__________________

__________________
Gary
2005 Newmar KSDP 3910 + GMC ENVOY XUV 37K lbs Moving Down The Road
The Avatar Is Many Times Around The USA
Nobody Knows Your Coach Like Somebody Who Owns One Just Like Yours
GaryKD is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
No 12v unless on shore power Romer1 MH-General Discussions & Problems 24 07-21-2010 11:37 AM
No 12VDC when plugged into shore power RV 4 2 National RV Owner's Forum 4 10-07-2009 10:45 AM
Chassis battery charged by shore power? georgetown350 MH-General Discussions & Problems 18 03-26-2008 10:44 AM
1996 Adventurer--running both A/C from shore power DannyLong Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 7 08-29-2006 12:04 PM
How To Keep Engine Battery Charged While on Shore Power FLYTYER Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 15 06-18-2006 06:09 AM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:39 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.