Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > MH-General Discussions & Problems
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 09-27-2015, 10:54 AM   #1
Member
 
Holiday Rambler Owners Club
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Weeki Wachee
Posts: 62
Blog Entries: 1
New owner

Hi I bought a used 2007 Holiday Rambler Imperial 42 ft motor home. I can't get any power to work inside the unit from land or the generator. The converter will not come on. Is there a delay or master breaker some where? It worked when I got home on the generator but no more. I checked the breaker on the generator and it is OK. I did have it plunged into 110 volts and the I tried 240 sill nota. Any help would be great!
PS I checked the house batteries and the owner before me never added water four batteries took 3.5 gal of water.
__________________

__________________
allbrand1999 is online now   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 09-27-2015, 11:33 AM   #2
Member
 
Holiday Rambler Owners Club
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Weeki Wachee
Posts: 62
Blog Entries: 1
Oh boy

Hi everyone I hooked up 230 volts to a 110 volt plug. Now I have no power on coach Generator or shore Power? Did I fry the invert er?
__________________

__________________
allbrand1999 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2015, 11:43 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
Gordon Dewald's Avatar
 
Winnebago Owners Club
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 10,131
I hope it is something as simple as a breaker or a fuse. I have no idea but I suspect you are going to have major and costly repairs.
__________________
Gordon and Janet
Tour 42QD/inTech Stacker
Gordon Dewald is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2015, 03:23 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
jacwjames's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 4,597
Can you elaborate on how you hooked up 240 to a 120 plug????

Did you hook your standard 50 amp cord to shore power that was 240 volt????

Or did you hook your standard 50 amp plug to a 120 volt outlet?
__________________
Jim J
2002 Monaco Windsor 38 PKD
2005 Jeep Grand Cherokee w/5.7 Hemi
jacwjames is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2015, 03:47 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 9,799
Is it a 2 blade. 1 pin 30 amp plug ?

If yes, the converter or inverter/charger will fail. Could be fused.

Then there is the microwave, refrigerator, TV's and anything else powered at the time.

If you have a 50 amp 3 blade, 1 pin plug, it would be real hard to burn stuff up. It would blow the house breaker, unless you mixed up the wires and left a ground or neutral off.
__________________
twinboat is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2015, 05:55 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Selah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,319
Can you explain your wiring of the plug. If you put 230v across the 110 plugs hot and neutral then you probably fried something. Hopefully just a fuse or two.
Or are you saying that you wired your own adapter to plug the RV into a 110v house outlet?
__________________
Paul, Kathy, and Tux the Mini Schnauzer
2014 Tiffin Phaeton 42 LH, 2013 Honda CRV
"When the time comes to look back, make sure you'll like what you see"
Selah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2015, 06:05 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
stan5711's Avatar


 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Midland,Texas
Posts: 537
sounds like your going to need four new batteries for sure
__________________
Stanley & Barbara
2002 38" Monaco Knight Dp
stan5711 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2015, 07:11 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
BeltoneMagoo's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Texas
Posts: 400
First thing you need to do is check/replace the batteries. Most everything on your motor home is controlled by the 12vdc. Even AC items like air conditioners etc. Next is to look very carefully around your inverter/converter for 2 little "pop out" circuit breakers. They are hard to find. If they are extended you won't be getting AC to any outlets. Before you plug in again to any power you need to make sure that you use a four (4) wire plug AND CABLE to plug into a proper 240 volts source. A neutral is ABSOLUTELY required in addition to the ground. It will help if you get a test meter and get someone who knows how to use it to instruct you for future use.
Good luck, good health and safe travels!
__________________
Doug & Connie
2001 Holiday Rambler Imperial 41ft PBD 370hp ISL AF1 braking system
2001 Subaru Forester manual toad
BeltoneMagoo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2015, 09:36 AM   #9
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Canyon, TX
Posts: 488
It sounds like you may be in WAY over your head. Don't fret; we all get that way sometimes.

I would suggest that perhaps, rather than using your shotgun--batter, inverter, converter etc., etc. that it is perhaps time to invest in a professional RV Tech.

Yes I know. It costs. But so does throwing good money after bad. We all, sooner or later, need to get to the point where we learn to recognize the things we CAN do and those that are better turned over to a professional.

There is a REASON that they are paid big money. A Good one EARNS it.

Good Luck!
__________________
Traveling America In
"God's Grace"
MikeandClaudia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2015, 02:07 PM   #10
Member
 
Holiday Rambler Owners Club
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Weeki Wachee
Posts: 62
Blog Entries: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by jacwjames View Post
Can you elaborate on how you hooked up 240 to a 120 plug????

Did you hook your standard 50 amp cord to shore power that was 240 volt????

Or did you hook your standard 50 amp plug to a 120 volt outlet?
Yes they person I bought the RV from had a big adapter your take the coach 4 pin plug and put in one end and at the other end looked like a dryer plug. Witch I now know is a 110 volt end will I plunged that into my dryer 240 volt outlet. I have checked all the breakers in the coach turned them on and off no help. I was hopping there is a breaker on the Inverter? There are breakers above the driver and some say Inverter but they are okay. I was hopping there may be on on the Inverter it self?
__________________
allbrand1999 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2015, 02:20 PM   #11
Member
 
Holiday Rambler Owners Club
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Weeki Wachee
Posts: 62
Blog Entries: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by BeltoneMagoo View Post
First thing you need to do is check/replace the batteries. Most everything on your motor home is controlled by the 12vdc. Even AC items like air conditioners etc. Next is to look very carefully around your inverter/converter for 2 little "pop out" circuit breakers. They are hard to find. If they are extended you won't be getting AC to any outlets. Before you plug in again to any power you need to make sure that you use a four (4) wire plug AND CABLE to plug into a proper 240 volts source. A neutral is ABSOLUTELY required in addition to the ground. It will help if you get a test meter and get someone who knows how to use it to instruct you for future use.
Good luck, good health and safe travels!
I was going to do that replace the batteries. I had a question about that also. I saw the sister to my coach and it had six house batteries in a box where I have only four but room for six.And next to them in another box had the two 12 volt batteries to start motor. I have the other box and it is empty. Was wondering if there is any advantage to six over four other than they last longer. And at the end of all the six volts with all the crossing of wires do you end up with 12 volts?
__________________
allbrand1999 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2015, 02:25 PM   #12
Member
 
Holiday Rambler Owners Club
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Weeki Wachee
Posts: 62
Blog Entries: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by twinboat View Post
Is it a 2 blade. 1 pin 30 amp plug ?

If yes, the converter or inverter/charger will fail. Could be fused.

Then there is the microwave, refrigerator, TV's and anything else powered at the time.

If you have a 50 amp 3 blade, 1 pin plug, it would be real hard to burn stuff up. It would blow the house breaker, unless you mixed up the wires and left a ground or neutral off.
I had no appliances on that god!
__________________
allbrand1999 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2015, 02:31 PM   #13
Member
 
chideock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 33
allbrand1999

Trying to understand what you have and what you did but do not plug into a dryer 240v outlet.
__________________
New 2016/17 Sunseeker 3010ds. GVWR 14,500lbs, GCWR 22,000lbs, hitch rated 7,500lbs. Usually loaded to 14,300lbs maxing rear axle.
chideock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2015, 02:42 PM   #14
Senior Member
 
Mr_D's Avatar
 
Solo Rvers Club
iRV2 No Limits Club
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Vancouver, WA
Posts: 28,385
Quote:
Originally Posted by jacwjames View Post
Can you elaborate on how you hooked up 240 to a 120 plug????

Did you hook your standard 50 amp cord to shore power that was 240 volt????

Or did you hook your standard 50 amp plug to a 120 volt outlet?
Your standard 50 amp shore power is 240 V if measured across L1 and L2 just like an RV 50 amp requires.
The OP says he plugged into a 240 V 30 A dryer plugin which definitely blew something.
__________________

__________________
2009 45' Magna 630 w/Cummins ISX 650 HP/1950 Lbs Ft
Charter Good Sam Lifetime Member, FMCA, SKP
RV'ing since 1957, NRA Benefactor Life, towing '14 CR-V
Mr_D is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
holiday rambler



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Big Boy Trouble shooting SteveSkinner Monaco Owner's Forum 78 02-09-2016 04:10 PM
Georgie Boy Owners Club Defunct? mhbell Class A Motorhome Discussions 2 05-04-2015 05:13 AM
Could it be the Big Boy relay problem? Golfer Guy Monaco Owner's Forum 4 04-05-2015 10:38 PM
Big boy noise ken bauer Monaco Owner's Forum 26 12-24-2014 10:23 AM
Big Boy and BIRD - Learned Something Not in the Documents distaff Monaco Owner's Forum 4 10-27-2013 10:46 AM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:31 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.