Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > MH-General Discussions & Problems
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 08-17-2015, 09:11 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Florida Keys as often as we can
Posts: 30
old satellite dish, work with current systems?

I have a 2004 Keystone Raptor fifth wheel toy hauler with an apparently factory installed winegard satellite dish on the roof. It is a manual crank up dish, with no electronics I can find except for a little box on the roof inside with AA battery and a tiny lcd readout. No satellite box or any such in the tv bay, and to confound the problem I have no idea which of the jumbled cables feeding in there actually goes to the dish (I am assuming one of them does). I can probably dig in the literature and figure out the model if needed, but in general:

1. what are the odds of a dish that old actually working with a current satellite receiver at all?
2. If it will work, would I actually be better off and save myself headaches to replace it with a newer unit?
3. If I replace it, is it worth the trouble to replace it with another roof unit, or just get a carry out type dish?

Any way to test everything before I go out and buy a receiver and get a subscription just to find out I can't use it anyway?

On a separate note, I've looked every where on this camper, and I can't find anywhere for a cable tv in outlet. The last park we were in I had to run the cable through the window and hook it directly to the tv. Surely I am missing something.

Any ideas? Thanks!
__________________

__________________
dduerden is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 08-17-2015, 09:36 PM   #2
Registered User
 
mel s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 8,777
Quote:
Originally Posted by dduerden View Post
I have a 2004 Keystone Raptor fifth wheel toy hauler with an apparently factory installed winegard satellite dish on the roof. It is a manual crank up dish, with no electronics I can find except for a little box on the roof inside with AA battery and a tiny lcd readout. No satellite box or any such in the tv bay, and to confound the problem I have no idea which of the jumbled cables feeding in there actually goes to the dish (I am assuming one of them does). I can probably dig in the literature and figure out the model if needed, but in general:
1. what are the odds of a dish that old actually working with a current satellite receiver at all?
2. If it will work, would I actually be better off and save myself headaches to replace it with a newer unit?
3. If I replace it, is it worth the trouble to replace it with another roof unit, or just get a carry out type dish?
Any way to test everything before I go out and buy a receiver and get a subscription just to find out I can't use it anyway?
Thanks!
dduerden
Chances are that a '04 or newer Winegard satellite dish will work perfectly fine, (my '98 Kingdome has for 17 years).

To test your roof mounted Winegard satellite dish I suggest you borrow 2 working satellite receivers......(one from a DirecTV customer with a a paid and working DirecTV program subscription... and one from a Dish Netwrok customer with a paid and working Dish Network program subscription), and temporarily hook each one up in your RV.

Mel
'96 Safari, 141k miles
__________________

__________________
mel s is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2015, 09:44 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Mr_D's Avatar
 
Solo Rvers Club
iRV2 No Limits Club
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Vancouver, WA
Posts: 28,496
We had an automatic disk set for Direct TV in our 2002 DSDP that we factory ordered iin 2002. It worked fine with our new Direct TV receivers. And those same receivers work fine with the Magna's MotoSat 5 LNB dish we have now, although I do have to turn the dish controller off when it starts downloading info or it keeps on searching. Should replace the controller and that would make it truly automatic again.
__________________
2009 45' Magna 630 w/Cummins ISX 650 HP/1950 Lbs Ft
Charter Good Sam Lifetime Member, FMCA, SKP
RV'ing since 1957, NRA Benefactor Life, towing '14 CR-V
Mr_D is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2015, 10:39 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Florida Keys as often as we can
Posts: 30
Wow, that was fast! Thanks for the replies.

That brought up a question I hadn't thought of, is it for Dish or Direct TV, can I tell the difference without trying both? Or will it work for either? Sorry for the dumb questions, I've never used satellite of any kind. Actually that's not quite true, the parents had a 10' dish in the yard back in the 80's, but that doesn't count.

I've got some time to figure it out, we are going back to the Keys in December and there is no cable tv at our CG and only two (spanish) over the air stations. In past years we just wore out the Red Box while we were there. But that gets old.
__________________
dduerden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2015, 08:09 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
chuckbear's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Crystal River, Florida
Posts: 616
The dish will work fine. The determining factor will be the LNB and that can be replaced, but may not need to. If the dish has 3 adjustments, up and down, side by side and "skew", it will work on both DirecTV and Dish. But you will need to know what those adjustments are for your location in order to make it work. Most likely you would need a standard definition receiver to get a satellite signal. So it isn't as easy as connecting a receiver, not every receiver will work depending on whether it's HD or standard def. Standard usually will work with any dish. If your RV was not factory wired for cable you will need to add it. I would be surprised to find a 2004 did not have a cable outlet installed but other like owners could help more. Chuck
__________________
Chuck and Susan
1999 Fleetwood Bounder 34J
Triton V10 Gas
chuckbear is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2015, 08:18 AM   #6
Registered User
 
mel s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 8,777
Quote:
Originally Posted by dduerden View Post
Wow, that was fast! Thanks for the replies.

That brought up a question I hadn't thought of, is it for Dish or Direct TV, can I tell the difference without trying both? Or will it work for either? Sorry for the dumb questions, I've never used satellite of any kind. Actually that's not quite true, the parents had a 10' dish in the yard back in the 80's, but that doesn't count.

I've got some time to figure it out, we are going back to the Keys in December and there is no cable tv at our CG and only two (spanish) over the air stations. In past years we just wore out the Red Box while we were there. But that gets old.
dduerden
I'm a DirecTV customer... but at my home I use a DireTV receiver with a 18 inch "DISH" dish.
When I got my then 5 year old coach there's was a "stationary", (not an "in motion"), Kingdome on the roof.
However the Kingdome was set up for Dish network reception.
It had to be electronically changed/reprogrammed to work with the DirecTV receiver from my home.

Me thinks your "manual crank up Winegard dish" will work with either DirecTV or Dish...but you may have to try both......(unless you get lucky and it works with the first one you try).

Mel
96 Safari
__________________
mel s is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2015, 08:21 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
wa8yxm's Avatar
 
Damon Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 22,816
Since it is a crank up (The digital display is elevation) odds are good it will work... sort of.. with either Dish or DirecTV (But not DirecHDTV)

First: Single LNB Means one coax fitting, can run ONE receiver at a time
DUAL LNB one lens, 2 coax fittings, can run 2 or more (with proper switching) receivers.

Now the important stuff: your dish is likely a SOLO (SIngle or dual) LNB and thus can see one sat at a time, I believe it's in the KU band which covers DirecTV and all 3 Dish Birds.. So it will work,, Just no HD on Direc and on Dish you may have to re-point every time you change channels. This is annoying.

On some DirecHDTV receivers the 18" round antenna option is grayed out, It will not work with those devices.

Recommendation: Upgrade
__________________
Home is where I park it!
wa8yxm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2015, 11:11 AM   #8
JCM
Senior Member
 
JCM's Avatar
 
Triple E Owners Club
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Williams Lake,BC Canada
Posts: 990
You will probably need to replace the battery in the digital elevation finder - unless it is directly wired to 12 volts.
__________________
2007 Triple E - Empress Elite - Freightliner
WH 22 owner for 7 years
JCM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2015, 02:14 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 281
I have the same dish on a 2002 FW Expedition. Mine does not work! I suspect it is the LNB, but haven't put much time into troubleshooting it.

Anyone know how to test it?
__________________
head gamez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2015, 02:46 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
chuckbear's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Crystal River, Florida
Posts: 616
Quote:
Originally Posted by head gamez View Post
I have the same dish on a 2002 FW Expedition. Mine does not work! I suspect it is the LNB, but haven't put much time into troubleshooting it.

Anyone know how to test it?
You should be able to run a diagnostic using the satellite set up in the receiver. It will do a system chack and let you know if anything is wrong. But it's hard to say since "mine does not work" can mean a lot of things. Chuck
__________________
Chuck and Susan
1999 Fleetwood Bounder 34J
Triton V10 Gas
chuckbear is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2015, 02:49 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 281
Quote:
Originally Posted by chuckbear View Post
You should be able to run a diagnostic using the satellite set up in the receiver. It will do a system chack and let you know if anything is wrong. But it's hard to say since "mine does not work" can mean a lot of things. Chuck


Thanks

I went through all of that with DirecTV and Winegard (awesome customer service at Winegard) and we just determined that the dish didn't work. I am actually planning to replace it with a Travel'r but saw this thread and figured I would put it out there.
__________________
head gamez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2015, 03:09 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
chuckbear's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Crystal River, Florida
Posts: 616
Well the dish part can't be an issue. Try and borrow an LNB if you can and swap it out to see what happens. Chuck
__________________
Chuck and Susan
1999 Fleetwood Bounder 34J
Triton V10 Gas
chuckbear is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2015, 03:18 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
Triker56's Avatar
 
Fleetwood Owners Club
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 3,948
Just replace it with a Trav'ler. You need to know what service your are going with first. As it will make a difference which Trav'ler is installed.
__________________
99 Discovery 34Q ISB
2014 MKS AWD EcoBoost Toad
Fulltime Since "99"
Triker56 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2015, 08:57 PM   #14
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 281
old satellite dish, work with current systems?

We have direcTV... Like I said, no issues. Was just trying to get the current satellite going for a few races and camping trips this year. It was going to be replaced regardless due to not having HD.
__________________

__________________
head gamez is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
dish, satellite



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dome in-motion satellite vs Winegard auto seek satellite dish Rogerm60 Technology: Internet, TV, Satellite, Cell Phones, etc. 20 02-21-2015 09:21 PM
Need advice on DISH satellite antenna gramps66 Technology: Internet, TV, Satellite, Cell Phones, etc. 16 02-09-2015 04:11 PM
Dish Satellite reception in Canada GySgtUSMC Newmar Owner's Forum 1 02-02-2015 06:09 PM
HD Dish Network DVR not working with Kingdome in-motion satellite dish ? Harry B Technology: Internet, TV, Satellite, Cell Phones, etc. 14 05-02-2014 09:38 AM
Home Satellite Dish for RV deputydog Technology: Internet, TV, Satellite, Cell Phones, etc. 13 03-29-2014 03:49 PM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:08 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.