Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > MH-General Discussions & Problems
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 01-28-2009, 07:21 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Everywhere!
Posts: 7
I've had the Command 30 installed since late 2005 without any problems with it working well.

But now it gets confused when on QUIET. I've tried to service it and suspect something wrong with the unit itself but I though I would ask if anyone else has any ideas.

When on QUIET with an 8pm stop time, it will predictively start the generator approx 6pm. At 7:30pm (for example), when it sees the 14.2 volts, it will shut down and if I look at the status message, it will say battery full as the reason it shut down.

But then it will start right back up again with a message of battery low.

I've noticed a discrepancy in the voltage bar graph and the digital numbers. Sometimes the graph will show low but the numbers will show the correctly voltage of 13.8v (for example).

The numbers always show the correct voltage as compared against the battery, within a 10th or so.

If I pull the connector to remove power, it seems to reset for a while and the graph matches the numbers. But not for long.

It seems to be confused with the voltage graph not being accurate.

Anyone have any ideas as to what to check?

Thanks!
__________________

__________________
Living fulltime with my Italian Greyhounds, Molly and Meg in my 2003 National Tradewinds Cabo towing a 2002 Jeep Grand Cherokee.
Scott N Molly is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 01-29-2009, 02:02 AM   #2
Community Moderator
 
RV Wizard's Avatar


 
Country Coach Owners Club
Appalachian Campers
Gulf Streamers Club
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Chattanooga, Tn.
Posts: 12,062
It sounds like you have a bad board. I would suggest you contact Onan about your scenario.
__________________

__________________
Mike, RVIA & RVSA Certified Master RV Technician
Amy, Dr. Assistant - Roxie & Mei Ling, four legs each
2000 Gulf Stream Scenic Cruiser 450 hp & 1330# torque
06 Saturn Vue, 06 Chevy Z71 4x4 & 2014 Corvette Z51 M7
RV Wizard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2009, 12:32 PM   #3
Moderator Emeritus
 
Cruzer's Avatar


 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Sheboygan, WI
Posts: 4,902
Yep, it sounds like some scrambled logic in the EPROMs. You may need a new panel.
__________________
Mark & Leann Quasius
2016 Cornerstone 45A
2007 Allegro Bus 42QRP (Sold)
2012 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited - Rubicon
Cruzer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2009, 07:47 PM   #4
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Everywhere!
Posts: 7
It looks like Onan/CUmmins agrees with everyone and is going to replace it!

Thanks for the replies.
__________________
Living fulltime with my Italian Greyhounds, Molly and Meg in my 2003 National Tradewinds Cabo towing a 2002 Jeep Grand Cherokee.
Scott N Molly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2009, 06:02 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
born2camp's Avatar
 
Tiffin Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Salt Lake City, UT
Posts: 117
Just wondering if that fixed your problem? I had a similar problem but found that my battery "sense" voltage and delay for that drop was set too low. I adjusted this and seems to have fixed my premature "restart" issue.
__________________
2005 Allegro Bay 37DB
born2camp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2009, 12:59 PM   #6
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Everywhere!
Posts: 7
I'm waiting for the replacement panel. After troubleshooting with the GREAT tech support at Onan/Cummins, they decided the unit needed to be replaced.

I'll let you know when I get it.
__________________

__________________
Living fulltime with my Italian Greyhounds, Molly and Meg in my 2003 National Tradewinds Cabo towing a 2002 Jeep Grand Cherokee.
Scott N Molly is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Onan Energy Command 30 Install Question mikeyj67 RV Systems & Appliances 11 05-15-2008 07:29 AM
Onan Energy Command System jimandsue60 Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 3 02-19-2008 03:11 PM
onan energy command cmaserv Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 2 01-14-2008 05:04 PM
Onan Energy Command System RV Systems & Appliances 3 12-31-1969 07:00 PM
Onan Energy Command 30 Install Question Alpine Coach Owner's Forum 11 12-31-1969 07:00 PM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:22 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.