Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > MH-General Discussions & Problems
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 09-15-2012, 07:44 PM   #15
Registered User
 
Vintage RV Owners Club
Gulf Streamers Club
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 4,954
My gas gauge shows full at a 1/4 tank
__________________

__________________
Midniteoyl is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 09-15-2012, 10:33 PM   #16
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 6
ok, I noticed my RV was not completely level, moved it ...still no gas pickup through the generator hose. Put in another 5 gallons. Checked my gas gauge and it showed 1/2 tank exactly...huh? lol.

But I blew air through the hose and heard faint sound of bubbles. Hooked it back up to the Onan, and after it cranked a few times, it pulled gas up into the clear gas filter I installed and a few more cranks and it started.

Ran it for a hour. Only time it paused is when the a/c kicked in.

Now if I could just get that refrigerator/freezer to work..

oh, I do still need to buy two new house batteries....tomorrow is another day.
__________________

__________________
Walkingant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2012, 06:37 PM   #17
Senior Member
 
monkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Arkansas
Posts: 2,250
The fridge needs 12v to operate, even with 120v present.. Those new batteries may just fix that too....
__________________
Monkey, pilot of a Great Dane hauler,
2015 Silverado 2500 Duramax/Alison 4x4 CrewCab 2016 Cougar 28SGS
1ST CAV
monkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2014, 07:24 PM   #18
Member
 
orrconst's Avatar
 
Fleetwood Owners Club
Ford Super Duty Owner
Carolina Campers
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Maple Hill NC
Posts: 43
I have a 07 bounder w/ a onan 5500hgjab 1038 spec d. Has worked good since new. I run it w/ ac for at least 2 hrs a month. This year during a trip that averaged 90* it wouldn't run for more than 2hrs. Changed oil that had only 34hrs. changed plugs, fuel filter and got rid of second filter on carb. Still only get about 2hrs. I want to change fuel pump and filter again. They say they changed the fuel pump # because the old #149-2620 was causing a lot of problems. Does anyone know the new #s on the fuel pump and filter? Thanks Bill
__________________
Bill and Jeannette, just Loving Grandkids and Life.
Semper Fi
07 36Z Bounder-2014 Ram 1500
orrconst is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2014, 08:09 PM   #19
Senior Member
 
BFlinn181's Avatar
 
Gulf Streamers Club
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Cincinnati
Posts: 16,208
Quote:
Originally Posted by orrconst View Post
I have a 07 bounder w/ a onan 5500hgjab 1038 spec d. Has worked good since new. I run it w/ ac for at least 2 hrs a month. This year during a trip that averaged 90* it wouldn't run for more than 2hrs. Changed oil that had only 34hrs. changed plugs, fuel filter and got rid of second filter on carb. Still only get about 2hrs. I want to change fuel pump and filter again. They say they changed the fuel pump # because the old #149-2620 was causing a lot of problems. Does anyone know the new #s on the fuel pump and filter? Thanks Bill
Did anyone try to read error codes after shutdown? I wonder if it overheated. Check for a mouse nest in generator box or air vent. Also the oil pressure switch will shut it down if pressure is low, are you sure it has the proper oil in it?

When it shut down, how long until you could restart it?
__________________

Bob & Donna
'98 Gulf Stream Sun Voyager DP being pushed by a '00 Beetle TDI
BFlinn181 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2014, 06:22 PM   #20
Member
 
orrconst's Avatar
 
Fleetwood Owners Club
Ford Super Duty Owner
Carolina Campers
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Maple Hill NC
Posts: 43
Yes I have a 36 code, checked and do debris, using onan oil, I let it set for 30 min. and it will restart. I also replaced carb and fuel line.
__________________
Bill and Jeannette, just Loving Grandkids and Life.
Semper Fi
07 36Z Bounder-2014 Ram 1500
orrconst is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2014, 07:57 PM   #21
rca
Senior Member
 
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Stratford, ON, Canada
Posts: 112
I have the same gen set with only 30 hours on it ... same code 36 with plenty of fuel. Generator will run for a few minutes and shuts down.
Did you find a cure for your troubles?
__________________
08 Destination 39W
09 HHR SS in tow
rca is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2014, 08:45 PM   #22
Senior Member
 
DonDee's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Spring Valley AZ
Posts: 1,204
"They need a trap door from inside,... "

__________________
Don, Mary and Spooky
'00 Bluebird Skoolie Conversion
Geo Tracker/Dodge Neon/Aprilia Scooter towed
DonDee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2014, 03:59 PM   #23
Senior Member
 
Hooligan's Avatar
 
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Pensacola
Posts: 2,204
Service manual for the 6500 is here.
http://www.cumminsonan.com/www/pdf/m.../965-0531B.pdf
__________________
Hooligan, Pensacola, Fl -U.S. Coast Guard 1956-1985
2016 Thor Siesta Sprinter 24ST diesel
Our Pug "Lily" & "George" the Newfoundland
Hooligan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2014, 04:00 PM   #24
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 171
Quote:
Originally Posted by DonDee View Post
"They need a trap door from inside,... "

How did you determine where to cut the trap door?
__________________
Don and Barb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2014, 04:03 PM   #25
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 171
My gen will run great when I hook it up to a external fuel tank but not the RV fuel tank. I hooked it up to an external and ran it, then I hooked it back up to the main; it started right up an ran for about 2 minutes then died as soon as the carb ran out the gas it took from the external. I have more than a 1/2 tank of gas. I replaced the fuel filter at the gen, now plugs, oil filter and oil. Will crank but not run. I either have a hole in my fuel line; a secondary in-line fuel filter or my pick up tube broke. PIA to drop the tank!
__________________
Don and Barb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2014, 04:12 PM   #26
Senior Member
 
Brockx's Avatar


 
Fleetwood Owners Club
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Punta Gorda FL.
Posts: 2,630
Someone else posted awhile back their fuel line was collapsing, ethanol.
__________________
2008 Bounder 38P F53 24/30K V10, 2013 Kia Soul Basic 6 speed manual, Ready Brake Elite tow system (previous equipment 1996 Pace Arrow Vision w/Acme Dolly)
Brockx is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2014, 04:23 PM   #27
Senior Member
 
BFlinn181's Avatar
 
Gulf Streamers Club
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Cincinnati
Posts: 16,208
Quote:
Originally Posted by Don and Barb View Post
My gen will run great when I hook it up to a external fuel tank but not the RV fuel tank. I hooked it up to an external and ran it, then I hooked it back up to the main; it started right up an ran for about 2 minutes then died as soon as the carb ran out the gas it took from the external. I have more than a 1/2 tank of gas. I replaced the fuel filter at the gen, now plugs, oil filter and oil. Will crank but not run. I either have a hole in my fuel line; a secondary in-line fuel filter or my pick up tube broke. PIA to drop the tank!
Many generators have an electric fuel pump in the line. It's low pressure, don't replace with a generic auto fuel pump. Check you manual to see if your generator has one. If you take fuel line off at the filter, you can use an air hose to see if you can blow back to the tank and hear bubbling. (Take fuel cap off tank) Also, someone recently found that the in line fuse for the fuel pump was corroded and created the lack of gas issue.
__________________

Bob & Donna
'98 Gulf Stream Sun Voyager DP being pushed by a '00 Beetle TDI
BFlinn181 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2014, 12:35 AM   #28
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Houston, Texas, United States
Posts: 27
Blow back through hose, after a clunk sound, had clear line. Then it ran fine for mine.
__________________

__________________
preemiedad3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
generator, onan



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:48 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.