Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > MH-General Discussions & Problems
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 11-19-2012, 11:06 AM   #1
Junior Member
 
CREWofMAROON's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 15
Angry Partial power loss on shore power?

I have a 2000 39z DP Bounder with an Onan 7500 QD.

Last month, I just replaced the 4 house batteries and 2 chassis batteries.
A couple of weeks ago, we went to a campsite and plugged into shore power (30amp service). After a few hours we lost partial power. The outlets were working along with some lights, but the fridge and water pump shut off. I checked all breakers and all were fine. So, I decided to fire up the motorhome. After about 3-5 minutes, everything came on.

Is there a transfer switch somewhere that could have gone bad?
__________________

__________________
CREWofMAROON is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 11-19-2012, 11:58 AM   #2
Member
 
ramblerman's Avatar
 
Fleetwood Owners Club
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Easton, PA
Posts: 91
Send a message via AIM to ramblerman
I also have the same vechicle! 2000 39Z

The water pump is 12V and operates on that even when plugged in to shore power.

My fridge can be picky sometimes and gets confused and does not know if it should be on propane or shore power.

The first thing that needs to be checked everytime you plug in to shore power is the amperage service AC indicator on the control panel to make sure it shows 30A and that AC is "in" Sometimes it will show a lower amperage as it also 'gets confused' sometimes and needs to be set manually.

Lastly, check the how the plug mates to the recepticle as sometime the prongs need to be adjusted to make better contact. I had to replace my plug once because the campground plug was bad making arcs and melting my plug.

If I can be of more help, call me at work weekdays 610-559-8180
__________________

__________________
Ted & Theresa 'TnT' and the cats
Easton, PA 2000 Bounder DP 39z
ramblerman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2012, 12:05 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
MattC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: SE Michigan
Posts: 459
I wold need to be there with a meter in hand, but it sounds like your converter was not powered up or was shut down some how. Both your dual power reefer and potable pump need DC.

Matt
__________________
A lifelong waterman and his bride going dry places for as long as the fuel money lasts.
MattC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2012, 12:06 PM   #4
Junior Member
 
CREWofMAROON's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 15
I am at my rig right now and decided to check the battery indicator for the house batteries up front on dash and it is red /low. So it apears my house barriers are not charging on shore power.
__________________
CREWofMAROON is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2012, 01:02 PM   #5
YC1
Senior Member
 
YC1's Avatar


 
Holiday Rambler Owners Club
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 5,563
When you changed your batteries you may have dropped the charge line from the converter or blown a fuse on the converter charge line. Or you just need to tighten all of the cables again. The 12 volts is needed to run the electronics on the refer and the pump. Why some light are working is a mystery but could be related to wiring left off or blown fuses.
__________________
Myron & Deborah
08 HR Endeavor 40 SKQ
2012 Ford Edge Limited FWD 3.5L
Aluminator tow bar, Demco base plate
YC1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2012, 01:47 PM   #6
Junior Member
 
CREWofMAROON's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by YC1 View Post
When you changed your batteries you may have dropped the charge line from the converter or blown a fuse on the converter charge line. Or you just need to tighten all of the cables again. The 12 volts is needed to run the electronics on the refer and the pump. Why some light are working is a mystery but could be related to wiring left off or blown fuses.

Where are the fuses for the inverter? I believe I have the Xantrex Freedom 458.
__________________
CREWofMAROON is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2012, 07:17 PM   #7
YC1
Senior Member
 
YC1's Avatar


 
Holiday Rambler Owners Club
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 5,563
Inverter Charger | Freedom 458 Inverter/Charger | Xantrex

Check out the manual because I don't have that model.
__________________
Myron & Deborah
08 HR Endeavor 40 SKQ
2012 Ford Edge Limited FWD 3.5L
Aluminator tow bar, Demco base plate
YC1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2012, 11:58 AM   #8
Member
 
ramblerman's Avatar
 
Fleetwood Owners Club
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Easton, PA
Posts: 91
Send a message via AIM to ramblerman
IN the right rearmost cargo compartment behind a small black panel are the fuses you are looking for.
__________________
Ted & Theresa 'TnT' and the cats
Easton, PA 2000 Bounder DP 39z
ramblerman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2012, 08:37 AM   #9
Member
 
ramblerman's Avatar
 
Fleetwood Owners Club
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Easton, PA
Posts: 91
Send a message via AIM to ramblerman
Forgot to mention, try turning the battery switches above the entry door on and off. Sometimes that can re-set the relay.
__________________
Ted & Theresa 'TnT' and the cats
Easton, PA 2000 Bounder DP 39z
ramblerman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2012, 01:12 PM   #10
FW
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Livingston, TX, USA
Posts: 57
Power loss

If you are a 50amp RV, check output of adapter from 30 amp plug.
I had one that only applied power to one half of 50 amp service cord.
__________________

__________________
Frank
2005 BTCruiser 2750 always
2005 Tracker 4X4 usually
FW is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
power



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:58 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.