Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > MH-General Discussions & Problems
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 11-01-2011, 06:57 PM   #1
Moderator Emeritus
 
SarahW's Avatar


 
Fleetwood Owners Club
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: In a lawnchair
Posts: 11,204
"Plugging In" Motor Home to Residential Power

I apologize in advance for my newbie questions.

Is it possible to "plug in" a 50 AMP motor home to a house? Is it as simple as using some sort of converter? Say we were visiting relatives ... could the MH temporarily be "plugged in" to residential power without damaging the MH or the house? What would be required to do this, if it's possible? Thanks.
__________________

__________________
SarahW is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 11-01-2011, 07:06 PM   #2
Junior Member
 
goodtime's Avatar
 
Nor'easters Club
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 24
yes u can with a adapter u can plug into 120 outlet,u will have to run 1or2 things at a time,will keep batt charged,and no damage
__________________

__________________
goodtime is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2011, 07:07 PM   #3
Registered User
Commercial Member
 
Fleetwood Owners Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 56
Quote:
Originally Posted by SarahW View Post
I apologize in advance for my newbie questions.

Is it possible to "plug in" a 50 AMP motor home to a house? Is it as simple as using some sort of converter? Say we were visiting relatives ... could the MH temporarily be "plugged in" to residential power without damaging the MH or the house? What would be required to do this, if it's possible? Thanks.
With the proper adapter you can plug your motorhome into a 15 or 20 amp plug in. These can be purchased at most RV stores. You will be very limited on what you can turn on. Learn how to manage your amps being used and approx. what each component draws.
__________________
Wayne Pryor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2011, 07:34 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 117
Pluging into residential power

I made an adapter to plug into my in-laws 240 volt welding plug in the garage. It was wired for 50 amps so I was able to run both AC's and everything else. Your coach (and mine) is wired for a double ground (4 wires) and the welding plug was only 3 wires so that was the reason for the adapter.

Dave
__________________
Sportech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2011, 07:50 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
slickest1's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: B.C.
Posts: 3,719
I plug my coach in to residential power at our kids place all the time when we are visiting. We can use everything in the coach up to one air conditioner. When using that you can't use the micro wave or any other appliance. Most residential plugs are 20amp at best so will only run lights, water pump furnace fan etc. It will also keep batteries charged. If it is really hot and we want to use the air conditioners we will use the generator. Hope that helps.
__________________
Dennis & Marcie & Captain Hook The Jack Russell,aka PUP, 04 Dodge/Cummins 01 Citation 29.rk fifth wheel.RVM59
slickest1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2011, 07:54 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
WeatherTodd's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: FL
Posts: 1,155
just be careful of the wiring in the home. I plugged my rig into a garage outlet of my friends house built in the 70s... felt the wall before going to bed and it was pretty hot. Sure it was a 20amp curcuit but the romex wire was low grade.
__________________
WeatherTodd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2011, 08:05 PM   #7
Community Moderator
 
"007"'s Avatar


 
Nor'easters Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
iRV2 No Limits Club
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 26,788
Follow this thread with adapters and if you have a outlet added for 50 amp service at house have electrician follow correct wiring or you can do real damage to you coach if not followed.
__________________
98KSCA, 99MACA, 03 KSCA-3740- 8.1 Chev-- ALLISON Trans, now in good hands
VISIT the NEWMAR QUICK TIPS & EASYMODS 1 & 2
QUICK TIPS # 3
RV SYSTEMS & APPLIANCES & RECALLS --- TECH INFORMATION
"007" is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2011, 08:09 PM   #8
Moderator Emeritus
 
SarahW's Avatar


 
Fleetwood Owners Club
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: In a lawnchair
Posts: 11,204
Thanks, everyone! I appreciate the feedback.
__________________
SarahW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2011, 08:10 PM   #9
Moderator Emeritus
 
SarahW's Avatar


 
Fleetwood Owners Club
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: In a lawnchair
Posts: 11,204
Quote:
Originally Posted by WeatherTodd View Post
just be careful of the wiring in the home. I plugged my rig into a garage outlet of my friends house built in the 70s... felt the wall before going to bed and it was pretty hot. Sure it was a 20amp curcuit but the romex wire was low grade.
Todd--this is my biggest concern. Thanks.
__________________
SarahW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2011, 08:11 PM   #10
Moderator Emeritus
 
SarahW's Avatar


 
Fleetwood Owners Club
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: In a lawnchair
Posts: 11,204
Quote:
Originally Posted by 007";998726][B][URL="http://www.rv-dreams.com/rv-electrical.html
Follow this thread[/URL][/B] with adapters and if you have a outlet added for 50 amp service at house have electrician follow correct wiring or you can do real damage to you coach if not followed.
I'll check it out; thank you for the link.
__________________
SarahW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2011, 09:19 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
MaxTurner1's Avatar
 
Nor'easters Club
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Carmel, IN
Posts: 140
Send a message via ICQ to MaxTurner1
Yes, BUT, be sure to turn off the house mains. The 100 or 200 amp breakers at the top of the panel. Then turn off most of the breakers, only leaving about 30 or 40 amps worth of breakers on. If you don't abide by these rules, when the power comes on -- your genset will be a goner. Also if someone is working to restore your power, you could electrocute them. Even down the block. Also, the house wiring can only take so much since you are back feeding it. BE CAREFUL.
__________________
Radio Engineer
2005 Winnebago Adventurer 35A
Toad 2010 Jeep Liberty / Blue Ox Aladdin
MaxTurner1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2011, 09:33 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
Ramblin's Avatar
 
National RV Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Ford Super Duty Owner
Carolina Campers
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 2,253
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sportech View Post
I made an adapter to plug into my in-laws 240 volt welding plug in the garage. It was wired for 50 amps so I was able to run both AC's and everything else. Your coach (and mine) is wired for a double ground (4 wires) and the welding plug was only 3 wires so that was the reason for the adapter.

Dave
I didn't think you could do this, because the welder plug lacks a ground (or a neutral, can't remember which). Can you wire the common to the ground for the 4th wire?
__________________
Ramblin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2011, 09:56 PM   #13
Moderator Emeritus
 
RickO's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Litchfield Park, Arizona
Posts: 10,530
We spend a month each summer at my FIL's place in Minnesota and have to live on a 15 amp connection. There's no way we can run AC without the generator running but we've learned to manage our power draw by running the refrigerator and hot water heater on propane only and limiting the on board battery charger in 5 or 10 amp draw. If heat is required we also only run the propane heat.

Good luck

Rick
__________________
Rick, Nancy, Peanut & Lola our Westie Dogs & Bailey the Sheltie.

2007 Itasca Ellipse 40FD
RickO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2011, 10:04 PM   #14
Senior Member
 
akadeadeye's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Boerne, Texas
Posts: 1,383
You need a 50 amp to 30 amp adapter, and a 30 amp to 15/20 amp adapter. Then you can plug in to the house. Stay away from 240v plugs in a house. They are meant for a dryer, not a motorhome.

Don
__________________

__________________
2009 Newmar 42 ft. Allstar 4188, Wheelchair Accessible, 400HP Cummins ISL, Allison 3000, Mastertow Dolly, '98 Riviera
akadeadeye is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
power



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Workhorse loss of power Lynxgolfer Workhorse and Chevrolet Chassis Motorhome Forum 19 06-25-2011 11:02 AM
Winegard power supply problems nhcouple Technology: Internet, TV, Satellite, Cell Phones, etc. 3 06-14-2011 11:41 AM
Pure Power opens Navistar engine research center in South Carolina DriVer Navistar MaxxForce Engine Forum 0 01-26-2010 04:02 PM
No aux power from house batteries John Trent Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 7 02-17-2008 11:59 AM
No Eletrical Power from Power Tech Generator Field Trip Newmar Owner's Forum 5 09-27-2005 06:23 PM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:34 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.