Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > MH-General Discussions & Problems
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 03-30-2013, 01:22 PM   #29
Community Administrator
 
Clifftall's Avatar


 
Fleetwood Owners Club
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 29,121
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camper Ken View Post

How did you install yours? Any photos? I have the 50 amp portable model on order and am thinking of installing it in the bay.
Thanks!


Click image for larger version

Name:	image-1884211286.png
Views:	147
Size:	1.17 MB
ID:	35937

I cut the power cord ( unplugged of course ) and put a male and female plug on the cut ends and plugged the EMS into them. WaLa.
__________________

__________________


Cliff,Tallulah and Buddy ( 1999-2012 )
Clifftall is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 03-30-2013, 02:11 PM   #30
Senior Member
 
Tiffin Owners Club
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Full Timing
Posts: 154
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camper Ken View Post
7 times in 5 years? Makes me wonder what it's being subjected to, to fail so many times. Did they tell you what were the 6 other "failures"?
We are full timers so it is used all the tine. Once was a lightning strike, it was supposed to give its life for that, 2 times they said it was moisture although it is supposed to be water proof and the other times they said were internal failures.
the last time I sent it in for repair when I got it back and plugged it in one leg showed 120 volts and other other showed 75 volts, I checked the pedestal with my volt meter and the power was fine on both legs so I called and they said they forgot to replace one board inside so they sent me a replacement and I shipped the other one back.
__________________

__________________
Here's where we are
bthomforde is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2013, 02:55 PM   #31
Community Administrator
 
Clifftall's Avatar


 
Fleetwood Owners Club
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 29,121
Wow. Never heard of more than one or two. Good thing PI stands behind them.
__________________


Cliff,Tallulah and Buddy ( 1999-2012 )
Clifftall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2013, 09:41 AM   #32
Senior Member
 
w6pea's Avatar
 
Fleetwood Owners Club
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Chula Vista, Mexifornia
Posts: 1,010
Quote:
Originally Posted by macadnphyl View Post
I have the EMS-PT50C, I use a Python bike lock to secure it
to the post. I've used it over 200 nights at 50 different places.
It has saved me three times so far. I don't think someone
would steal it, but better safe than sorry.
Where did you find that brand of lock? Is that a Master Lock Product?
Thanks
__________________
Remember "Without Truck's......America Stops" RVM129
"Take me to the Brig. I want to see the "Real Marines".
Major General Chesty Puller, USMC -
"Semper Fi"
w6pea is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2013, 10:23 AM   #33
Senior Member
 
EDALLSAILS's Avatar
 
Thor Owners Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Port Charlotte, FL
Posts: 727
We have used the portable unit on 1 TT and two MH. One of Best things is being able to check out a sites electrical b-4 backing in and setting up. We remove from electrical bay, check post connection. if OK we put it back into bay on short power cord (pigtail) and back into site. then take BIG power cord and hook up just like it was a hard wired unit. the Progressive is safe, secure and out of site in the bay. Providing continuous electrical protection day and night. if you trade or sell your MH you just unplug the progressive with the short pigtail and move it to your next unit. safe travels...ed
__________________
EDALLSAILS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2013, 11:47 AM   #34
Senior Member
 
sfrantz's Avatar
 
National RV Owners Club
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 271
Quote:
Originally Posted by EDALLSAILS View Post
We have used the portable unit on 1 TT and two MH. One of Best things is being able to check out a sites electrical b-4 backing in and setting up.
Good point!
__________________
2008 National Pacifica 40D + 2007 Odyssey & 2 Segways
FMCA #F415856 & Thousand Trails Elite
Right, left, straight, or stay....decision of the day
sfrantz is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2013, 02:18 PM   #35
Senior Member
 
jackfish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Madison, Wisconsin
Posts: 951
Quote:
Originally Posted by EDALLSAILS View Post
One of Best things is being able to check out a sites electrical b-4 backing in and setting up.
Digital Monitor | Technology Research Corporation

30 amp male to 15/20 amp female adapter
50 amp male to 30 amp female adapter

I have a Progressive Industries EMS-HW30C hardwired in to my MH. I use the above digital monitor and a 30 amp male to 15/20 amp female adapter to check a site before plugging in.
__________________
jackfish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2013, 04:02 PM   #36
"Formerly Diplomat Don"
 
Dutch Star Don's Avatar
 
Newmar Owners Club
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Moorpark, Ca.
Posts: 9,283
My two cents! RVing is suppose to be about relaxing. To me, that means easy setup. I've been camping for over 40 years and I have had several types of RV's. As I graduate from one to another, I expect it to be roomier, require less setup and be more comfortable.

The part about requiring less setup includes things like power cord reels, automatic antennas, quick connect sewer and water lines and easy to access outdoor stuff like chairs and tables.

For me, using a builtin unit is just part of making life easy. I have a builtin SurgeGaurd unit and less is better. No dragging it around, no locks and no worry of theft. I plug my cord in, look at the lights on the panel and wait two minutes for the unit to do it's testing and click....it's on.

Buy what works best for you, but keep the setting up of your coach simple. It makes for a more pleasant trip. I don't even mind moving my coach if my sat is blocked or I need more room on the site or there is some other issue, because my coach is so easy to setup.
__________________
Don & Mary
2014 Newmar Dutch Star - All Electric - 450 ISL
2016 GMC Canyon 4WD Crew Cab
Dutch Star Don is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2013, 04:28 PM   #37
Senior Member
 
TdogKing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Small Town USA , California
Posts: 1,349
I share my portable surge protector between my Class A and Class B. I've always carried a 30 amp extension cord so I decided to use it and I keep the protector inside the compartment and use the extension to plug into power with. Works well and my Protector is out of the weather and curious eyes.
__________________
TdogKing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2013, 10:49 AM   #38
Senior Member
 
Camper Ken's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Oregon
Posts: 411
Quote:
Originally Posted by Clifftall View Post
You have described my installation exactly. No issues at all. I'm very pleased. Not to mention that it has done its job with a few low voltage episodes last year.


Attachment 35281

Cliff
I ordered and received my EMS-PT50C portable unit, and am going to get the 50 amp male and female plug and receptacle to wire mine like yours. Is there anything to watch out for when wiring the new plug and receptacle to the shore cord? I'm guessing the wires in the shore cord are color coded.

Thanks in advance for any advice.

Ken
__________________
Camper Ken is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2013, 12:09 PM   #39
Community Administrator
 
Clifftall's Avatar


 
Fleetwood Owners Club
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 29,121
My power cord is plugged into a receptacle in the ceiling of the bay. See it in the upper right of the photo I posted. It's a Marinco twist type. I bought a 3-4' length of power cord( pigtail ). I took off the Marinco female end of my power cord and put it on the pigtail on one end and a male plug on the other end. I then put a female end on the original power cord ( the end that had the Marinco plug ) . Then plugged everything ( power cord , pigtail and EMS ) together . Hope this helps.
__________________


Cliff,Tallulah and Buddy ( 1999-2012 )
Clifftall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2013, 12:31 PM   #40
Senior Member
 
what next's Avatar
 
Newmar Owners Club
Fleetwood Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Spartan Chassis
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Northern IL
Posts: 503
Quote:
Originally Posted by Clifftall View Post
My power cord is plugged into a receptacle in the ceiling of the bay. See it in the upper right of the photo I posted. It's a Marinco twist type. I bought a 3-4' length of power cord( pigtail ). I took off the Marinco female end of my power cord and put it on the pigtail on one end and a male plug on the other end. I then put a female end on the original power cord ( the end that had the Marinco plug ) . Then plugged everything ( power cord , pigtail and EMS ) together . Hope this helps.
I was going to get the hard wired one but after reading this, will do it this way.
__________________
2010 Dutch Star 4333
2009 Honda Accord- Brakemaster
what next is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2013, 02:06 PM   #41
Senior Member
 
Mike_Harriet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 776
Does the hard wired unit have a remote readout of power incoming? How do you tell if there is a power problem with the portable model without opening the power bay and looking ? Would that be a problem on a stormy night/day?
__________________
Mike_Harriet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2013, 02:19 PM   #42
Community Administrator
 
Clifftall's Avatar


 
Fleetwood Owners Club
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 29,121
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike_Harriet View Post
Does the hard wired unit have a remote readout of power incoming? How do you tell if there is a power problem with the portable model without opening the power bay and looking ? Would that be a problem on a stormy night/day?
There is a remote readout for an extra charge on the hard wired model. Otherwise there is a readout on the unit same as the portable. I keep two volt meters plugged in ( one on line 1 and the other on line 2. You really don't need to see the unit ( some like to ) If there's a problem it will do its thing.
__________________

__________________


Cliff,Tallulah and Buddy ( 1999-2012 )
Clifftall is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:00 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.