Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > MH-General Discussions & Problems
Click Here to Login
Register FilesVendors Registry Blogs FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 04-25-2019, 03:41 PM   #1
WDW

Propane mystery

In anticipation of some very chilly nights coming up and not wanting to use up my onboard propane, I had my local LP dealer make up a hose to use with a fresh 20 pound tank through my long-term stay connector. I have never used this hook up before, but I have used the other connection to power my flat top Grill.

However, after hooking it up and purging the lines by burning gas off through the stove, after a very short period of time the flame dies out. I rechecked all my connections and make sure that everything was properly seated and attempted to purge the line a second time. Again, the flame on the stove went out after less than a minute. I find that when I turn the stove back off and let it sit for several minutes it would appear that the line recharges and in turn will light burn off until it “runs out of gas”. I don’t have the same problem drawing propane from my onboard tank. That’s the mystery.

Is the pressure on a 20 pound portable tank of that much less than the onboard tank?

Any ideas?
WDW is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!