Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > MH-General Discussions & Problems
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 12-21-2012, 10:19 AM   #1
Senior Member
 
darbyjudy's Avatar
 
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 267
Replaced the Thermostat

I have a 2004 Gulfstream MH & it had a Dometric Thermostat. It was always very hard to keep the temp at a comfortable level. It would be too hot and then too cold. Read on the forum where several of the people used a Hunter 42995 thermostat and thought it to be much better. So went to Wal Mart and bought one for $19.98, then went to Radio Shack and bought a Sub min toggle switch SPST. Mounted it this morning and it looks so far to be much better. I will know better in about a week when I go camping over New Years. I will keep you updated on the results.
__________________

__________________
darbyjudy is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 12-21-2012, 05:40 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Fred and Bonnie's Avatar
 
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Pacific Northwest or SoCal
Posts: 2,839
Send a message via ICQ to Fred and Bonnie
I installed the Hunter unit for our Atwood furnace. Works great. Why the SPST toggle switch?

fred
__________________

__________________
Fred and Bonnie
2005 Dolphin LX 6375
Abby, Ruffles & Scarlett, "The Cats"
Fred and Bonnie is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2012, 07:40 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 49
I used the same - on mine I wired the toggle switch to give me the two fan speeds for the AC.

Stephen
1999 Tradition
__________________
stephen44 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2012, 05:53 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Fred and Bonnie's Avatar
 
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Pacific Northwest or SoCal
Posts: 2,839
Send a message via ICQ to Fred and Bonnie
Thanks Stephen.

fred
__________________
Fred and Bonnie
2005 Dolphin LX 6375
Abby, Ruffles & Scarlett, "The Cats"
Fred and Bonnie is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2012, 06:34 PM   #5
Moderator Emeritus
 
TXiceman's Avatar


 
Vintage RV Owners Club
Texas Boomers Club
Oklahoma Boomers Club
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Full Time, TX Home Base
Posts: 17,150
Blog Entries: 21
You do not want to operate the A/C on low speed. Too easy to freeze the coil.

Ken
__________________
Amateur Radio Operator (KE5DFR)|Full-Time! - 2012 6.7L Ford Crew Cab Dually -2013 HitchHiker Champagne 38RLRSB - Travel with one Standard Schnauzer and one small Timneh African Gray Parrot
TXiceman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2012, 05:46 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
H. Miller's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Texas Boomers Club
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 2,523
Wonder what one would do with a 5 button Dometic (that operates two a/c's)?
__________________
Hal & Ginny Miller '04 Beaver Santiam PRT40
'04 Saturn Vue - US Gear Brake - Blue Ox tow
4"girls" (3 Irish Setters - 1 Retriever) - RIP Annie
H. Miller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2012, 06:53 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
clyon51's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Arizona West RV Park, Yuma, Az
Posts: 4,117
Quote:
Originally Posted by H. Miller View Post
Wonder what one would do with a 5 button Dometic (that operates two a/c's)?
The only upgrade to the 5 Button CCC, is the CCC2. Home systems will not interchange with digital Dometic systems.

http://eldonrv.com/Thermostat-Multi-...Center-2-.aspx
__________________

__________________
John & Clare Lyon
2007 43.5' Monaco Dynasty Palace III (All Electric)
Towd: 2011 Chevy Equinox
clyon51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
thermostat



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:12 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.