Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > MH-General Discussions & Problems
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 05-15-2008, 05:40 AM   #1
Senior Member
 
69RoadRunner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Northern Virginny
Posts: 701
I'd like to get the 10 sensor Doran Pressure Pro setup for my soon-to-arrive Newmar Ventana. I'll pull my open car trailer sometimes and other times I'll pull a toad.

Can I swap the sensors between the trailer and the toad and reprogram the system for the appropriate pressure?
__________________

__________________
09 Newmar Ventana 3942 (bunkbeds for the munchkins)
08 Ford Taurus X AWD Toad
69 Road Runner Convertible 528 Hemi 4 Speed
69RoadRunner is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 05-15-2008, 05:40 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
69RoadRunner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Northern Virginny
Posts: 701
I'd like to get the 10 sensor Doran Pressure Pro setup for my soon-to-arrive Newmar Ventana. I'll pull my open car trailer sometimes and other times I'll pull a toad.

Can I swap the sensors between the trailer and the toad and reprogram the system for the appropriate pressure?
__________________

__________________
09 Newmar Ventana 3942 (bunkbeds for the munchkins)
08 Ford Taurus X AWD Toad
69 Road Runner Convertible 528 Hemi 4 Speed
69RoadRunner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2008, 06:13 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
Ecker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 770
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by 69RoadRunner:
I'd like to get the 10 sensor Doran Pressure Pro setup for my soon-to-arrive Newmar Ventana. I'll pull my open car trailer sometimes and other times I'll pull a toad.

Can I swap the sensors between the trailer and the toad and reprogram the system for the appropriate pressure? </div></BLOCKQUOTE>
-------------------------------------------
No reprogramming required. When you screw the sensor on it detects the pressure and set its as its starting point. This same process sis used to reset the sensor if the ambient temperature changes and you need to lower the existing set point. Take it off for a few seconds and then screw back on.
__________________
Ecker
Ecker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2008, 06:41 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
69RoadRunner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Northern Virginny
Posts: 701
Cool! That makes things easy.
__________________
09 Newmar Ventana 3942 (bunkbeds for the munchkins)
08 Ford Taurus X AWD Toad
69 Road Runner Convertible 528 Hemi 4 Speed
69RoadRunner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2008, 01:21 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
GaryKD's Avatar
 
Newmar Owners Club
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Wellington, Florida
Posts: 12,314
Remember to place the sensors on the same side and wheel position. This will keep you from having to reprogram the control panel. This info is from the original style system. It may be different for the new system.
__________________
Gary
2005 Newmar KSDP 3910 + GMC ENVOY XUV 37K lbs Moving Down The Road
The Avatar Is Many Times Around The USA
Nobody Knows Your Coach Like Somebody Who Owns One Just Like Yours
GaryKD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2008, 01:50 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
69RoadRunner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Northern Virginny
Posts: 701
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by GaryKD:
Remember to place the sensors on the same side and wheel position. This will keep you from having to reprogram the control panel. This info is from the original style system. It may be different for the new system. </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

That's good advice!
__________________
09 Newmar Ventana 3942 (bunkbeds for the munchkins)
08 Ford Taurus X AWD Toad
69 Road Runner Convertible 528 Hemi 4 Speed
69RoadRunner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2008, 03:23 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
PaulC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 100
In order to keep track of what sensor goes where I bought a silver sharpie pen and just write the location on each sensor. I also put the date I got the sensor so I know how long it has been in service.

Paul
__________________
Paul & Nancy

2004 Adventurer 38R
PaulC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2008, 01:49 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Gdlow's Avatar
 
National RV Owners Club
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Meridian, Idaho
Posts: 155
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by Ecker:
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by 69RoadRunner:
I'd like to get the 10 sensor Doran Pressure Pro setup for my soon-to-arrive Newmar Ventana. I'll pull my open car trailer sometimes and other times I'll pull a toad.

Can I swap the sensors between the trailer and the toad and reprogram the system for the appropriate pressure? </div></BLOCKQUOTE>
-------------------------------------------
No reprogramming required. When you screw the sensor on it detects the pressure and set its as its starting point. This same process sis used to reset the sensor if the ambient temperature changes and you need to lower the existing set point. Take it off for a few seconds and then screw back on. </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

This must be different than mine then...as an example, I use on my toad with 34 psi...and on a trailer with 55 psi...If it is set on the trailer psi, I need to reprogram it for the toad or it beeps continually as being under pressure...
__________________
Gdlow & The dizzybrd

2005 Dolphin
Gdlow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2008, 01:54 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
GaryKD's Avatar
 
Newmar Owners Club
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Wellington, Florida
Posts: 12,314
Gdlow,
This is not how my system works. I have the previous version, not what is now being sold. If my sensors are off the wheel for a few minutes, whatever PSI they record, when reinstalled, is the new baseline.

Consider leaving the sensors off the wheel for a while, before reinstalling them.
__________________
Gary
2005 Newmar KSDP 3910 + GMC ENVOY XUV 37K lbs Moving Down The Road
The Avatar Is Many Times Around The USA
Nobody Knows Your Coach Like Somebody Who Owns One Just Like Yours
GaryKD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2008, 09:41 AM   #10
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: FL
Posts: 19
Yes you can, just need to re-program the sensor positions on the display.
__________________
John & Mona

06 Mandalay 40E
John&Mona is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2008, 06:32 AM   #11
Senior Member
 
Gdlow's Avatar
 
National RV Owners Club
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Meridian, Idaho
Posts: 155
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by GaryKD:
Gdlow,
This is not how my system works. I have the previous version, not what is now being sold. If my sensors are off the wheel for a few minutes, whatever PSI they record, when reinstalled, is the new baseline.

Consider leaving the sensors off the wheel for a while, before reinstalling them. </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

Gary,
I do as I store them so as not to let the battery run down any faster...There is not a problem when moving from the trailer to the toad...as the psi is going from a higher to a lower range...when going the other way, the sensors read fine, but the alarm goes off in the coach...same thing happens if as an example I have the sensor set at a time when the morning temp is 70 degrees, and I drive to the mountains and take the sensors off..but when I am ready to leave several days later and I put them on again at a morning temperature of 40 degrees, the sensors will read under pressure and the alarm will sound until the pressure gets up thru tire heat...well in the car, it doesn't get as high as the trailer psi even when warm from driving...
__________________
Gdlow & The dizzybrd

2005 Dolphin
Gdlow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2008, 07:19 AM   #12
Senior Member
 
GaryKD's Avatar
 
Newmar Owners Club
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Wellington, Florida
Posts: 12,314
Gdlow,
Mine do not work like yours. I have the same scenario. Sometimes the sensors are on a high pressure tire and sometime they are on a low pressure tire. There is a gap of days/weeks of time when the sensors are off the tires completely. During this time, the control panel has power removed and the toad/dolly monitoring is turned off on the control panel. Mine work as I have previously posted.

Other than changing to configuration of the control panel and/or removing control panel power I have no idea why there is a difference.
__________________
Gary
2005 Newmar KSDP 3910 + GMC ENVOY XUV 37K lbs Moving Down The Road
The Avatar Is Many Times Around The USA
Nobody Knows Your Coach Like Somebody Who Owns One Just Like Yours
GaryKD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2008, 09:00 AM   #13
Senior Member
 
Gdlow's Avatar
 
National RV Owners Club
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Meridian, Idaho
Posts: 155
Not sure why they would be different either...Will have to try them again when I can to see if I am mistaken...wouldn't be the first time nor the last...
__________________
Gdlow & The dizzybrd

2005 Dolphin
Gdlow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2008, 11:05 AM   #14
Senior Member
 
BigSkyBob's Avatar


 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Western Montana on the Divide
Posts: 1,206
My Doran instructions dictate they be off pressure for no less than 1 minute to reset baseline pressure
__________________

__________________
Bob Retired Army Traveling alone now.
2008 Camelot 40 PDQ 4 slides ISL400 towing a 2016 Dodge Ram 1500 4x4 Quadcab
Western MT in summer, AZ, NV in winter
BigSkyBob is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Doran Pressure pro garybtt Gear and Product Discussions 19 10-24-2008 04:50 PM
Doran/Pressure Pro Tire Pressure Monitor. K-Star Gear and Product Discussions 19 01-04-2008 11:56 AM
Doran Pressure Pro flyfisher Gear and Product Discussions 8 03-20-2006 09:45 AM
Doran Pressure Pro Petro MH-General Discussions & Problems 5 02-06-2006 09:43 AM
Any new info on Doran Pressure Pros? bikedoc MH-General Discussions & Problems 3 03-01-2005 11:16 AM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:44 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.