Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > MH-General Discussions & Problems
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 07-06-2007, 12:48 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 249
I searched but did not find what I need to know.

Will be putting my house up for sale and need to figure out how to get my loud mouth Shih-Tzu stored for showing.

Solution, run front air in RV. I only have 20 amp power. Running generator would be hard on pocketbook.

Will this work, nothing on but air?

My brother-in-law has ran his RV a couple times off my garage but not sure his air size.
__________________

__________________
2005 Damon Challenger 371
E Z Livin is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 07-06-2007, 12:48 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 249
I searched but did not find what I need to know.

Will be putting my house up for sale and need to figure out how to get my loud mouth Shih-Tzu stored for showing.

Solution, run front air in RV. I only have 20 amp power. Running generator would be hard on pocketbook.

Will this work, nothing on but air?

My brother-in-law has ran his RV a couple times off my garage but not sure his air size.
__________________

__________________
2005 Damon Challenger 371
E Z Livin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2007, 12:53 PM   #3
Community Administrator
 
Route 66's Avatar


 
Newmar Owners Club
Retired Fire Service RVer's
Spartan Chassis
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Newark, DE
Posts: 25,614
You should be OK, as most A/C units draw about 12 to 15 amps when running, but as you noted, little else can be run.

My Penguin 15K BTU A/C is drawing 12 amps as I type this.
__________________
Adios, Dirk - '84 Real Lite Truck Camper, '86 Wilderness Cimarron TT, previously 4 years as a fulltimer in a '07 DSDP

Route 66 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2007, 04:55 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Toby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Tallahassee
Posts: 521
If you do this, make sure your extension cord is at least a 12 gage wire, depending on how far you run the cord. Check it after you have run it awhile to see how hot the wire gets at the plug. If you do not have one this thick, go to lowes and get some romex and make yourself one out of 12g. s/Toby
__________________
2006 Holiday Rambler Ambassador 38PDQ
Click on SHIP to enlarge CGC Sagebrush
Toby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2007, 05:10 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Wallaby Dan's Avatar
 
Vintage RV Owners Club
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Texas
Posts: 2,212
Good reply's! One other thing, make sure that the fridge is off and the 12 volt converter is off and any other loads that might come on like memory circuits. That way you have the whole 20 amps for the a/c.If you run over twenty feet, I would say 10 gage wire, if over 30 use 8 gage.
__________________
1991 1500 Chevy Pickup
1994 5th wheel 30 foot trailer
I'm lost. I've gone to look for me. If I should return before I get back, please ask me to wait.
Wallaby Dan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can heatpump run on 20/30 amp service? sunnydays RV Systems & Appliances 14 12-11-2007 07:05 PM
Can U run one A/C on 30 Amp Newmar Owner's Forum 9 08-27-2005 02:29 AM
13.5k btu or 15k btu air condtioning PClayton Travel Trailer Discussion 2 07-19-2005 09:17 AM
Can heatpump run on 20/30 amp service? Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 14 12-31-1969 07:00 PM
Can U run one A/C on 30 Amp MH-General Discussions & Problems 9 12-31-1969 07:00 PM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:46 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.